Brake pads noise: scruffy sanding sound

Andycph

I had some slight screeching metallic brake pad noisees, so since I thought it's quite a while since I changed brake pads, I thought I'd swap new ones in.

My mechanic apparently ordered the original ones, but initially, there was some kind of dull "dub dub dub" when I apply the brakes at slow speeds. I think he then "skimmed" something, but now, there is this sandy scruffy noise... My friend said he may have used old hardened original pads (my ride is a galant).

What can I do?

got this rattling noise,quite obvious,from the front wheels.can hear when drive slowly with the window wind down. I provide some details,can bros help me with some diagonsis

- since took car till now have not changed brake pads

- after gg at above 30km'h can't hear the sound liao

- sound very obvious esp when dr slow - like in a car park looking for lot

- but when I step brake,the sound gone immediately. let go of brakes,the noise back

- look at the brake pads,still gone quite think leh

really need some advice [:/] [:/]

Bring to your regular mech and let him diagnose, better than asking for update/help every minute :)

You have to determine which side of the car is giving this sound.

Could be a couple of issues:

1. Rotor dust shield is loose and rattling at low speed

2. Brake pad shims could be loose or missing

3. Caliper slider pins need to be re-greased

Bring to your regular mech and let him diagnose, better than asking for update/help every minute :) - No lah, my laptop gone crazy, one shot update 4-5 same post, so aia chge to something

got this rattling noise,quite obvious,from the front wheels.can hear when drive slowly with the window wind down. I provide some details,can bros help me with some diagonsis

- since took car till now have not changed brake pads

- after gg at above 30km'h can't hear the sound liao

- sound very obvious esp when dr slow - like in a car park looking for lot

- but when I step brake,the sound gone immediately. let go of brakes,the noise back

- look at the brake pads,still gone quite think leh

really need some advice [:/] [:/]

how many years of your car?

Normally it's brake pads gone liao. [:p]

I had some slight screeching metallic brake pad noisees, so since I thought it's quite a while since I changed brake pads, I thought I'd swap new ones in.

My mechanic apparently ordered the original ones, but initially, there was some kind of dull "dub dub dub" when I apply the brakes at slow speeds. I think he then "skimmed" something, but now, there is this sandy scruffy noise... My friend said he may have used old hardened original pads (my ride is a galant).

What can I do?

Do you expect your mechanic to order non original ones?

What makes you think he skimmed something?

Do you mean there are old hardened original pads and better ones available, too?

Perhaps you may want to go to another workshop, hopefully for better service?

What did he skim? Usually if there is vibration or sound, it may be due to rotor warped. Hence need to skim to flatten it.

Suggest you go to another WS for advice. However, I personally don't think its anything serious. Brakes having noise under light braking is very common. Sometimes its due to uneven wear. Sometimes, its due to uneven caliper pressure (hence causing one side of the pad to touch the rotors first) causing noise etc....

Err..to those replying to Andycph, do take note that the original thread is from 2 YRS AGO :)

Kungfu is the thread-jacker and is the one with the latest issue :)

Sometimes, I could hear sound and feel some rattling when I do a hard/emergency braking.

It has bugged me for close to a year. But it still passed the VICOM test.

I checked with my mechanic a few times and he could not quite find the problem, the brake pads are still quite thick. He felt that the pads might not be of superior quality but should still work fine, nonetheless.

I thought the rotor might be warped and asked me if this is the possible cause. He went for a test drive with me and said that it is unlikely to be caused by a faulty rotor. If it were a faulty rotor, the car would vibrate/rattle whenever the brake is tapped/stepped while moving at normal speed.

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Edited by Albeniz

The rotor disc has one or more glazed hard spots - they are very hard surface material formed during hard braking. Can be remove by manually honing with a flat diamond sharpening block.

post-272-1287304359_thumb.jpg

You can try to bring your car to a WS in Sin Ming Auto Care. #04-17. One old man called Ah Heng. He is very experienced with mecchanical aspects of cars.

If not, you can also try another WS at Ubi called UM2 Performance. The perform called Cheng Poh is also very experienced with cars.

how many years of your car? - just 3years,cming to 100,000km. have not chge brake pads yet

Normally it's brake pads gone liao. [:p]