Discoburg Supersonic June 17, 2018 Share June 17, 2018 Haha back then I wanna spent my money on Oakley’s romeos and juliets Money wasted, $3k can buy many sneaker and casio I lao hua in my 20s leh bro. After reading the NY time article above, I think the risk is rather high. Reports submitted to FDA show 20% are still suffering form dry eyes. There are other complications that were under report by industry. I didn't do lasik, wear glasses since school days, now also lao hua. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 17, 2018 Share June 17, 2018 (edited) Sad part is I immediately became lao hua after the op. Did the doctor said your lao hua is due to the op? Haha back then I wanna spent my money on Oakley’s romeos and juliets I lao hua in my 20s leh bro. Wa, lao hua in your 20s?! So you have to wait for your cataract to come and then correct your lao hua liao. Edited June 17, 2018 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic June 17, 2018 Share June 17, 2018 Did mine in 2006/7 at Lasik Surgery clinic in Paragon. Had eye infection in my right eye within 1 day after the op. I thought that i had went blind as i couldn't open my eyes and had to rest at home for a week. Wife took leave to feed me led me out of the bedroom to the living room. Best part is i recovered and 6 months later the left eye kena infected. Again another week of 'rest' for me. Should have wear contact lens and do lasik at a older age when your hands are trembling and cannot wear the contact lens properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 17, 2018 Share June 17, 2018 Y then the cornea will be too thin to do the lasik op that was done back then. Now sure now whether lasik still needs to slice open the cornea or not. Should have wear contact lens and do lasik at a older age when your hands are trembling and cannot wear the contact lens properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 17, 2018 Share June 17, 2018 Doc where dare to say it’s the op. However he gave me priority to see him for check ups and free medicine till I recovered so what you say leh? Choy what cataract Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 Ask yourself these questions: - If wear specs, will u die? - If u blind, will u still enjoy life as before? I have a few friends who took the plunge & went for lasik. Lucky nothing happen. Some jio me to go for it but i already declare i die-die won't go for lasik unless there is insurance to cover blindness from lasik (practically impossible at all) u will never know when u will be the lucky one.... if it doesn't happen GOOD... BUT IF U REALLY STRIKE LOTTERY ... HOW ???!!! think of the consequences: no more family to see, no more chio bu to see, cannot drive, problem finding job, pay cut or loss, etc... WORTH IT MEH? u only live once & why take such risk? all the beautiful things in life u see now will end if anything happens during lasik. What if tat day the surgeon screw up hand shake? blackout? or watever sxxt happens? wearing specs - no big deal at all Think twice again I say... My ex-colleague went for Lasik and now he regret big time (he's in his early 30's). Now he has this cobweb vision, like having spider web on his eye balls and it is permanant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 (edited) Doc where dare to say it’s the op. However he gave me priority to see him for check ups and free medicine till I recovered so what you say leh? Choy what cataract Edited June 18, 2018 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 (edited) It's usually a successful operation. But when u get minor side effects, it's very noticeable. My friend has permanent night blindness and one of his eyes has double vision at times. He's a doctor but surprisingly, he's still ok with the outcome of the surgery. my friend's wife did it uneventfully. Edited June 18, 2018 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 Looks like the eye doctor you seen not very skillful and good. Cataract is the growing old process la, everyone will get it eventually de. Cataract is not some eye disease that is serious, no scare no scare. Haha I went to LSC cause of the doctor. I know la about the cataract but still Choy, don’t kena. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 It's usually a successful operation. But when u get minor side effects, it's very noticeable. My friend has permanent night blindness and one of his eyes has double vision at times. He's a doctor but surprisingly, he's still ok with the outcome of the surgery. my friend's wife did it uneventfully. What is night blindness? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 (edited) What is night blindness? i also dunno the exact mechanism of how it works. Ophthalmology is a very specialised field. But he has poor vision in the dark though he's fine in daytime. Maybe in a dark room in the evening (as opposed to night time), he may not be able to see the light switch. He can only feel. Some of his problems stem from the fact that his pupil is bigger than the area they do surgery on. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nyctalopia Edited June 18, 2018 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 i also dunno the exact mechanism of how it works. Ophthalmology is a very specialised field. But he has poor vision in the dark though he's fine in daytime. Maybe in a dark room in the evening (as opposed to night time), he may not be able to see the light switch. He can only feel. Some of his problems stem from the fact that his pupil is bigger than the area they do surgery on. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nyctalopia everyone is blind in complete darkness take a few second to adjust even with a hint of weak light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 (edited) everyone is blind in complete darkness take a few second to adjust even with a hint of weak light. His one is adjust also cannot really see one. It's like being short sighted without glasses in the dark (even though he has perfect vision now) He doesn't really go out at night nowadays Edited June 18, 2018 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 His one is adjust also cannot really see one. It's like being short sighted without glasses in the dark (even though he has perfect vision now) He doesn't really go out at night nowadays Sounds bad, so he needs to be in indoor with well-lited lights. Actually when grow older, seeing lights at night also not as clear as before de. Thats why people dont really drive at night when people aged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 Sounds bad, so he needs to be in indoor with well-lited lights. Actually when grow older, seeing lights at night also not as clear as before de. Thats why people dont really drive at night when people aged. yeah. i also say, wah lao u 40 year old macham like 60-70s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 yeah. i also say, wah lao u 40 year old macham like 60-70s Ya lo, my whole body feel like 60-70s! Like this it means i dont age well. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 me half century age also down with long sighted, short sighted (exceed 1k), asthmaticsm near 600plus, floaters both eyes, lightning flashes! left eye not healthy with adnormal patches behind eyeball (doctor said one..). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 18, 2018 Share June 18, 2018 me half century age also down with long sighted, short sighted (exceed 1k), asthmaticsm near 600plus, floaters both eyes, lightning flashes! left eye not healthy with adnormal patches behind eyeball (doctor said one..). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...