Gladysbeyond Neutral Newbie August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 hmmm.. simi is claim TP? the other party is a company lorry.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sci10213 3rd Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 AIG will NOT provide lawyer. The workshop got panel to RECOMMEND to you only. If yr claim below S$1,000, it is best to submit yourself due to the new NIMA-FIDReC ruling w.e.f. 18 March 2008. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sci10213 3rd Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 claim Third Party... Send the claim to his insurance company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gladysbeyond Neutral Newbie August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 can explain to me why huh? coz i v new.. and dun really understand the diff btw 3rd party and OD.. coz my case is almost sure win. coz stationery at red light then the lorry came and bump behind. mine is oni 2 mths.. i still hv like 10 months before the next insurance.. by then my case should be settle and should not affect NCD and premium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simz333 Neutral Newbie August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 Bro mine kenna from behind oso sometime Dec last yr. Car only abt 4 mths old. The person who bang my car from behind doesn't own the car. It's under his wife's name. After exchange details, I brought to KM following day and repairs abt 2.7k. The person opted to claim from insurance. From there, my AD (KM) everything. First, claim from my own insurance. I paid the 400 excess. Then AD do claim again from the other party. Assuming nothing goes wrong (the other party honour the claim), your NCD will not be affected following yr. Best is go back to your AD (believe you have a choice in workshop as u're the victim) as ur car is less than a yr old and according to my AD, parts replaced or repaired outside "will not be warranty by them" anymore. Dunno how true. I think now rules change oso. Must report accident within 24hrs to your insurer. Better do so soon. I got the following back: 1. $400 excess 2. abt $350 loss of car. In the end made $350 but no use of car for 1 week due to repairs. Good luckz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 Same here...my ride (less than 8 months old) also kena long from behind on AYE this year... I just went to one of AD's authorised workshops (Bluwell) and they settled everything for me - they helped to make the TP claim to providing a courtesy car when my car was in the workshop (although I think they made quite a bit from their own courtesy car)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hogster Neutral Newbie August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 Ok, you said if the workshops are sure that they can get the money back. So now is, if after all the repairs and such, your workshop cannot get the full amount from the other party's insurance back. They need to claim the balance right, so where do you think they are going to get the money from? These are things that workshops outside don't mention, that is why all of us, including me, use to think they we can claim directly from the other party's insurance. Which is not the case. At the end of the day, as long as your NCB is not affected, I don't see what's wrong with claiming your own insurance, first. Btw, this is a normal practice, even Auto Eurokars is also doing this and advising their customers. Don't forget, the other party can twist his or her side story that does not be 100% your favour. So worst case scenario if you don't get 100% back. Pay your excess and lose part of the NCB, or pay for the rest of the repairs that can amount to a few thousand. i think the difference lies in me going to motorimage... i think anyother workshop will have more motivation and confidence to start work early as they are sure they able to claim back $$ MI being bigger player is more bo-chup maybe, thus just go by book, let consumer wait? not sure of the process, but this is my guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simz333 Neutral Newbie August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 So worst case scenario if you don't get 100% back. Pay your excess and lose part of the NCB, or pay for the rest of the repairs that can amount to a few thousand. Yup, the only diff is AD charge more expensive. For mine, the parts cost ard 600 plus and the labour is like 1.1k... typical KM style... carrot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hogster Neutral Newbie August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 My parts was $2k plus but labour was over $3k. Think total was over $6k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gladysbeyond Neutral Newbie August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 haiz.. the surveyor assess my damages not to be more than 20k.. which means i got no choice bt to repair car. will be lettintg C&C do it.. but their advisers really sucks big time.. lousy in explaining the procedures to us... many mistakes in typing accdient statements etc.. and lousy follow up service by car salesman.. dunno what to say. anyway AIG said i cant claim loss of use.. oni can use their 15 days courtesy car benefit.. 15 days in one whole year... and my repair will take like 1 month.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simz333 Neutral Newbie August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 AD service centres oso operate like the normal car workshop. Tat time I went to service my passenger door hinge becos got cracking sound. Left my car for 1 hr plus wif them cos need to change parts. When abt to reach home, the adviser called me told me they cxxk up and never change, only grease the part heavily. Ask me to go back! Went back 2 weeks later and negotiated free labour for my next 20k servicing wif them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sci10213 3rd Gear August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 can explain to me why huh? coz i v new.. and dun really understand the diff btw 3rd party and OD.. coz my case is almost sure win. coz stationery at red light then the lorry came and bump behind. mine is oni 2 mths.. i still hv like 10 months before the next insurance.. by then my case should be settle and should not affect NCD and premium Almost sure win does NOT equal win. What if the other party claims your vehicle roll back? Or tat u engage reverse gear? Claim OD = claim own policy. U pay excess as stated in your policy. Choice of workshop depends on your restrictions (if any). Repairs will be done & paid by insurance company regardless of whose fault. Claim TP = claim the other party. U pay $0. Choice of workshop is up to you. Repairs will be done & paid by the other party's insurance company (depends on whose fault). If the other party claims it is your fault, then bye-bye to your pocket. U may end up paying the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 Why dun wanna settle outside? Tat time i bang ppl backside, we settle outside, 1 day finish, i pay for everything. No hassel and trouble Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hogster Neutral Newbie August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 Really, feel that we are getting screwed by the insurance firm all the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gladysbeyond Neutral Newbie August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 well.. coz my car is barely 2 months old.. it better to go back to AD and have it done.. so that my warranty still stands. and i think my crash is v bad, not those one day can settle one .. haiz.. v sian.. oso dunno Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hogster Neutral Newbie August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 New car just go back to AD, they will replace the parts. Mine is as good as new after they repaired. With in the workshop for about 2 weeks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 It is not the Banger that don't want to 'settle outside'...it ia always the one that kenna kissed on the BUTT that want the banger's BLOOD! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie August 5, 2008 Share August 5, 2008 Follow the advise of your insurance company... Claim from the other party... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...