Mustank Hypersonic November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 mine still service 10k got one musso guy didnt fix turbo timer, always shut down immediately after long hard drive turbo busted not me for sure i kiasu put the turbo timer to cut off at 1.5 mins i guess it is good time for him to look into variable turbo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 I happen to own a TC car dynoed at close to 200bhp before I switched over to a NA car with slightly more than 200bhp stock. The low end torque of a TC is what I miss compared to my current NA. Although there's a slight turbo lag but once the turbo kicks in u really get a huge adrenalin rush. Something which I miss quite a bit. FC was better for my TC compared to my NA and overtaking at any speed is easier, requiring less effort. And of coz I paid much lower road tax and insurance for the TC car. Maintenance cost for TC is high though requiring more frequent oil change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 NA if can afford it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 As you said already... you got a small turbo... so small surge mah... Put big turbo... big surge lah.... but power band shifted to higher RPM... so more lag at low rpms... my puny stock turbo also has very small surge, but the response is almost instantaneous. (no lag) Bigger the turbo, the higher the power band has shifted so will not run outta breadth at higher rpms. Can pull all the way till you max out your car's speed. Small snail pulls fast until maybe 140-150km/h then the climb upwards becomes much slower.... and the climb gets more painful as the speed gets higher. That's for petrol... not sure about diesel though. Hope I've explained well enough in layman terms... Go lup in a slightly bigger snail... then go for a retune and see the diff.... but ensure your supporting stuff like fuel pump, injectors, air cooler etc... can support the slightly bigger snail. If slightly bigger.... I think should not need to change anything else bah.... the tuner would be able to tell when he does his thinggy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 thank you very much mine one: 0-30 30-70 70-100 100-140 law of dimiishing returns sets in i am doing research on whether a variable turbo can fix the to a Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Mine : 0-50 60-200 200- 210 210-220 220 -230 To overcome the 0-50 syndrome.... I just go heavy foot lor.... else drive like a low comp NA car lor when not in a hurry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 yeah...i guess that's the cheapest and easiest way to change the to a Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 It all depend on what you look for in a car or you as a driver how you drive. Let take for example a same model that offers turbo and NA with the same capacity as a option. Naturally Aspirated engine usually develop their power at the higher revs. So if you do not like to rev your engine...you will not be able to make use of the powerband and hence complain that your car is slow. Turbo cars offer a surge in torque which is useful when overtaking. Toque fig on a TC car is also higher than a NA car. Left in stock condition, apart from regular oil changes for the TC, there is not much "special" maintain regime for you to follow. You dun need oil coolers/turbo timers etc for the TC cars. You can basically drive from Singapore to Penang without any problem. But if you go track, then it would be best that you install oil coolers to ensure that your engine oil does not overheat. For turbo timer...its a nice to have but not necessary gadget. In fact when tracking, most trackies will turn it off for safety reason. I have a turbo timer (cos its free mah) and I use it to monitor my batt life only....its switch off most of the time. I will drive the last couple of km on a ligt throttle to warm down the engine, then when I reach home, I just shut off the engine. If not just let it idle for a while before you switch it off. On track its off cos imagine if you crash out....you stall the engine....oil leaking and your stupid timer is keeping the engine alive....whoo hoo. Go imagine yourself what might happen lor. So in short, if you do not mine revving your engine, go for a NA like the VTEC engines. But if you do not like revving to high revs....then go for a small turbo setup (like TD04) where the turbo sprools at around 3,000 rpm (which is a comfortable engine speed for majority) for that extra torque boost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Try put Gear to N, RPM 4K. Then shift to D. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Assuming you're looking for a 200bhp car, would you prefer a stock NA car that yield 200bhp or a Turbo-Charge car that also give you 200bhp? Regards, Which one cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Yah.... then can start picking up what's left of my autobox from the ground. Understand that there's launch control available from EDGE but that'll waste alot, alot of fuel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Wah, Hardcore. Your car will sound like machine gun farting at the traffic lights. damn impressive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 NA maintenance cost nt siong as TC, TC car not as easy to control/handling as people thought in the 1st place compare to NA. If you drive like a granny changing at 3000rpm. Sure. NA is cheaper. Buy a Hyundai. If you want the occassional spirited drive you can forget about changing oil every 10,000km on a NA. Just because TC needs to change oil every 5000km does not mean NA is immune to it. If you track the car, go on spirited drives, extended drives, you ought to change your engine, transmission and brake fluids alot earlier than 10,000km. In future go to some workshops and touch the engine oil of those cars that miss their service intervals. Have a feel at how gritty it is. When you put all these grit in the cylinder of the engine and have pistons speeds moving at 5000ft per sec, I wish you all the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 (edited) Mine: 0-50 51-140 141-260 261-300 Edited November 6, 2008 by BMW320i Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Though I dun like turbo but if I'm left with these 2 choice only I would have to go for turbo. I agree of bro Elfenstar. Simply becoz turbo got more torque. Many thinks that bhp high enough liao...but its actually the torque that help push the car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showtime Neutral Newbie November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Assuming you're looking for a 200bhp car, would you prefer a stock NA car that yield 200bhp or a Turbo-Charge car that also give you 200bhp? Regards, turbo, more tuning potential i feel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 TC cars have to service every 5k whereas NA 10k.. wear and tear faster. tourbo timer i dunnow. i driving NA. think turbo timer helps to cool down turbo after switch off engine If it is factory fitted TC cars, it is not necessary to service every 5k, it is the normal 10k or 15k depending on the make. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear November 6, 2008 Share November 6, 2008 Assuming you're looking for a 200bhp car, would you prefer a stock NA car that yield 200bhp or a Turbo-Charge car that also give you 200bhp? Regards, it depends on a few factors. if base on your question alone,i will go for turbo. because more torque assuming same capacity. anyway,what's up with you between NA and turbo cars? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...