Modykoh 1st Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 good luck to us all... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 Hijack your thread, I think evening time ERP on ECP towards Changi Airport is coming soon too, very jam till marine vista everyday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zonkkie Neutral Newbie August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 Next time cheaper for those in the N and NE to go via JB to reach Tuas / Jurong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 In future you can only drive freely in MSCP, once exit the carpark start to charge you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 yup, i see some standing along a few bridges at one go.. tot it was mata. i feel the congestion is caused by the circle line MRT construction. Cuz all clear immediately after that at both directions be it morning or evening peak hours. The traffic light at Farrer Road has been a bottleneck since late 90's. I remember having to crawl thru the area after work back then. Its worst now with traffic being diverted from CTE, coupled with Circle line construction. Even when Circle line is completed, the jam won't go Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 Today I had saw another cameraman standing at the overhead bridge taking picture. I believe they are going to implement this ERP there soon.. By that time, it will totally cut off those people bypass CTE to the city. Those travel to the east using that route is a gonner. then by the time all will rush using the Mandai route. I just can't imagine if Mandai is setup with ERP then whole north driver will be trapped. Yes, we are being surrounded and we got no where to breathe anymore. The infrastructure cant keep up with the increased population, and this is the result. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 The fella is always there catching ppl for speeding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 If using your method by restricting number of COEs for those staying in the North, have you thought what would happen? 1. If you stay in other than North, and you bought a car. For some reasons, you need to move to the North, you will have to sell the car away, usually at a loss. 2. Why penalise people staying in the North? Why ask HDB to build so many units in the North? 3. Why not increase the train tracks to two south bound and two north bound since there so many people staying in the North? 4. What if due to your suggestion, North-ians (with cars) start to move to East, South and West? Congestion will start in those places! All thanks to the beloved housing planners who keep trying to increase popluation density in the northern area while the LTA is hardly doing enough (except increasing ERP charges & gantries) to ease the overloaded road infrastructure. Basically, if you stay in the north and u drive, u're nope.. one drastic act they could take is restric COE for pple who lives north. sollie for the pun intended but with such high congestion, it make sense to release more COE to pple living in other estate tat is less congested. this is like housing control to prevent too many of one race staying to gether. of cos such a suggestion will become flamebait, unfeasible,etc and get lamblasted but surely if just too many cars owner there and just too many cars using same stretch of road at the same time, a chirper way is not to add any more cars, instead of upping the ERP and make every1 else suffer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 I have been working in CBD areas for a very long time. Now I have moved to East and seldom use the CTE anymore until recently. I was wondering why the CTE traffic has improved so much. Now I know why.... the cameraman has been there for a few years already but, please implement the ERP asap. i cant wait! the route from upp thomson-lorine-adam-farrer is a dead road now in morning and evening. that happened since June after CTE increased ERP charge. most of the traffic are from North, ie, Sembawang/Serangoon/Yio Chu Kang/AMK/Bishan. they should go by CTE but now they going by this routine to save ERP charge and as a result it basically kill the routine in peak hours. on the other hand, the CTE these days has much less traffic and is super smooth. what a waste! implementing ERP on lorine/adam will definitely push some traffic back to CTE if not all. i cant wait for this day coming. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 IMHO, pay as you use is the best. I think the people staying in the North are penalised the most. The further North you stay the worst it gets. This maybe a good idea but definitely not easy to implement. Different areas have different resident profile, some old estates have lesser cars due to more elderly or retiree residents while some new estates have more cars bcos more younger families etc. I personally like the current system, let the market determine COE value, afterall this is an open bidding system and gov should not manipulate it. Just my humble opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 (edited) Whats new. Implement more sucking machines or gadgets. We shall see how these things work... Edited August 27, 2008 by Zolidlim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nababe Neutral Newbie August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 lornie rd is always jam but since the new flyover started, the jam is even worse.It seems the new flyover doesn't ease traffic at all...it worsen the condition instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuhao Neutral Newbie August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 the new flyover is good but problem is the four lanes traffic immediately merged into 3 lanes at the exit of the flyover. then there is another 4 to 3 lanes merge at the shell station for the traffic traveling from under the flyover. this wont cause big problem when traffic is light but in peaks hours, so many cars coming from braddell and upp thomson. this two two-lane merging become a huge bottleneck. the other lane merging happened at bukit timah side road in adam road. plus the new MRT work, and many slow public buses, charted buses really creates a nightmare. used to spend only 15-20 mins from upp thomson to normanton park/science park but now, at least 50 mins even with some lucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 Force people to take public transport? The place still jammed so no matter what you take, you are still stuck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 If using your method by restricting number of COEs for those staying in the North, have you thought what would happen? 1. If you stay in other than North, and you bought a car. For some reasons, you need to move to the North, you will have to sell the car away, usually at a loss. 2. Why penalise people staying in the North? Why ask HDB to build so many units in the North? 3. Why not increase the train tracks to two south bound and two north bound since there so many people staying in the North? 4. What if due to your suggestion, North-ians (with cars) start to move to East, South and West? Congestion will start in those places! All thanks to the beloved housing planners who keep trying to increase popluation density in the northern area while the LTA is hardly doing enough (except increasing ERP charges & gantries) to ease the overloaded road infrastructure. Basically, if you stay in the north and u drive, u're nope.. one drastic act they could take is restric COE for pple who lives north. sollie for the pun intended but with such high congestion, it make sense to release more COE to pple living in other estate tat is less congested. this is like housing control to prevent too many of one race staying to gether. of cos such a suggestion will become flamebait, unfeasible,etc and get lamblasted but surely if just too many cars owner there and just too many cars using same stretch of road at the same time, a chirper way is not to add any more cars, instead of upping the ERP and make every1 else suffer. relex lah.. i stardee prampee 5 niah niah, not skolar ok. i get paid $600 a month not even 10% of a peanut so dun expect fantastic ideas. but hor... this one is caused by pple one, dun expect gahment solve everything for u. y pple in the north like to buy cars and drive also must drive ard the same time, heading the same place? simple Qn... why? so simple answer is not to give so many cars there, then less car on the same road at the same time = less ERP to pay. put the other way of 1/2 empty glass, if everywhere else all cannot buy car but only the north side, then hor, all cars hv to squeeze 2 die2 come down same road same time, journey is longer, ERP up to $20 also no cure, how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vrooom Neutral Newbie August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 i would say its a matter of time looking at the jam along lornie road towards holland.. saw at least 2 cameraman at 2 different overheadbridge 100m apart... hope will not extend to the opposite direction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 no one protest..what the logic is start up erp... regulate traffic...cars get diverted... start up another erp....everywhere also got erp... so where is the logic of our govt.... ? the doing of so called scholar what... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear August 27, 2008 Share August 27, 2008 force people to take public transport still nvm. i've hearding horrid stories about the buses. how late they can be.. how screwed the driver's skills are and how the aircon not working and all the sweat smell.. OMG... i hear liao i also scared! kns! still dare to increase price and talk all the propaganda on the papers saying how world class our system is. all bollock! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...