Watwheels Supersonic June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Maybe your friend can go Ubi service centre to do a verification? Or did he let other ppl drive his car b4? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prelude Neutral Newbie June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 (edited) Posting on behalf of my fren. Anyone driving stock FD2 regardless of Auto or Manual can rev up to 10,000rpm? Recently my car got idling problem, I send my car to Kah Motor to repair, They claim my exhaust valve spoilt because i ram my car up to 10,000 rpm and they show me a report that my car have from the ecu log, and they want me to pay 2000+ for the repair... My car is fully stock and I have only bought it for 2 months.. I really need help to find people wo is driving the same car that can rev up to 10,000 rpm... as Kah Motor have insist that I have rev my car to 10,000rpm and they claim that Stock FD2 can rev to 10,000rpm and don't allow me to claim my warranty.. Please Help. as i need to proof stock FD2 cannot rev up to 10,000rpm so that i can claim my warranty. Desperately in need of help as Alexandra technical department insist i spoil my stock 2mth old car with NORMAL driving. I SWEAR i never modify at all and they cant be bothered with me. Anyone can help???? If not wrong OEM hond that has a 10k RPM is DC2R. Dun know EK9 can rev till 10k rpm anot. Better go back n bang their table. Ask them to give him a print copy of that ECU log report. All cars should have a rev limter install in their ride. Even if they say its his exhaust valve spoil, shoot back n say how would he know. Even if his exhaust valve is spoil his Check Engine Light should be on. Did he see his CEL is on? Dun let them smoke ur friend. Btw bro does he still remember who is the person that service him on that day. If he still remember his name shoot his name out too. This can not be accepted. They shold let ur friend claim his warranty. Edited June 30, 2008 by Prelude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prelude Neutral Newbie June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Nope bro. S2K from Kah Motor Red line @ 9k RPM. PI S2K Red line @ 8k RPM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 (edited) Did your friend interpret exactly what the mechanic say? I suspect it's the camshafts that spun 10,000rpm rather dan the rpm of the crankshaft(max. 8k++) It's very possible for the camshafts to rotate at 10k rpm or more. Edited June 30, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 thats why. even then if auto, really can DRAG all the way till 8.5K RPM meh? doesn't sound very possible. wont the car auto shift up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 thanks for the info bro, possible to remove the rev cut? im not too sure but i heard the S2000 can go all the way to 10K, 10K is really quite outta this world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 It's predecessors like the S500 and S600 during the '60s already can redline at 10,000rpm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 then tell them you want to claim for the faulty rev-limiter which didn't work, which allowed the rpm to climb beyond redline. So in all, still claim Honda. Tell them they dun represent Honda, you want to communicate to Honda Japan on this matter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 wa seh, your camshaft spin faster than crank? To quote one guru here, "i need to go and check my textbooks again". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prelude Neutral Newbie June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Dun know can anot cos most i heard or see from the internet is 9.5k Max for S2k. But i do know some of the JDM CTR do hit 10k RPM on track when they down shift by one gear before they enter a deep conner. This reading was recorded by a RSM. But thats on a high rev K20A type R engine. Do ask ur friend did he saw his CEL was on. If exhaust valve is spoil the CEL should be on. Unless things has change on the CEL things. If things has not change i'll still take it that KM trying to smoke ur friend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Ah boh how he damaged his exhaust valves? Illogical question gives illogical answers lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Can ask why u sold your FD2? Seems like a lot of mods u done to it. Upgaded brakes, lsd, 6sp, etc etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 What has 10k rpm rev has to do with warranty? The question is how the exhaust valve was spolit is the key. What and where exactly is the Exhaust valve in the 1st place?? Regards, yah lor, siao one... if the car can rev to 100k rpm, means i song song can floor it to redline... why cannot? unless it is specifically written that this is not allowed... but if not allowed, it should have a cut off mechanism... just like saying there are 5 gears but u can only use 4... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Ask them to refer to the manual that comes with car and show you which page says by revving up to 10k means no warranty..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 just like saying there are 5 gears but u can only use 4... hahaha i kept laughing when i read this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 wah how to do 6sp?!!?!?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 ya lor... i think FD2 max is 8.5K RPM nia... siao only type R got 8.5 k fd2 power max out @ 6 or 6.5k only. rev cut should be 7k + - Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedz Neutral Newbie June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Bro, Is it manual or auto? Not sure about auto transmission but any manual car can rev up to 10000rpm. The limiter works only if if you rev up towards the rev cut rpm. If you shift into the wrong gear and you're travelling above the wrong gear's max speed at the max RPM, there is nothing the rev limiter can do about that. (e.g. You want to shift into 4th but you get into 2nd while instead travelling at 120kph) That could send your pistons ballistic. I'm guessing that's the postulation Kah motor has made based on the ECU data. If i were Kah motor, I won't pay for the damage either. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...