Speed limit for expressways should be reviewed

Ccssgm

no

last time the first diesel engine was designed to run on peanuts oil

if crude oil was not discovered, peanuts will really be worth $6M [laugh][laugh][laugh]

when crude was discovered to be able to distilled to diesel and other stuff, diesel engine was re-tuned to use diesel

along the way, more refinements were made

euro 3 and below used indirect injection. from what i understand, the diesel needed to go through a pre-heating chamber before going into the combustion chamber

the ultimate was the direct injection which is used in euro 4 models

direct injection is a real deal because it pressurise diesel to very high pressure then shoot extremely fine mist of diesel into the combustion chamber

this makes the diesel engine much more efficient.

if you compare musso with the new euro 4 musso (forget what name)

musso is 2.9 turbo

the new musso is 2 turbo

but the new musso got 33% more torque than old musso [sweatdrop]

imgaine if the new musso is 2.9 turbo [dizzy][dizzy][sly]

but one thing no need to imagine is the [inlove][inlove] VW tourage's 5L v10 diesel euro 4 engine [inlove][inlove]

the main difference between euro 3 and 4 is the direct injection which requires special diesel

the soot filter at the exhaust system is not so involved

of course euro 4 is not as versatile as the older diesel engine which can take in all kind of funny oil [:p]

You cannot compare NSH to our expressways. Our expressways have too many exits and entrances. Too many people filtering in and out. Even NSH during heavy traffic you can hardly go above 120km/h.

Yes.

'Expreesway' is different from 'highway'.

If car speed limit at 110km/h, lorry and van need to change 90km/h.

Our expressway is so congested, the entrance and exit is so near to each others, the clearance to join in (speed up) and exit is so short.

Some more got bus stops along the expressway. Expressway is no design for just cars, also need to consider other factors.

Anyway, speed limit has limited impact on traffic flow. The main factor still the "traffic volume".

one thing i CANNOT TOLERATE is the bloody motorbikes riding in between cars or in my blind spot.

i mean, come on, just take up the LANE! and i will drive behind you.. why must u ride on the dam line and it makes it hard for me to over take..

UNQUOTE

Good that you are tolerant to drive behind the bikes. Unfortunately, most SG drivers don't!!! That's why the bikers are scarring away to find whatever lobangs to squeeze themselves in (to avoid being run down by rolling steel cages).

Don't believe? Ride a bike for a day on our e-ways.

True. Getting worse day by day.

Everyday & night e'ways full of those trucks blocking the other cars by travelling slow on the 2nd & 1st lanes. [:(]

Some speeding all over the place making a real nuisance of themselves. Aiyah. What to do. Just drive more carefully & pray & hope for the best.

Maybe that's why more accidents now & ins premiums keep going up. [thumbsdown]

at times, those heavy vehicle drivers are also being forced to run fast coz they need to be on time and also to run more trip to earn more [:/]

=================

If their bosses r forcing the drivers to speed, then I think the drivers sud just all keep to their speed limits & explain to the boss if u want me to speed, who wil pay my fine & take my points.

This sud b enough to shut the boss up. [nod]

easier for u to say.. but try telling your boss i only work according to working hours.. see if it work.. and if u are the boss, would u buy?

I agree... problem is, once rain only accidents start happen everywhere at current speed limit. [sweatdrop]

hee hee... agree. best part is, i think many people blame their tyres for causing the skid.

i mean, what so hard about driving behind a bike?

unless those vespa scooter drive on 1st lane, then i dulan .. ahhaha..

but i mean, most other bikes, even if ride at 70km/h on 2nd lane, i just over take lor.

vespa uncle ride at 40-50km/h on the 3rd lane, i just over take lor. no issue..

Everyday & night e'ways full of those trucks blocking the other cars by travelling slow on the 2nd & 1st lanes. [:(]

Some speeding all over the place making a real nuisance of themselves. Aiyah. What to do. Just drive more carefully & pray & hope for the best.

Hmm.. me sometimes drive van happily cruising at abt 90km/h even passing many cars. I think I made many ppl happy as I dun hog...wat ya think? Cheers..

=================

Ya 90kmh cruising in lane 2 is fine. Just ensure your van is in good mechanical shape. [rolleyes]

Oh it's definitely in very good shape...well taken care of. Nope dun worry, I dun do that speed in lane 2, I do it only on lane 1, you can never reach that speed in lane 2.

OT..me just tested the new Acyton Sports..one word, sweet. Price..lagi sweet. Maybe should consider a good used one in future but dunno if 2nd hand doe G-platers will be more affordable. Cheers..

traffic police will never set it at 120km/h thoug i hope they will

==========================

Why? Cos many drivers cannot judge what speed is safe to travel at.

120kmh on our e'ways is ok if the conditions allow.

Those that buang learned from the hard way I guess. [:|]

Hope that won't happen to me. No ABS, power steering... no airbag.. [dead]

===================

Even though the speed limit is 120kmh, it does not mean u must always travel at this speed. Just travel at a speed u r comfortable & confident with.

You cannot compare NSH to our expressways. Our expressways have too many exits and entrances. Too many people filtering in and out. Even NSH during heavy traffic you can hardly go above 120km/h.

====================

It depends. I regularly do 110-120kmh on our e'ways, when it is safe to do so.

If situation deteriorates, I can go as slow as 80-90kmh even.

Having a speed limit of 120kmh doesn't mean we must always travel at this speed.

Driving fast doesn't cause accidents. Poor judgement is usually the cause.

That is why I cant stand those dumb @ss drivers who die die stick to lane 1 & travel at 90kmh. These r the cause of many accidents.

NSH I do 160kmh & u just need to be more aware of the situation. Slow down if the situation calls for it.

This morning abt 7.30 got 2 times along CTE taxi drivers move to lane 1 & drive at 90kmh. [dizzy] Cause a procession of cars to follow them till we can overtake on the left [sweatdrop] . Really, they seem to b one of the worst kind of drivers I encounter on the roads. [thumbsdown]

at times, those heavy vehicle drivers are also being forced to run fast coz they need to be on time and also to run more trip to earn more [:/]

=================

If their bosses r forcing the drivers to speed, then I think the drivers sud just all keep to their speed limits & explain to the boss if u want me to speed, who wil pay my fine & take my points.

This sud b enough to shut the boss up. [nod]

easier for u to say.. but try telling your boss i only work according to working hours.. see if it work.. and if u are the boss, would u buy?

==================

Lets put it this way. I travel at a safe speed & if I am late or cannot complete my tasks & am questioned, just say traffic was heavy. Sorry boss. [flowerface]

But I do u'stand where u r coming from. Some workers r just too scared of losing their jobs & some bosses r real @ssholes. And I can say I dont work for @ssholes. [laugh]

some company pay on per trip run.. and to those workers, a dollar earned is a dollar earned...

again, easy for people like us to type "sorry boss" behind a monitor.. but not in the real working environment. [:/]

i think should be more affordable

but these type of pickups are really not economical compared to 1.6 cars, everything about the same price

unlikely in the forseeable future [blush]

better car performance is not a pirority for me [sweatdrop]

[sly] unless i get a lobang for 2nd hand [inlove] VW toruage v10 5L engine [inlove][sly]

Actually the last time i went to HK the speed limit there was 110km/h? I dont know if it was a highway or an expressway once you hit the road just outside the airport. But 110km/h, i feel is a decent increment as drivers whole arent confident to be in lane 1 can stay in lane 2 or 3. Otherwise lane 1 can be for anyone. An additional 20km/h shouldnt be too much to ask for aint it? [flowerface]