David Clutched September 18, 2008 Share September 18, 2008 Actually, I found the jail term to be "manifestly excessive" too. I'm quite convinced the appeal judge will shorten the jail term. Have you all forgotten that the infamous Mazda test-driver got only 7 months behind bars? And to me, speeding is unforgiveable because it's an action of choice; he chose to speed which was the cause of the accident. This woman beat a red light, which can be considered a lapse of judgement, unless you're telling me she also chose to beat the red light. Subhas Anandan has many many years of experience in the courtroom and he knows what he's doing. We can't pass judgement on the woman so easily because who wants to be responsible for another person's death, especially while driving? Taking precedence from other traffic accident cases involving death, I think 18 months is definitely too long. How do you justify your comment that "the jail term to be "manifestly excessive" in comparison to a life lost? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 18, 2008 Author Share September 18, 2008 just returned from Sin Ming... accident involving 2 cars! huge jam leading into sin ming from thomson rd anyway this using phone dumbSh|ts are really having more and more balls... and it seems TP or in fact anyone can do much abt it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papbest Neutral Newbie September 18, 2008 Share September 18, 2008 late.[/reply] bugger deserves to be jailed. i hate lady drivers who talk on the phones. Being auntie drivers already mean that they are slower in reflex and still dare to yak on phone. We have to send these chaps to prison in case next time they start to bj for their male passengers and drive at the same time. 18 months is a short time. after good behaviour is 12 months. Then 6 months is for programe. That means it a solid ONLY 6 months in prison. Sup sup sui lah! p/s: Hello Subhas, 6months manifestly excessive? You getting senile, lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie January 7, 2009 Author Share January 7, 2009 from ST, 31 Dec 2008: Editor cleared of one charge SHIN Min Daily News' executive editor Lim Hong Eng, 56, was yesterday cleared of using a cellphone while driving on Whitley Road two years ago. She is, however, out on bail pending her appeal against conviction on charges related to an accident at the junction of Whitley and Dunearn roads on Dec 24, 2006. She was given a 11/2-year jail term for causing the death of a motorcycle pillion rider and grievous hurt to the motorcyclist. The appeal is to be heard in the High Court on Jan 16. ------------------ read 1st post of the thread on the case -------------------------------------------- i dunno how can this happened?? it's shld be quite bloody obvious that the DP with the Police has strong case to prove that she was indeed USING the phone while driving which leads to a fatality in the accident and now, they have her cleared??? WTFISH did she even serve a single day in prison? what is this??? money help to talk her way out of being responsible for a death? to me, unless evidences can be shown publicly that she: 1. was NOT using a mobile, without handsfree, while driving at the moment 2. did NOT beat the red lights 3. did NOT cause death because of the grieve inconsiderations [even though, evidence cld be 'altered' ] then she be allow to be on bail and released else what message is the authority putting to us?? and wat justice is being served to the deceased family? i hope she has nitemare the rest of her life... however long or short... unless she's innocent, which i seriously freaking doubt so cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 actually i feel the sentence quite excessive. putting a 56 yr old aunty in prison for 18 mths might just about kill her. any of you ever been to prison (for guided tour hopefully?) seriously no joke, esp. for someone her age, on the right side of the law all her life. can't imagine a person's life being turned upsidedown like this. it's going to be hell. In fact for most of us here it will be Hell on Earth. Sg prisons are not like the cushy US prisons. Often 4 to a small cell & sleep on the floor with a tiny barred window & 1 toilet/sink. My friend went in for 2 days & came up a changed man. When one person sxxt, everybody can smell. When wash ass also use same sink as when u drink. When they sleep end to end, hopefully dont get raped and can smell each other asses. 24/7 like this i think will break most people. Moral of the story is drive carefully! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 Most lawyers do not have morals.. This is a fact. Even the guilty deserve a fair hearing? Everybody makes mistakes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 Everyone knows not to use handphone while driving but everyone still has an excuse to do so. So everyone can afford to make one mistake and get away with it? Just two days ago, I nearly banged into a taxi, bcoz he suddenly filter right without signalling as I was about to pass him. I horned the hell out of him, then he wake up and nervously start signalling. When I passed him, he was busy talking on his bluetooth phone. If I was a biker, it will be another statistics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 Everyone knows not to use handphone while driving but everyone still has an excuse to do so. So everyone can afford to make one mistake and get away with it? Just two days ago, I nearly banged into a taxi, bcoz he suddenly filter right without signalling as I was about to pass him. I horned the hell out of him, then he wake up and nervously start signalling. When I passed him, he was busy talking on his bluetooth phone. If I was a biker, it will be another statistics. Well handfree bluetooth head set, not mind free right to concentrate on road! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 Most lawyers do not have morals.. This is a fact. Or shall i say...most lawyers without morals serve as criminal lawyers to defend the crooks (most of the time) for big $. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 Just write in to TP Traffic Violation stating all facts clearly and factually. It helps if you can write with good 'England'! If driver denies, thenTP OIC Violation will call both parties seperately for interview....100% for my case so far, driver admits and will be charged accordingly. One farker was also charge for criminal intimidation ( Mag Complaint by me as an option to follow-up compliant to TP ) when he threaten me when he was caught by me! Present Score Me: 3........Hand Phone Driving Pests : 0 Is using the MP3 player banned as well? Coz some mp3 players look like a mobile phone and they way u hold & operate it is the same also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 from ST, 31 Dec 2008: to me, unless evidences can be shown publicly that she: 1. was NOT using a mobile, without handsfree, while driving at the moment 2. did NOT beat the red lights 3. did NOT cause death because of the grieve inconsiderations 1. The burden of proof lies with the accuser. There is no witness to her using the handphone while driving. (The witness saw her hand on her face not her using a handphone. The witness also saw her carrying her handphone out of the car but that is probably something that many will do if they get involved in an accident. Bring your phone out to call for help. 2. She was convicted for that 3. See #2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie January 8, 2009 Author Share January 8, 2009 Is using the MP3 player banned as well? Coz some mp3 players look like a mobile phone and they way u hold & operate it is the same also. most, if not all, car comes with audio system that can play mp3 so i dun see drivers using MP3 player while driving, do u? -------- anyway, i was rather angry and perhaps sadden as well by the outcome of this particular case. not that i have any vested interested in it, but i wld thought this case will have all of us reminded that we shld all be responsible driver. if we do need to use the phone, pls use a necessary accessories... else, live(s) can and will be at stake. however, it seems now that the system or the court of law is telling us otherwise just my humble view... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie January 8, 2009 Author Share January 8, 2009 1. The burden of proof lies with the accuser. There is no witness to her using the handphone while driving. (The witness saw her hand on her face not her using a handphone. The witness also saw her carrying her handphone out of the car but that is probably something that many will do if they get involved in an accident. Bring your phone out to call for help. 2. She was convicted for that 3. See #2. just for argument sake, for wat i know is from the report earlier: "The witness called the police at 3.48pm. Telephone records show that Lim called her son at home at around that time. Lim denied beating the lights and using a phone. She claimed she had raised her hand to her cheek as she was in a state of shock. She also denied being in a hurry, but DPP Ng said Lim had told the court she had a spa appointment at Raffles Town Club at 3.45pm. She was, therefore, probably concerned about being late. " if she can denied beating the red lights, which according to u that she's convicted of, then she too can denied using a phone which she also did. maybe there's no cold hard evidence, but is not circumstantial proof enough? just wondering.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 is there any lawyer here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 1. The burden of proof lies with the accuser. There is no witness to her using the handphone while driving. (The witness saw her hand on her face not her using a handphone. The witness also saw her carrying her handphone out of the car but that is probably something that many will do if they get involved in an accident. Bring your phone out to call for help. 2. She was convicted for that 3. See #2. The handphone bill was the damming evidence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 can this be used as a precedent for those 'ricers' who caused death of innocents? which is worse? use handphone and beat red light, then killed someone or some arses ricers thinking they are the kings of the road, speed and then killed someone or 2? in any case, jail term and fine cannot bring back a life. -------- Editor jailed 18 months for fatal crash By Khushwant Singh A NEWSPAPER editor was sentenced to 18 months jail on Thursday for maiming a motorcyclist and causing the death of his pillion rider on Christmas Eve two years ago. Lim Hong Eng, 56, of Shin Min Daily News, was jailed 18 months for causing the death of pillion rider Melania Melaniawati, 24, and six months for grievously hurting the Indonesian maid's employer David Jermais Pattiselanno. The sentences will run concurrently. She could have been jailed up to five years and fined. Her lawyer Subhas Anandan said the sentences were 'manifestly excessive' and served notice to appeal. (is SUBHAS aware that her client killed someone becuase of her action!?? ) Lim was granted $20,000 bail on the two charges. She also faces another charge of driving while using a cellphone, for which a pre-trial conference will be held on Sept 11. Bail of $3,000 was given for this count. On that rainy Christmas Eve in 2006, Lim's car hit Mr Pattiselanno's motorcycle at the junction of Whitley and Dunearn roads. Mr Pattiselanno, 70, had stopped along Dunearn Road to wait for the lights to change before proceeding to buy festive goodies. When he tried to move forward, his motorbike was hit by Lim's Toyota Wish multi-purpose vehicle. The impact flung him off his machine and he broke his leg. The retiree still needs crutches today to move about. DPP Ng had, during the trial, told the court that Lim ran a red light and hit the motorcycle. She also failed to keep a proper lookout. He added that Lim was also on her cellphone while driving. A witness had testified that she saw Lim with her left hand to the side of her face, and that Lim was holding her cellphone when she emerged from her car after the crash and made a call. The witness called the police at 3.48pm. Telephone records show that Lim called her son at home at around that time. Lim denied beating the lights and using a phone. She claimed she had raised her hand to her cheek as she was in a state of shock. She also denied being in a hurry, but DPP Ng said Lim had told the court she had a spa appointment at Raffles Town Club at 3.45pm. She was, therefore, probably concerned about being late. Good leh...1 less off menace on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 Good leh...1 less off menace on the road. But there's a lot more out there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie January 8, 2009 Author Share January 8, 2009 Good leh...1 less off menace on the road. nah... she out on bail... and possibly on the road rite now as we stared into our screen ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...