Slowjack Neutral Newbie June 22, 2003 Share June 22, 2003 (edited) change to red bulbs lah, can convert to part time..... btw if u going to sp ur doors can i come and see see look look learn learn, if u dun mind. Edited June 22, 2003 by Slowjack ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie June 22, 2003 Share June 22, 2003 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 Hi Alan, The following article, posted by Dunnomuch of STC, will be off great help to u. Soundproofing Materials: Lots of misunderstanding here. The main materials I use are bitumen and armaflex foam. There are a few types of bitumen, and again a few types of foam, but they are not interchangeable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 Methodology: It is always a good idea to have a plan before you start work. Remember that you ideally want to do this whole job in one go. No rework, no mistakes. To achieve this is simple. Make sure you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 Main floor pan: 1) remove all plastic bits first. Start with the lower flip out compartment on the center portion of the G9 console. Just flip it open, press down on the catch and lift the assembly out. Next comes the gear panel. From the exposed edge in front, lift upwards and backwards and dislodge the clips securing the panel to the console. The cigarette lighter plug is attached to this panel. Unplug that and the panel should be free. You should now see 4 screws. Use a Philips head screwdriver to get those out. 2) Empty your console box and lift the black liner. You Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 Doors: 1) remove the door panel. For the front doors, grasp and firmly pull off the sail panels starting from the top corner. Use a small flat screwdriver to pry open the cover at the door lever. A larger flat screwdriver will be useful for prying off the padded door armrest. Remove the back triangular sail panel (at the mirror) and the padded armrest. Now grab the front corner of the window switch panel. Pull upwards. Slide the assembly towards the front to unhook the rear clips. Use a small test pen to press and release the wire harness attached to the switch assembly. 2) You should see two large screws at the door handle and one small screw at the door lever. Remove these. 3) Starting from the bottom edge of the door panel, pull towards you and work your way round the door perimeter. Once all the pop studs are released, lift the door panel straight up. It might help to rock the door panel a bit to help unseat the window seal. 4) Remove the plastic waterproofing sheet. Just pull it off. You should not need it again so don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 That's really cheap. The only thing is that I don't know how to do the door. My advice: remember to buy some door clips for standby. Chances are, you will break some while trying to open the panel.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan22 Neutral Newbie June 23, 2003 Author Share June 23, 2003 oh thanks all for da inputs.. really appreciate.. ahhaha the first thing is i muz find out how to open my door cover! ahhahahh going garage and find out how they do it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan22 Neutral Newbie June 23, 2003 Author Share June 23, 2003 change to red bulbs lah, can convert to part time..... btw if u going to sp ur doors can i come and see see look look learn learn, if u dun mind. sure.. but i also duno how to do... muz find out first.. ahhahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 What car are u driving? There's somebody selling bitumen sheets over at Delphiforums now http://forums.delphiforums.com/diy4fun/messages?msg=1264.1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan22 Neutral Newbie June 23, 2003 Author Share June 23, 2003 im driving a van eh.. so i need to at least sound proof the 2 front doors first... den slowly.. if sP the whole van.. i will die ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 Come to think of it, there is nothing for u to strip in e rear of e van...shd be easier but u need to cover a larger area Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 hahahah den my blue interior lite inside is going to make u all giddy after one round of mahjong session Blue light some more ah ? Got any flashing strobe lights also or not ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 The following article, posted by Dunnomuch of STC, will be off great help to u. Hi Koolaba, Great article ! Do you think it would be possible for me to include this in the RESOURCES folder for future reference for our members who want to do some DIY soundproofing ? Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan22 Neutral Newbie June 23, 2003 Author Share June 23, 2003 ah dun haf tat.. my mum and gf is already complaining the blue lite is making them giddy. ahahahha soon will be changing to white lite liao... become those ice cream stall liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 Wah...now ice cream stall. Your van seems to be changing 'occupation' every now and then leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corolla Neutral Newbie June 23, 2003 Share June 23, 2003 do u know any place to buy those door clip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 24, 2003 Share June 24, 2003 yours should be quite easy one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...