Miles 4th Gear June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 Will you be getting one? http://www.apple.com/sg/iphone/ major gripes, 1. no video recording 2. no MMS 3. no cut & paste function 4. no physical keyboard ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 NO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 major gripes, 1. no video recording - I carry a small Digital Camera with video function in car 2. no MMS - don't send by MMS, sent by e-mails using lap-top 3. no cut & paste function - I don't need it 4. no physical keyboard - I like the touch screen Yes, I will buy when the price drop six months after initial launch..... cos, I don't use the functions as stated by u..... I like the slim look, touch screen and most of the time, I only use the phone to call and answer calls and very few SMS..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mage Clutched June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 iphone noob here ... Other than the 3G capability as its name implies, may i know wats the diff between the first and this upcoming one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona_lisa Neutral Newbie June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 (edited) I thinking of getting the white colour one. Like it cos it's really slim. I dun really need those funtions, so doesn't really affect me tat much. Edited June 10, 2008 by Mona_lisa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 Got GPS included. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear June 10, 2008 Author Share June 10, 2008 new features, - 2.0 firmware (allowing you to download on the fly 3rd party software directly to your iphone ... some free, some you have to pay via telco) - A GPS - HSDAP, UTMS, GSM, - hardware volume control buttons (1st gen is via touch screen) - 3.5mm phonejacks ... no adapter required. - slightly different form factor - 5 hour talk time on 3G, 10 hours on 2G - comes in black (8G or 16GB) or white (16GB only). - new super small charger adapter with dual input source (USB or 2pin power) - starting price only US$199 (S$269) with 2 year plan for the 8GB ... in spore, i think the price will not defer much, probably about S$298 with GST with iTwo or above plan, or US$348 with iOne plan. Or S$468 for the 16GB. This is just my speculation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 Yes, I will buy when the price drop six months after initial launch..... cos, I don't use the functions as stated by u..... I like the slim look, touch screen and most of the time, I only use the phone to call and answer calls and very few SMS..... wah if u just use the phone to call n answer than iPhone overkill liao loh, pay so much for the stylo milo functions neber use, but then if u are paying for the COOL factor of the iPhone i'd say u can't go wrong... nice looking phone, but for me not worth the money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 starting price only US$199 (S$269) with 2 year plan for the 8GB ... in spore, i think the price will not defer much, probably about S$298 with GST with iTwo or above plan, or US$348 with iOne plan. Or S$468 for the 16GB. This is just my speculation. 8Gb iPod touch already S$498 leh.... iPhone will be so cheap meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mage Clutched June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 thks for the detailed specs... too bad it still does not have video call as i do that sometimes with my kid. Otherwise, it's pretty cool as with most Apple products Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear June 10, 2008 Author Share June 10, 2008 (edited) i think so. in US, 8GB ipod touch is US$299. 8GB iphone is US$199 (but with 2 year plan). so it is possible the iphone cost less than the ipod touch. in this case, anyone considering the ipod touch should also consider the iphone as its cheaper, has the same features (and more coz it has built in speakers and bluetooth), and its a phone as well. Good for those who need an ipod but not really a phone... iphone will serve both purpose (for those who hardly uses the phone). iphone already in singapore apple website. Edited June 10, 2008 by Miles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear June 10, 2008 Author Share June 10, 2008 the camera is already there (not front facing tho)... all you need is a firmware upgrade to enable video call. now the SDK is available... i can foresee 3rd party software vendor already start writing software for videocall + and external webcam to connect to the phone (via the pod connector or bluetooth) if you need front facing. otherwise, can use the built in camera. Can even install a bluetooth webcam in the car to sync with the iphone and make video calls handsfree while driving. the good thing about iphone's form factor is, anything is possible with just firmware upgrade or software add on. Its like a super mobile PC. Possibilities are almost endless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 No, i will not be getting one...tho I find it very attractive. I main reason for not getting one is cos I'm running window base system and the iphone wouldn't be able to sync with my window base program eg. outlook, calender, contact, etc... For that reason, I'll stick to a mobile window base device. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear June 10, 2008 Author Share June 10, 2008 3G iphone now supports Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync, Cisco IPSec VPN, Wireless WPA2 enterprise and 802.1x authentication. Very corporate friendly. You can use iphone for push mail just like blackberry does... without paying for blackberry license. See link. http://www.apple.com/sg/iphone/enterprise/ Apple is going all out to capture RIM's enterprise smartphone market as well as the geeks market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silklee 3rd Gear June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 If it got GPS, I will get it without a 2nd thought. But if it doesnt come with GPS, i think i will still get it anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 If the package price in Singapore is similar to HTC Touch/Diamond, I will surely consider getting the iPhone. The cool factor is a plus point. Not that I needed the additional features. i only use my phone to call and SMS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear June 10, 2008 Author Share June 10, 2008 i am sure the HTC Touch Diamond will be more expensive. at the same time of 3G iphone launch, there are also a host of competitive similar phones to consider, Samsung i900 Omnia - form factor almost exactly the same as iphone, but with 5mp camera and running WinMo 6.1 HTC Touch Diamond HTC Touch Pro - combining Diamond's TouchFLO 3D with a slide out QWERTY keypad. Blackberry Bold Blackberry Thunder - touchscreen phone ... that's taking a shot at iphone. LG KF750 Secret - WinMo 6.1 + Google suites + 5mp camera + carbon fibre chassis + tempered glass touch screen display + slide phone Nokia E71 - very similar to Samsung i470 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear June 10, 2008 Share June 10, 2008 YES, i'm sick with windoze... i'm all with mac now except my sickening phone... which runs windoze.. was using a palm before the current phone.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...