Speed limit for expressways should be reviewed

Ccssgm

THINK it is time for the Land Transport Authority to review the speed limit on our expressways and increase it to 110kmh.

The present 90kmh is just too slow on our roads, which are better lit and in better condition than those in neighbouring countries.

I totally agree with Street Talk columnist Reggie J (The New Paper, 2 Oct) that the LTA should do more to educate our drivers on road manners and cultivate good driving habits.

I have come across stalled cars and trucks left on the road without any signal to indicate their presence.

I have also come across accident vehicles in the middle of the road without their hazard lights on, or any other warning to approaching motorists.

And less dangerous perhaps, but no less annoying: how some drivers block left-turning lanes by waiting too far behind other cars at junctions.

My suggestion is that the LTA should engage Jack Neo to do a short film to educate the public.

[nod][nod] [thumbsup]

In my opinion, no point to increase the limit if we allow those slower van/ bike to travel on 1st lane.

I rather made them only allow to travel on the last 2 lanes to prevent traffic jam since by law (for van/lorry) they can't exceed ~70km/hr.

Those vehicle who do not want to travel fast but stick onto lane 1 and 2 are the one that make the traffic jam.

vans and lorries are not allowed in land 1 in the first place. Its the "Do whatever you want, just dun get caught" rule thats why they are there

I do believe that the speed limit is a little slow when it's non peak, a variable speed limit would be nice, education for the driver, Thinks that there are lots of Taxi Driver that tops that damn list, they should go for refresher every year. Some of them don't give way when you're trying to filter and actually accelerate to prevent you from filtering. They stop abruptly to pick up passenger without signalling, etc.

THINK it is time for the Land Transport Authority to review the speed limit on our expressways and increase it to 110kmh.

The present 90kmh is just too slow on our roads, which are better lit and in better condition than those in neighbouring countries.

I totally agree with Street Talk columnist Reggie J (The New Paper, 2 Oct) that the LTA should do more to educate our drivers on road manners and cultivate good driving habits.

I have come across stalled cars and trucks left on the road without any signal to indicate their presence.

I have also come across accident vehicles in the middle of the road without their hazard lights on, or any other warning to approaching motorists.

And less dangerous perhaps, but no less annoying: how some drivers block left-turning lanes by waiting too far behind other cars at junctions.

My suggestion is that the LTA should engage Jack Neo to do a short film to educate the public.

[nod][nod] [thumbsup]

Agree.. Singapore speed limit too low.. Bloody hell, lim chu kang road normal road so straight also 70. Pie stevens road sharp bend 80kmh..

"Some of them don't give way when you're trying to filter and actually accelerate to prevent you from filtering."

We can argue this statement until the cow come home.

Sometime, I happen to give way for car to filter in. You know what happen next? They make u to slow down your speed as they filter in like a turtle and drive slower than my existing speed after that. In the end, they manage to cross the traffic light but for us who give way have to wait for the next traffic light to move on.

Also, some drivers who want to filter simply filter straight away. They don't even bother to let a few car passby them 1st before filtering in. It is like the road belong to them as I have to jam brake to reduce my speed inorder not the knock again his tail.

i also wish to drive a little faster, but i don't think it is possible on our expressway because:

1. The exits and extrance are too close together. Meaning lots of traffic merging in and out of the expressway. Quite dangerous.

2. Traffic condition is too heavy. Cars are already tailgating each other. When 1 crash, all pile up. If we up the limit, more will pile up together.

3. The speed difference between different vehicles would be too great. Many buses and lorries limited at 60 or 70kph are already blocking us on lane 2. And some of them are already speeding. Whether or not you raise their spd limit further, it is scarely to have them on lane 2 when you are speeding down at 100-110kph.

4. Our expressway has too many bends, and many drivers don't stay in their lanes (they spill into your lane) when they corner these bends.

5. Our drivers are too distracted.... Talk on phone, trying to sms, thinking about work. Mai lah... dangerous.

they'd probably keep the 90km/h limit cos they (and everyone else) knows that iwth the 90 km/h limit, ppl will be travelling up to 100-110 km/h occasionally, with the limit up to 110, the "close-one-eye" allowance will be pushed up to 120-130km/h.

And with alot of crap drivers out there = more tailgaters = more accidents = more traffic jam = more erp = more late for work

vans and lorries are not allowed in land 1 in the first place. Its the "Do whatever you want, just dun get caught" rule thats why they are there

And also Motorcycle [idea]

Yes, it should be increased together with better road manners and habits

Peak hour traffic in expressway is a pain these days with so many accidents happening. Average can see at least 3 in a week

Furthermore, why does everyone slow down when the accident happens on the other side of the express way causing jams on both sides? [hur]

Edited by Firefly968

I do believe that the speed limit is a little slow when it's non peak, a variable speed limit would be nice, education for the driver, Thinks that there are lots of Taxi Driver that tops that damn list, they should go for refresher every year. Some of them don't give way when you're trying to filter and actually accelerate to prevent you from filtering. They stop abruptly to pick up passenger without signalling, etc.

They pickup passenger is not on Expressway [rolleyes]

I believe you mean "Do whatever you want, f*ck care about others, and dun get caught if you're doing something wrong"

1. have u seen vans, trucks, buses on lane 2 on expressways?

2. have u seen cars stop in front of erp gantry just to put cash card causing cards behind to do emergency brakes?

I think 1. is getting more common nowadays.... while cars get fine driving above speed limit, there's probably now more commercial vehicles with 60km/h speed limit doing 90 and above on lane 2 of expressways, and even sometimes lane 1!