Mbris250 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 so we can safely say....we still have morons on the road...after continuous education & views reported in forums, there're still roadhoggers...worse, they don't realise the joke is on them. let's talk about 1 of the reasons for tailgating. say i've an emergency, i'm rushing to the hospital. unlike the police, i can't have blinking lights & siren. can i make a car decal, paste it on the windscreen before i embark on my journey, flash/turn on my hazard lights & bring attention to all other road user, road hoggers esp, to the decal? decal will be bigger than your usual 'honk if you're horny' decals but not obstructing view. what say you? Decal - HOSPITAL (mirror reflection) it's like life insurance, only useful when you really need it. but like car insurance, maybe subject to abuse. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imaginary 1st Gear July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 I couldn't agree more. I have given up on roadhoggers, so I just treat them as plain retards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotz Neutral Newbie July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 Or is it a side effect of common road Bus Lane mind set? Because today 12pm I drove from SLE to PIE until Jorong West. For my surprised everyone were squeezing in lane 1 and 2 but lane 3 was clear at all. I was traveling somewhere 80-90km/h in lane 3 all the way but lanes 1 & 2 were crawling somewher in 60-70km/h only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 There was an incident where a road hogger, after giving way to me, decided to filter back to the 1st lane without signaling and checking his/her blindspot. He/she almost caused an accident where the car behind had to do an emergency brake. Now that's a DUMB ASS. Sounds like siong75! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joho Neutral Newbie July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 it's interesting that a thread on tailgating becomes more of road hogging. i'm not surprised tho, there are DEFINITELYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY more road hoggers than tailgaters in singapore. sometimes i can't tell if they are blur that they dunno they are going to slow (and never look in RV mirror) or they purposely. both just as bad as the other. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lifemoveon Clutched July 13, 2008 Share July 13, 2008 Actually its a chicken and egg issue. If there are no road hoggers, there won't be tail-gaters right? Myself, if I'm a slower car and the car behind me is faster - be it a Picanto, or even a Kancil, I would try my best to give way. Too bad it doesn't happen the other way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched July 14, 2008 Share July 14, 2008 boil both the chicken and eggs, eat them, no more issue. :) but we wouldn't want that , would we? how boring is the forum without roadhogger and tailgater topic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged July 14, 2008 Share July 14, 2008 (edited) Guys, Do you notice that since petrol prices started climbing, we see more and more road hoggers. Till the point it really gets irritating. Everyday I drive I'll encounter at least 5 hoggers - drivers who cruise leisurely at 70-80kmh on the extreme right with at least 5 - 8 empty car space in front of them. Worse is that they keep pace with the cars on the other lanes, making overtaking difficult. Moreover the car/s behind this hogger don't pressure him/her, instead slowed down too. So imagine all the cars crawling behind these cars. Many a times, these are the people complaining about ERP. Little do they know that they are directly contributing to congestion. I just hope we can all be gracious and give way. Cheers! if you are driving at 80kmh, I thought 5-8 cars length is reasonable. 8 cars maybe too much practically but 5 cars is ok. kind of curious, how many car length do u keep when driving at 80km/h? Seriously, unless u drive an ambulance, people will not give way for u. common if the everyone filter to middle lane when a guy wants to drive at 100+km/h it is also not going to work if the expressway is crowded, which is most of the time. I think road hoggers is not good only if the rightmost lane can move at 100+km/hr but some idiot is moving at 80km/hr with the road in front of him totally clear and people keep cutting back in front of him from the middle lane. if that guy is just keeping a safe distance from the car in front of him, he is not road hogging. what you want him to do? Stick to the in front car's backside? Edited July 14, 2008 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jdm77 Neutral Newbie July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 tailgate for better FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 I always tailgate back those tailgater. Knn, give them a taste of being pushed from behind! seems like you are purposely hogging the road, waiting for someone to come and push you, so that u got an excuse to push him back? looking for trouble eh? not only your face full of sperm, your brain also filled with sperm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear July 15, 2008 Share July 15, 2008 To me tailgating is a very very RUDE manner, to deal with this kind of ppls, if can wat i will do is slow down a bit (since they want fast and do a rude way to me), and if i see them try overtake i will speed up again, lagi best is speed up till same speed as the next car beside, then he lan lan have to filter to extreme left lane and zoommmmmmm.....hahaha then let him go lor .... your pattern seems like fun hor? why not try it on single lane, 2 directions road? u purposely hog the road, then when the fella behind wan to overtake, u speed up, lagi best speed up til same speed as him so that he crash head-on into the oncoming traffic. more fun right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hanhao Neutral Newbie August 23, 2008 Author Share August 23, 2008 Road hogging is not dangerous, but tail gating is so by that basis, people who tail gate are in bigger fault than road hoggers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear August 24, 2008 Share August 24, 2008 why ppl Tailgate?Tailgating is no good, when the person in front jam brake, the tailgater might knock onto him and he got to pay the repairs if so, why do ppl tailgate? is there any advantage to it? There are a million and one reasons why people choose to tailgate, but there is a very safe and simple way to get them to back off when you sense they're too close to be safe : simply switch on your hazard lights and gently tap on your brakes. This is usually sufficient enough to warn tailgaters off your rear. However, please remember to give way to any car if they're really close to your rear and the road in front of you is clear. The hazard light technique is only applicable where it is unsafe or impossible for you to give way. It has worked for me 95% of the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 24, 2008 Share August 24, 2008 There's this burning question I want to ask. If I'm not in the first lane, maybe 2nd or 3rd lane, and I travel at a leisurely pace - 60 - 80 km/h depending on road conditions and traffic ahead of me, is this still considered road hogging? The funny thing I observe is, I always get overtaken by others left and right which doesn't bother me all that much. Eventually I'll probably catch up with them because they got stuck somewhere due to changes in traffic conditions. But am I still road hogging, because I travelled at or below the speed limit but not in the 1st lane? If my practise is considered irritating to others, I'll change because all I want to do is to be a safer and better road user, and not be a nuisance to others also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched August 24, 2008 Share August 24, 2008 Always practise following the speed limit. If u wnt to drive at 60-80km/h, i suggest u keep to the left so tat u enjoy ur ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legacy Neutral Newbie August 24, 2008 Share August 24, 2008 Talk about tailgate those people dunno it is very dangerous. Yesterday early morning no mood liao. I was driving 110 in the right lane with no car around than saw this lancer tailgating right behind me. I initially thought i drive slow so i acelerate to 150, that fellow also right behind me very near. Finding that my life is in danger i wanted to signal and go to left lane to let him overtake. Before i signal to switch lane, that fellow "lup" at least 170 and cut to overtake me. More angry is he overtake liao brake to signal to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 24, 2008 Share August 24, 2008 (edited) Wah lao eh! 170!!!! Although my car can easily go that speed, why risk it? At 170.... chances many bad things can happen .... Edited August 24, 2008 by Drive_carcar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 24, 2008 Share August 24, 2008 Yep, I always stick to the left lane as much as possible, unless the left lane is meant for turning left, and that happen to be not where I'm heading. Sometimes I also have some over-taking of my own to do, but that's mainly to get away from heavy vehicles, after that I switch back to left as soon as practically possible. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...