Harrods Neutral Newbie July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 sorry to side track, would like to find out which is the nearest CNG station in JB to top up CNG? thinking of fitting CNG coz of high mileage. btw i drive a vios. thanks... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 Hahahaha.............................. my car has not drank any singapore petrol from the day i took over until now, all from boleh land, RON 95 from petronas somemore. no reason to pump RON97 leh. for CNG so far only pump twice in singapore, all boleh gas.. But looks like now no choice have to pump RON 97 liao, no more RON 95 for singapore cars. ================== Ah so another MY kaki. I pump 97 cos I feel it is smoother & I also get better mileage . I can use 95 but since 97 is still cheap in boleh land, why not. Now U can still pump 95 in MY but they say the 20 lit max still applies. 97 u can pump & no limit to the amt u can pump per go. Only read that Kelantan or was it Kuantan politicians r asking that foreign cars b banned from pumping 95 but that wont affect me much as I mostly pump in JB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 yup, those are the plugs hmmm, mayb I sld consider changing to 16" also. I am thinking of trying out the CLTR syn 5W30 and see if FC will improve. The original oil sucks, but they claim to be syn because only changing at 10k service, but still sucks, mayb because the oil has been sitting in the engine too long liao. think the CNG issue is more or less solve liao, so far 3rd day liao, good leh, Thanks Bro! ================ No point wasting $ on 16" rims cos u already got 15" sports rims. They sud b good enough. Just get good tires & u sud find a great improvement in handling. CLTR 30 weight ($60/5 lit) is quite ex compared to the 40weight. I doubt I wil try unless they sell it for about the same price as the 40 weight when its on offer ($29/5lit). Also I read the handbook which recommends 40 weight for our Optra in our climate. The original oil I doubt is synthetic. Does not mean they say change at 10K km means it is synthetic. According to the handbook, it says change oil every 10K km. No mention it refers to synthetic only. As long as it meets API SM standards, it sud last 10K km. U just try the CLTR 40weight synthetic for now & Im sure u wil find it more than enough for the Optra. Going with 30 weight might compromise on the protection your oil gives when u stress the engine. For your CNG issue, I hope u get them solved once & for all. With the advice of our Genie, u have a good chance of working out the bugs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 17, 2010 Share July 17, 2010 sorry to side track, would like to find out which is the nearest CNG station in JB to top up CNG? thinking of fitting CNG coz of high mileage. btw i drive a vios. thanks... ============== Think very carefully b4 u convert. Do a search on the many problems CNG users r having then u wil know why the demand for CNG cars has dwindled recently. It was promoted as a cheap alternative when it 1st came out but with the many problems faced (some r still not able to b solved) U will re-consider. Plus yours is not a brand new car so u wont get the full tax rebates by converting to CNG. Your re-sale price wil also b affected cos your ARF wil drop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 the nearest NGV station (CNG) is along Jalan Datin Halimah, about 17km from causeway, less than 15 mins drive, it is in a petronas station. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 ================== Ah so another MY kaki. I pump 97 cos I feel it is smoother & I also get better mileage . I can use 95 but since 97 is still cheap in boleh land, why not. Now U can still pump 95 in MY but they say the 20 lit max still applies. 97 u can pump & no limit to the amt u can pump per go. Only read that Kelantan or was it Kuantan politicians r asking that foreign cars b banned from pumping 95 but that wont affect me much as I mostly pump in JB. Yes MY kaki, next time go together lah, but I pump petronas leh. Now different information everywhere about the news, let's see how when the dust settle down. anything above RM2.40 not worth for me liao, because sin Gas will become cheaper compare to MY petrol, but MY Gas still [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 ================ No point wasting $ on 16" rims cos u already got 15" sports rims. They sud b good enough. Just get good tires & u sud find a great improvement in handling. CLTR 30 weight ($60/5 lit) is quite ex compared to the 40weight. I doubt I wil try unless they sell it for about the same price as the 40 weight when its on offer ($29/5lit). Also I read the handbook which recommends 40 weight for our Optra in our climate. The original oil I doubt is synthetic. Does not mean they say change at 10K km means it is synthetic. According to the handbook, it says change oil every 10K km. No mention it refers to synthetic only. As long as it meets API SM standards, it sud last 10K km. U just try the CLTR 40weight synthetic for now & Im sure u wil find it more than enough for the Optra. Going with 30 weight might compromise on the protection your oil gives when u stress the engine. For your CNG issue, I hope u get them solved once & for all. With the advice of our Genie, u have a good chance of working out the bugs. So what tires good? AM gave me Falken ZIEX ze912 195/55R15 85V. yup, the car feel smooth and shiok after the CLTR 5W40 OC, but I realise that FC like suffer a little. My handbook list 5W30 and to use 10W30 if in hot area leh. For my CNG, I keeping my fingers cross. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 (edited) Yes MY kaki, next time go together lah, but I pump petronas leh. Now different information everywhere about the news, let's see how when the dust settle down. anything above RM2.40 not worth for me liao, because sin Gas will become cheaper compare to MY petrol, but MY Gas still [thumbsup] ============ We can go together but I usually go in late morning now. Maybe some shopping & lunch. Just went Thai massage last week. 2 hrs only RM100. I going tmw morning. Maybe buy durians again. I dont eat but buy for wifey & neighbours. They say very good. Petrol still no issue as not much changed. Only 97 increase RM0.05/lit which is not a problem. MY petrol wil still b cheaper than SG cos if oil price go up & MY increase price, u can b damm sure SG wil also increase, & by much more. Edited July 18, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 So what tires good? AM gave me Falken ZIEX ze912 195/55R15 85V. yup, the car feel smooth and shiok after the CLTR 5W40 OC, but I realise that FC like suffer a little. My handbook list 5W30 and to use 10W30 if in hot area leh. For my CNG, I keeping my fingers cross. ============== I dont like Falken. I now using Yoko A Drive R1. Very grippy & cheap. I do prefer Michelin & was using XM1 b4 but present size XM1 dont have. Can use PP2 but price abt 40% more so I see how next time to change. See if I feel rich, I get PP2 or PS3. Your FC wil suffer cos oil is new & slightly thick. Wait awhile & u sud see FC improve. Our climate >30 deg C sud b 40 weight better. U can use 30 weight but when it coming to 10K km, it wud have sheared down to 20 weight already so not much protection in case u whack. FC not so important cos I pump cheap MY petrol. Protection is more important as I whack quite often. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 ============== I dont like Falken. I now using Yoko A Drive R1. Very grippy & cheap. I do prefer Michelin & was using XM1 b4 but present size XM1 dont have. Can use PP2 but price abt 40% more so I see how next time to change. See if I feel rich, I get PP2 or PS3. Your FC wil suffer cos oil is new & slightly thick. Wait awhile & u sud see FC improve. Our climate >30 deg C sud b 40 weight better. U can use 30 weight but when it coming to 10K km, it wud have sheared down to 20 weight already so not much protection in case u whack. FC not so important cos I pump cheap MY petrol. Protection is more important as I whack quite often. this yokohama a.drive is like 20% cheaper than XM1 right? But can it last? XM1's supposed to be long lasting.....but my current Yokohama S221 (original tyres from Japan) damn solid. Already 60k....! But the sides botak liao so I need to change.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 (edited) this yokohama a.drive is like 20% cheaper than XM1 right? But can it last? XM1's supposed to be long lasting.....but my current Yokohama S221 (original tyres from Japan) damn solid. Already 60k....! But the sides botak liao so I need to change.... =============== I got them 2nd hand together with my 2nd hand rims. I already changed 2 pcs as they were more worn than the other 2. Now the new tires already >1 year & still got a lot left but still can say they r not as lasting as my XM1. But that is the thing with grippy but soft rubber tires. Soft got better grip but wears faster. Anyway I expect them to last at least 3-4 years (36K to 50K km based on my average mileage) or maybe even more. Size of XM1 & A Drive different so I cant do a proper comparision on price but yours sounds quite accurate at 20% cheaper. Edited July 18, 2010 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 ============ We can go together but I usually go in late morning now. Maybe some shopping & lunch. Just went Thai massage last week. 2 hrs only RM100. I going tmw morning. Maybe buy durians again. I dont eat but buy for wifey & neighbours. They say very good. Petrol still no issue as not much changed. Only 97 increase RM0.05/lit which is not a problem. MY petrol wil still b cheaper than SG cos if oil price go up & MY increase price, u can b damm sure SG wil also increase, & by much more. I go in around 9am. wash car, pump CNG, turn bk pump petrol, if got time go jalan jalan, if not just come bk by about 10.30-11am. where you buy the durians? good huh? cheap bo? me love leh!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2010 Share July 18, 2010 ============== I dont like Falken. I now using Yoko A Drive R1. Very grippy & cheap. I do prefer Michelin & was using XM1 b4 but present size XM1 dont have. Can use PP2 but price abt 40% more so I see how next time to change. See if I feel rich, I get PP2 or PS3. Your FC wil suffer cos oil is new & slightly thick. Wait awhile & u sud see FC improve. Our climate >30 deg C sud b 40 weight better. U can use 30 weight but when it coming to 10K km, it wud have sheared down to 20 weight already so not much protection in case u whack. FC not so important cos I pump cheap MY petrol. Protection is more important as I whack quite often. Me also don't like falken, find it very hard and loud. last time use the korean kumho or something think not bad, the yokohama I used on the sonata also not bad, but forgot what model liao. mayb next change try michelin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harrods Neutral Newbie July 19, 2010 Share July 19, 2010 ============== Think very carefully b4 u convert. Do a search on the many problems CNG users r having then u wil know why the demand for CNG cars has dwindled recently. It was promoted as a cheap alternative when it 1st came out but with the many problems faced (some r still not able to b solved) U will re-consider. Plus yours is not a brand new car so u wont get the full tax rebates by converting to CNG. Your re-sale price wil also b affected cos your ARF wil drop. thanks bro. will do more research before i convert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 I go in around 9am. wash car, pump CNG, turn bk pump petrol, if got time go jalan jalan, if not just come bk by about 10.30-11am. where you buy the durians? good huh? cheap bo? me love leh!!! ============== Durians I get from the small stall at the entrance of the shopping cntr at Southern City. I regular buy fruits from him & he choose the better durians for me cos I dont know anything about durians as I dont eat them. I think he is same as the other big fruit stall at the end of the shopping cntr. Near the money changer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 Me also don't like falken, find it very hard and loud. last time use the korean kumho or something think not bad, the yokohama I used on the sonata also not bad, but forgot what model liao. mayb next change try michelin ============= Use Michelin if they got your size & if its within your budget as they make good tires. Kumho KU31 also got good feedback. But price is controlled & only slightly cheaper than the Michelin PP2. Like that I prefer to get the PP2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 ============== Durians I get from the small stall at the entrance of the shopping cntr at Southern City. I regular buy fruits from him & he choose the better durians for me cos I dont know anything about durians as I dont eat them. I think he is same as the other big fruit stall at the end of the shopping cntr. Near the money changer. Noted. thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 20, 2010 Share July 20, 2010 ============= Use Michelin if they got your size & if its within your budget as they make good tires. Kumho KU31 also got good feedback. But price is controlled & only slightly cheaper than the Michelin PP2. Like that I prefer to get the PP2. heard very good feed back on michelin leh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...