NS men and NS pay

Tokara

Just completed my 1st ICT and rather shocked at how the Govt pays my NS pay.

Govt says NS men will continue to get their salary despite going for reservice. Then Govt went on and says NS men will get SERVICE PAY for after normal working hours. Fine.

So NS men will be paid by SERVICE PAY + MAKEUP PAY but calculation for makeup = loss of salary MINUS service pay (WTF??????!!!!!! why must minus again)

So in the end,...i get back only my loss of salary during the reservice (no service pay or watsoever for working after normal hours)

bxxxxxxt! go RT also get paid 3bucks per hour...but not ICT!!!

Ok what. Better dan nothing. U forgot to mention NSman got tax relief. Not a small amount.

U pass or fail IPPT also get money what. We are lucky that we dun have to pay fine for failing.

Young man, it's only your first ICT. So early kpkb. Comprain somemore they take all from u dan u know. [laugh]

Ranting and screaming here will not help you in anyways..... why don't you write to your unit for explanation.

During my time, I always get a reply whenever I write.... even got my RT exempted after failing IPPT due to my travelling patterns.

Yeah lor. To me it's a good time to get away from work. Go out together and chiong with ICT mates during nites off. Siong only a few days of outfield exercise. My ICTs coming to an end soon. I'm gonna miss having them. [smallcry]

Just completed my 1st ICT and rather shocked at how the Govt pays my NS pay.

Govt says NS men will continue to get their salary despite going for reservice. Then Govt went on and says NS men will get SERVICE PAY for after normal working hours. Fine.

So NS men will be paid by SERVICE PAY + MAKEUP PAY but calculation for makeup = loss of salary MINUS service pay (WTF??????!!!!!! why must minus again)

So in the end,...i get back only my loss of salary during the reservice (no service pay or watsoever for working after normal hours)

bxxxxxxt! go RT also get paid 3bucks per hour...but not ICT!!!

Complain Complain Complain but every 5 years forget all the complaints and vote to be screwed again. [laugh][laugh][laugh][lipsrsealed]

Typical Sinkie behaviour. As if they donno what to do. [thumbsdown]

I even volunteer after my last ICT but they rejected....regardless of 7, 10 0r 13 days...wear no. 4 only on 1st day book-in and last day book-out...the rest PT kit...shiok...the foods are good, better then the canteen... y comprain hur.gif

Bro, it's like this one all along [nod][nod][nod]

You'll only get back your loss of civilian salary .....

I.e If you get 5K per month, you'll jus get back 5K and not 5K + your Service Pay [nod][nod][nod]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

Bro, i think it's quite clear on the website, you could have mistaken them:

extracted from www.ns.sg

Pay Matters

As an Operationally Ready NSman, you will receive Service Pay for the entire period of NS activity that you attend. An NSman who suffers a loss in his civilian income as a result of having to attend NS activities can claim make-up pay (MUP) (i.e. the difference between employment income and service pay) from MINDEF.

Service Pay

Service Pay is equivalent to the NS allowance, which is dependent on the rank and the vocation that the NSman is holding. If you are in a combat vocation, your service pay also includes a combat allowance (ranging from $100 to $300, depending on the type of combat vocation). Depending on the duration of your NS training, you will be paid pro-rated service pay. A minimum sum equivalent to half-day service pay will be paid for NS activity of 4 hours or less.

In addition, you will be given an increment in NS allowance (subject to the maximum of each rank scale) for every 40 days of NS activity that you attend. An example of service pay computation is given below:

For Example:

Monthly Service Pay of an Infantry 3SG : $710.00

Period of NS activity : 4 Apr - 5 Apr

Service Pay for the NS activity :

2/30 days x $710.00 = $47.30

Note: An NSman who is employed in a Government Ministry or Statutory Board will continue to receive his salary from his respective ministry/statutory board for the period of NS activity. He is paid service pay for NS activities that are outside his official working hours.

Make-up Pay

Make-up pay is the difference between your civilian income and service pay for the NS training. Any NSman who is gainfully employed or self-employed can claim MUP if he suffers a loss in his civilian income as a result of having to attend NS training. An example of Make-up pay computation is given below:

For Example:

Monthly Service Pay of an Infantry 3SG: $710.00

Period of NS activity: 4 Apr - 5 Apr

Service Pay for the NS activity:

2/30 days x $710.00 = $47.30

However, when the NSman attends the NS activity, his employer deducts 2 days of his civilian pay that amounts to $200.00 from his income for April.

Deduction made by employer for the NS activity: $200.00

As such, he suffers a net financial loss of $152.70 ($200.00 - $47.30) after taking into consideration the deduction by his employer and his service pay for the training.

To make up this difference of $152.70, he can submit a make-up pay claim to MINDEF for this amount.

Make-up Pay for the NS training

= Loss in Civilian Income - Service Pay

= $200.00 - $47.30 = $152.70

Awards & Allowances

In addition to service/make-up pay, you may also be eligible for the following awards & allowances if you meet the pre-requisites:

ORNS Completion Award ($300)

IPPT Award ($100/$200/$400)

Marksmanship Award ($200)

Key Appointment Holder - KAH (NS) Allowances

Responsibility (NS) Allowance

Crewman Allowance

Commando Jump Bounty

Diving Allowance

Flying Allowance

Pilot Allowance

Shipboard Allowance

Q: Who is Eligible to Claim Make-Up Pay?

A: You can claim make-up pay if you suffer a loss in your civilian income as a result of attending NS training.

The following categories of NSmen are eligible to claim make-up pay:

NSman who is employed by more than one employer

NSman can claim make-up pay for each employer.

NSman who is employed as well as self-employed

NSman can claim make-up pay for both his employment income as well as his self-employed income if he suffers a loss.

The following categories of NSmen are NOT eligible to claim make-up pay:

NSman who is employed and on leave/no pay leave during NS training

NSman is not eligible to claim make-up pay, as he does not suffer any loss in civilian income during the period of his NS training. He will be paid service pay.

NSman who is unemployed or is a student

NSman is not eligible to claim make-up pay, as he does not suffer any loss in civilian income during his period of NS training. He will be paid service pay.

Q: How to Claim Make-Up Pay?

A: Make-up pay claim can be submitted on-line via www.ns.sg or manually using the designated claim forms.

Online Submission

There are 2 modes of submitting online claims:

Individual claims - employers would be required to complete and endorse each claim individually.

Batch Claims - the employer can extract the NSman's salary details from their payroll software and transmit the claim details in a batch file electronically.

Note: This mode of submission will require some system enhancements at the employer's end to comply with the file format (available @ www. ns.sg).

Manual Submission

Hardcopy claim forms can be downloaded online via www.ns.sg.

Q: Employed NSmen: What are the Available Make-Up Pay Claim Options?

A: There are 2 options for employed NSmen to claim make-up pay:

Option 1:

Direct reimbursement to Employers of Claims for NS Training Scheme (DIRECT)

Employer will continue to pay the NS employee as per the company's pay schedule when the NSman attends NS training and claim reimbursement from MINDEF (the NSman is not required to file a claim).

Note: This is an optional scheme for employers. To opt into this scheme, employers would need to register online via www.ns.sg for this service.

Option 2:

Payment to NSman

Employer will certify the make-up pay claim and submit to MINDEF.

NSman will be reimbursed directly by MINDEF.

Q: Self-employed NSmen: What are the Available Make-Up Pay Claim Options?

A: The NSman should choose the option that best suits him. An option once made for a particular training is irrevocable.

Option 1: Income Tax Option

NSman's monthly income will be based on the average monthly trade (self-employment) income shown in his Income Tax Notice of Assessment (NA) for the year of NS training.

Since the trade income for the year of training will not be available at the time the NSman submits the claim, a provisional payment would be made based on his latest available trade income. An adjustment would be made subsequently when the trade income for the year of training is available.

If NSman is underpaid, arrears will be paid to him while any amount overpaid will be recovered from him. Such overpayments may be recovered from subsequent make-up pay claims.

The trade income for the provisional payment as well as the final adjusted amount will be obtained directly from IRAS for claimants using this option.

Option 2: Average Income Option

NSman's monthly income will be based on his average income earned in the 6 months before the NS training.

If NSman is a doctor or transport driver, NSman can claim replacement fees incurred as a result of engaging a locum doctor or relief driver to take over his duties during his absence.

Q: What is the Deadline for Submitting Make-Up Pay Claims?

A: Make-up pay claims must be submitted not later than 3 months after the payment of service pay. Supporting documents can be submitted later if they are not available at the time of submission of the claim.

Claimants are however advised not to submit the claims too early before NS training, as the pay details may not be accurate and current. For prompt payment, claims should be submitted 14 days before commencement of the training (applicable for both local and overseas training).

Q: How will I be paid?

A: All payments due to you will be credited into your bank account number, which was used during your full-time National Service or regular service. To ensure payments are credited into the correct bank acount, you must inform MINDEF of any changes immediately. Changes can be updated via the eSelf update application via www.ns.sg. For Employers on the DIRECT Scheme who wish to change their bank account, please login to Change of Company's Particulars via www.ns.sg

Contact / Feedback on NS Pay

For enquiries on payment, you can check out the following:

NSmen Payments online services via www.ns.sg

Our Address:

D'eXecutive Services - NSmen Payments Centre

5 Depot Rd #13 -01

Defence Technology Towers (Tower B)

Singapore 109681

Hotline: 1800-eNSNSNS (1800-3676767)

Fax: 6373 1477

Email: [email protected]

Edited by Zedzee

Note: An NSman who is employed in a Government Ministry or Statutory Board will continue to receive his salary from his respective ministry/statutory board for the period of NS activity. He is paid service pay for NS activities that are outside his official working hours.

I just saw this line. Could be what you are talking about. Maybe you would want to call and ask them.