Ayuready 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 Hi All, my car was bang from the back along corporation road leading to AYE. We exchange information, (IC, name, car plate, address) but the driver is not the car owner (she is the mother of the car owner. ) I will want to make a claim, the owner insist on me going to IDAc tomorrow. I checked with my insurance, I only need to bring my car to Motorimage to process the reporting. She is being very bitchy in the way she talked to me insisting on going to IDAC ( i will gladly adhere if she is able to talk nicely, she make it seems like my fault) lastly do i have a choice in which workshop to go to? (my car less than 1 year old) AIG side my insurer, say that i only need to go down to motorimage. Can someone pls advise the best course of action next? 1) go to motorimage to make a report 2) go down with her to idac then to motorimage 3) neg for cash settlement ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 Woman driver again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 u are not obliged to go bk Motorimage to do insurance claim. Understd tat u are insured with AIG, all you have to do is to go to any AIG authorised wkrshp to do the claim. Chk for all listed wrkshp found attached with your original cert. If u stay near Jurong, u can drop by Ban Choon Motor Works along Blk 3, pioneer rd north. Look for the boss, Mr. Ng: 9637-9368. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Author Share August 1, 2008 the one who bang me is a woman, the one who own the car is a fiesty woman... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Author Share August 1, 2008 Hi Mr Gary, thanks for your advice, I am insured with AIG and upon calling the hotline, they recommended me to proceed to Motorimage for reporting and dmg assessment. Are there any cons, which you may want to highlist from going with their recommendation... first time tio bang abit... sian. 2ndly, assuming i am not at fault, how long do such claims take? I am AIG, she is NTUC. AIG want me to claim myself first then the claim from NTUC, will my NCD be affected??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 (edited) Because the other party is NTUC, it makes the matter a bit tricky. Normally, most ADs will not want to do 3rd party claim, if the other party is NTUC. Your AD will ask you to do an OD claim, then claim your excess from NTUC directly. Once you successfully claimed your excess, your NCD will not be affected. Since you have to claim excess against NTUC, you'll most likely have to go IDAC for assessment. Alternatively, if your insurance company says no need to go IDAC, and they are able to process 3rd party claim for you, then there's no need to go IDAC. So do check with your AD or insurance company clearly. Else it may affect your claim. Even though you're not obliged to go back to Motorimage (which I assume is your AD), its a good idea to consider going with them, as they have the original parts for you. Afterall, AIG is not against the idea of you going to your AD, right? Edited August 1, 2008 by Kingkong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richard2461 Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 the best way is to do private settlement.if you claim from your insurance company your ncb and next year premium will affected.the other party insurance company will talk nonsense in order to pay less.if your winning chance is above 80% nothing will affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 i thot your car kenna bang from behind and usually such case claim against the other party cos if it is not your fault.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Author Share August 1, 2008 haiz, think tomorrow will make a trip down to motorimage for better advice from them. As much as possible i will like to go back to AD for repair due to warranty issues and future possible problems. From my case, i am quite confident of claim due to the outright situation and photo evidence... but the part on claimging my my on insurance while pending the investigation outcome and AIG claiming back from NTUC on my behalf, this part abit not confident of the process... afraid that it might drag very long... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 u may have to go back to AD if the T&C say u don't go back with them warranty void. how bad is the damage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayuready 1st Gear August 1, 2008 Author Share August 1, 2008 bumper damaged, lights crack, boot misaligned exhaust pipe out of position and now abit hollow noise numberplate fell off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 Hi All, my car was bang from the back along corporation road leading to AYE. We exchange information, (IC, name, car plate, address) but the driver is not the car owner (she is the mother of the car owner. ) I will want to make a claim, the owner insist on me going to IDAc tomorrow. I checked with my insurance, I only need to bring my car to Motorimage to process the reporting. She is being very bitchy in the way she talked to me insisting on going to IDAC ( i will gladly adhere if she is able to talk nicely, she make it seems like my fault) lastly do i have a choice in which workshop to go to? (my car less than 1 year old) AIG side my insurer, say that i only need to go down to motorimage. Can someone pls advise the best course of action next? 1) go to motorimage to make a report 2) go down with her to idac then to motorimage 3) neg for cash settlement u go check with motorimage whether do they help do 3rd party claim. otherwise need to go to the authorised workshop under AIG. Under new MCF ruling, you need to go to your respective insurance coy authorised workshops to report accident regardless of severity... before mcf, any claims against ntuc, u need to go idac even though u are not insured with them to avoid them disputing the claims but aig do not pay for this thou...i had 2 times experience having my back kissed (i with aig thou) and one of them was claim again ntuc before the new mcf.. the owner advice me that i need to go idac to make claims easier but aig said no need.. went to aig authorised workshop they said actually need otherwise they often will dispute, but luckily the workshop got liaise closely with idac thus will inform them to assess before repairing my ride... i believe the aunty is not bitchy about the idac but maybe she not well brief of the new mcf ruling and trying to be helpful in advicing how to make smooth claim with her insurer...but in not an appropriate manner ba... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 Just do what your insurance says. You don't have to listen to that woman. Just tell her your insurer insist that you go to AD, otherwise they reserve the rights to refuse to take up your case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 Hi Mr Gary, thanks for your advice, I am insured with AIG and upon calling the hotline, they recommended me to proceed to Motorimage for reporting and dmg assessment. Are there any cons, which you may want to highlist from going with their recommendation... first time tio bang abit... sian. 2ndly, assuming i am not at fault, how long do such claims take? I am AIG, she is NTUC. AIG want me to claim myself first then the claim from NTUC, will my NCD be affected??? dun claim urs first...go 3rd party claim direct... can go to one of the authorised workshop at yew tee..my 2 times 3rd party claim all smooth smooth and parts are totally changed brand new.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 the best way is to do private settlement.if you claim from your insurance company your ncb and next year premium will affected.the other party insurance company will talk nonsense in order to pay less.if your winning chance is above 80% nothing will affected. Nonsense. The victim is already traumatised by the culprit and subsequently by its associated owner. Looking for them to settle privately is one of the worst methods. To TS, I say, go to the hospital, do a full checkup for body damages, claim medical compensation, loss of use, full repair of car at the workshop of your own choice if your insurance allows. If you have an overnight stay at the hospital, or 3 days MC due to the accident, TP will approach you for statement, and do feel free to give them the sequence of events during the accident. It won't hurt you at all. For private workshops, they are most willing to repair your car for free, and wait for the payouts after the insurers fight it out in court. For authorised distributors, claiming your own insurance is the normal order of the day, which is troublesome, at most, but the end result is the same. Regardless, I would not advise the TS to have further negotiation with the banger, once the accident report is made to your own insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 Agreed. Especially since the car owner is being such a bitch, just go ahead and claim. Don't bother with private settlement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 words from insurance coy not all the time accurate... i went down to their office at martin road to report my first accident (b4 new mcf ruling) with ntuc insured vehicle and asked if i need to go idac to have it assessed in order to have smooth 3rd party claim, they said no need, if i want to go i need to pay myself... went down to their authorised workshop for repair assessment (my AD do not do 3rd party claim) and chit-chat abit with the boss which explain that the other owner is being kind to advice me to have assessment with idac coz it will helps make claims against ntuc much easier without dispute. luckily they do liaise with idac and they often visit their shop for other claims assessment, they will get them to assess mine on spot. in the end, smooth claims (loss of use and new parts). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richard2461 Neutral Newbie August 1, 2008 Share August 1, 2008 yup,maybe it will take years of fighting between the 2 company.but during the course your ncb will freeze.did you get a witness?it's very important.last time a transit bus hit me on my lane,he willing to give me $100 for my damage,but i refuse cou's at that time my rite was new.but when i check with my insurance company and my car agent work shop,it's not worth claiming.end up i do private settlement with the other party. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...