Tkseah Turbocharged June 25, 2008 Share June 25, 2008 My ride is now 31mths old and clocked 43k km mileage.. have been running on stock maintenance free battery since day 1 and still no visible sign that battery gonna die... since i would prefer not to encounter battery sudden death syndrome and be stranded in the middle of nowhere, i'm wondering if i should just change battery during next servicing or wait for battery to show some signs that it's gonna die. Batteries prices not cheap now leh.. so also dun wanna spend money prematurely and waste a still working battery. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 25, 2008 Share June 25, 2008 (edited) Though Batt not cheap but it would cost more let's say your car just stall in the middle of the road. Have to call tow truck or call AA to bring u a new batt. Waste time waiting and such. Won't it cost even more? 31months is worth your money already. Mine after 24 months change liao although my mech told me still got 20~30% left. I say change cos it'll eventually affect the power from the ignition coil and affect FC too. Plus u dun use your car that frequently, your batt won't get charged to the optimum. My car 24 months already reach 50k km and I dun consider myself a frequent user. Edited June 25, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie June 25, 2008 Share June 25, 2008 If no visible signs of premature death or start engine still got power, then save the money first lor. You already said it, why waste a working battery? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged June 26, 2008 Author Share June 26, 2008 Appreciate both your views.. Have a day more to consider cos i'm going in for servicing this Sat.. now my mind 60% leaning towards changing the battery.. but over $100 more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 (edited) Some driver i met at workshop every year change battery.It's not worth to get stranded esp when u r in a rush for impt appt.Maybe after the price hike of batt,can prolong slightly more then a year,wouldn't cause them harm Edited June 26, 2008 by Route88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ccssgm 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 Can change already Use for 31 month Profit Enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucs75 Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 change it. I was in similar situation as yours. Was comtemplating whether to change or not. In the end, did not change due to my procrastination. The car got stalled 2 weekend ago at a shopping mall. Can't start at all, end up paying much more by calling in the workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged June 26, 2008 Author Share June 26, 2008 Now me 70% leaning towards changing battery.. Since i'm servicing at CDGE, any opinions on the Amaron battery and price they are carrying?? http://www.cdge.com.sg/tyres/tyresandbenefits.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samwng 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 I've a used Maintenance Battery for sell, only use for 1 yr. Charged. Can Last you another 12 months with problem free.. If you interested, PM me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyreboy Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 how can you be so sure that the used maintenance battery can last for another 12mths with problem free???? any claim from you if battery fails within the next 12 mths... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 I have to agree with you that a failing battery has some effect on the FC of the car. In the past, I do not see the connection until I decided to change my 34 months old stock battery. Though Batt not cheap but it would cost more let's say your car just stall in the middle of the road. Have to call tow truck or call AA to bring u a new batt. Waste time waiting and such. Won't it cost even more? 31months is worth your money already. Mine after 24 months change liao although my mech told me still got 20~30% left. I say change cos it'll eventually affect the power from the ignition coil and affect FC too. Plus u dun use your car that frequently, your batt won't get charged to the optimum. My car 24 months already reach 50k km and I dun consider myself a frequent user. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 (edited) You could have saved on the towing charge if you have kept a set of jumper cables in your car. Getting a car to help u jumpstart is easy, but 99% of them do not keep a set of the jumper cables. Anyway, like u, I procastinated 2 weeks back on the battery changing. Yesterday, car cannot start in my carpark, but managed to get another car in the carpark to jumpstart using my jumper cables I kept in the boot. Quickly drove to my workshop to get it replaced. Edited June 26, 2008 by Mazda_mad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 you can ask your mechanic to do a battery analysis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 (edited) i replaced my 2yr 3mths battery yesterday at S.B varta 40Ah - 95 reached the shop already, i was asked to crank the car and couldnt start! heng i was already at the shop when it happened Edited June 26, 2008 by Ahliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Samwng 1st Gear June 26, 2008 Share June 26, 2008 I've tried it myself on my own car. I personally feel that maintenance battery are more lasting than those MF type. 1 bad point is.. you have to check water on every alternate month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged June 27, 2008 Author Share June 27, 2008 After reading all the experiences shared.. now my mind 80% made up to change battery liao.. Now just hoping the Amaron batt by CDGE is a good choice and reasonably priced.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Actually does it really matters what brand is the battery? My recently replaced batt is made in Korea. Dunno if it's good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 My car also 31 months till stock never change battery. From last workshop visit (3 months ago), they told me the batt still working fine .. no sign of dying ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...