Career dilemma (Advice please)

Albeniz

depends on what you want out of life and marriage lah. I quit my Dubai posting to come back to be with my wife whom I otherwise see about 4 times a year as she has own career here. It was a downgrade actually but worth it. I didn't get married to be apart. Furthermore being away prevents us from having children while we're still young and energetic.

Also, as you're in poly, you'll be subject to a daily dosage of thighs, cleavages and heaving bosoms. Without a sexual outlet, you need lots of self-control or things might come to a sticky end. [laugh]

Mr Albeniz. Wife come first, bring her back. USD100k is not alot after tax and expenses. works out to about SGD60k package in SG.

Bring her back, you only have 1 wife. Remember your vow to her - to provide her in health and sickness. To love and cherish her till dead apart.

Poly technic job is good deal now. stick to it until the next economic wave after the recession over.

The opportunity cost for her to stay in Sg might be higher.

Her pay at California is US$100k per annum before tax. My pay in Sg is hardly that amount.

She was also thinking that both of us could go to a Taiwanese semicon company together as a manager had asked for my resume (through her) this morning.

However, I need to reply the polytechnic HR by tomorrow. [sweatdrop]

I might be running out of time for a decision.

no lah..once u get nie post-grad cert....u can go anywhere to teach as private tutor and earn good money. i see the amt they charge is crazy! i think i can teach much better...kekeke

Can just go and sign up for NIE postgrad cert? I don't think a person can just pay fees and opt for the NIE teaching course; it's only for those who've signed up with MOE to serve as teachers. Not open to any others.

In the past there used to be a postgrad dip in teaching higher education; some university lecturers have to go for this.

But this is not the same as the NIE qualification demanded for teaching at independent schools etc. Still need to be ex-teacher to qualify...

you're in poly, you'll be subject to a daily dosage of thighs, cleavages and heaving bosoms. Without a sexual outlet, you need lots of self-control or things might come to a sticky end

================================

Sound like the temptation to sinfulness is up close! no wonder that crap university lecturer stole hundreds of panties and bras

opps tot u kw the rules here. the catch is after getting the dip or cert from nie (e.g. postgrad dip in teaching) u just need serve bond for like 2yrs...then can say bye bye liao.

But hor, i guess thousands of teachers moonlight to earn 50 bucks per hour tutoring.

Yes, you're right. That's the way to go. Should have done that at the start of my career, if i'd known the future. But nooooo....., I had to become a semi-con engineer as my first job [:)] Wiser now.

then study more loh [;)]

How's ur car? free tomorrow for meetup?

My car?!? Hmm...i think it still moves. Whahahaha.

Im always free. Since I low pay worker mar.

Where you want meet?

That I agree!!!thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif Which is why he bought what he did that time and squeeze blood out of meunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gif

laugh.giflaugh.gif

Forgot to bring my sugarcane juicer along when buy car.....arrggghh..... bad brain.....[bounce1][bounce1][bounce1][bounce1][bounce1]

Bro, donno to congratulate you or empathize with u. This is indeed a big headache.

I was in similar situation in 2004. Was left alone to man the fort with maid, son in pr1 and daughter less than 2yrs old.

Initial was fraught with worries/distrust etc. During 1yr period, I flew overseas often leaving my kids alone with my maid. Even had to take urgent leave to nurse my spouse who was badly hit by food poisoning that was reported in China & HK papers.

At that time, I was working full-time too. Eventually, the separation took a toil on family. So, we had a discussion & I quit my job. We scaled down our expenses to the barest. We stick strictly to needs/wants rule. Though I can't say things worked out very well but I believed it wld hv been worse off if I had continued to work full-time n neglected sole breadwinner. I don't ponder on regrets cos I believed I lose some but gain in other ways.

So, it depend on what both want/need and able to accept it willingly. Key word = frank discussion & compromise.

Bro if both of u got offer fm Taiwan coy, do see fine-print.

Few years back, got offer fm Taiwan coy (big OEM) but willing to pay local terms. After calculation, cannot sustain even with 2 income. More like "hv to dip into savings" if take up Taiwanese offer.

The answer lies in your attitude/

Can you live with yourself while your wife earns the money? If you can, let your wife take the US job. You have to trust that she can support both of you while you look for a job there.

Be selfish. Be a quitter. Working in Singapore sucks. Cost of living extremely high. Stresses from the daily grind of getting squashed in our world class transport and finally ending up in a pigeon hole that last 99years. You'll have nothing left over for retirement nor for your kids.

Singapore culture and office culture breeds sick people. I don't think you want to bring up children in a pressure cooker do you?

Its a no brainer question. And answer. [hur]

jus saw yr other comment about an offer from a TWN company

my advise is DON"T even think about it !!

trust me ... I grew up on taiwanese rice

Become a father lor. [:p][laugh]

To be frank it's not healthy for a relationship to be apart for so long and so frequent. Why did u 2 get married in the first place? To start a family. Right?

Whether a woman like it or not when she's married she has to play the role as a wife. Call me old fashion. But it's an inescapable fact when she's married her priorty will be her husband and family(if any). Guys cannot get pregnant and bear children hence it's never fair.

It's just my opinion lah. No point getting married if both want to excel in their careers. If both of u had decided to settle down, work on it. It would be pointless to get married and dan live worlds apart and do your own stuff.