Kenneth_06 Neutral Newbie November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 well maybe.. coz forgot to mention, the two LTCs i came across, they are armed with a prestigous MBA from some renowned universities abroad ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 (edited) if armed with prestigious MBA, then it's likely. Becos civil service basically only see paper. But if across the board, i dont think got LTC means "ho say liao" To me LTC is still pretty low ranking, just like a VP in a bank. a dime a dozen. Edited November 8, 2008 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneth_06 Neutral Newbie November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 that's why must go for UPGRADE so anyone who thinks of signing on, please rem to go for upgrades Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 major - 5k-8kltc - 7k-10k colonel 10-15k BG and above - easily 20-25k chief of defence with 3 star easily 35k and above no need to envy them. they have to retire at 45 yr. unless u are holding colonel rank or above - then u can probably switch to civil service otherwise out u go. for most scholar it is easy to reach major rank by 2nd contract i.e when they are 30 yr old and if all go well by 35YR can reach ltc but from ltc to colonel is a very long process and really depend how well u lick. theseday the astep is different from the past i.e. 10-15yrs ago CO are mainly major rank but these day most if not all CO of a unit are LTC. that part about rank inflation is true, last time corporal is big fcuk, now everyone is a sargent. SAF created a lot of ranks in between and not all ranks are the same. they have different salary scale. only those on the top salary scale at COL and BG can retire to civil service because they are on the dual track. above BG usually is confirm not going to go civil service, but will have appointments like ambassador or TLC CEO type positions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 Maybe the 2WO is a bachelor..stays with mum and not much commitments. Many regualars I know splurge most of their pay in pubs, cars, gers. When their 1st contract ended, they are quite lost. Their pay plus allowance here and there about 3500 monthly. After ORD, duno where to go..got diploma but no relevant experience in outside world job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 It depends on whether you are a farmer or a scholar. Also, there are different kinds of scholars in the SAF. Local scholarship is 3rd class scholar, earns less. Bulk of overseas scholars are 2nd class scholars, earn more. 1st class scholars are the SAFOS scholars, which includes the President's Scholars - these earn the most. Dun be surprised, a SAFOS MAJ can earn close to 10k. Yes..u are right...I had a friend who intentionally reveal to me that his pay is 11k plus...and he is a Major nah...but as what some pointed out..40-45...take gratitity $$$ and have to leave unless..u become Star.. no worries, those LTC and above, they will just cross over to stat board to take on some appointment why i know, coz i have come across some of them personally in my stat board some are scholars, some are not... but once LTC, dun worrie the garment will take good care of him one I think you are either misinformed or have the wrong perception.. Do you realised how many LTCs and COLs there are in SAF? and in reality, not all of them are "well-taken" care of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leslielai 1st Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 From what I understand, only key appointment holders will be taken care of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 i had an officer like u...when called up for reservist he was holding the rank of a SGT..not sure which one... but when work time..he was holding officer rank... so are u a NUSAF nope, i am not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 no worries, those LTC and above, they will just cross over to stat board to take on some appointment why i know, coz i have come across some of them personally in my stat board some are scholars, some are not... but once LTC, dun worrie the garment will take good care of him one Interestingly, when I went back for NS couple of months ago, was chatting with my trainer and heard from him that he's leaving the SAF. What he told me was quite shocking. When one of the LTCs was about to retire (at 45), they sent him for career counselling and one of the job options was a taxi driver... Even the commander, who is a full colonel, is asking some of us around if there are career opportunities for them. Only a small % of LTC/COL will go to government agencies. They had to fend off for themselves. Then again, after getting so much in their first couple of years and pensions scheme, no reason why they shouldnt yes u are correct...not all ltc and above are given a shot at garment agencies. those who were given were those premium scholars. average ltc armed with dip or normal deg can go fly ur own kites.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 U been selected to become a pilot after sispec or offered a conversion? My batch 33/98 got a CDO 1st sgt convert to officer. My poly friend is slightly over weight and was throw into sispec but after sispec, he slim down then kana pull back to become pilot coz he already got private pilot licence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 u are at SAF music school lah ... blowing pipe music every day hor.. nope should be kena blowed every day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 must also see they are combat side or service side. normally service side pay is horrible. like staff seg 2.5k? and if sign on as speciallist pay isn't so tasty like officers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 yeah man.... not all LTC or senior ranks are well taken care of.... only those scholars are taken care of... and among the scholars, there are differentiation in them. those with President's Scholars, LKY scholars, SAF scholars and what not, they see differently Not all scholars are treated equally. President's scholars are the most well taken care of... followed by other kinds of scholars. i must say that its not good to sign on in army. officers got to retire at 45. At age 45, you are still very young, kids are also young; probably only in JC or army. you got to worry abt tertiary education for kids. you come out from army at 45, know nothing of the corporate world. if SAF doesnt give u a back door after 45, you will have to do something by yourself. Govt aint gonna to care abt you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 not true...as wad my MT spec and MTO would say whenever we go reservists...or when me was active... 'u guys are lucky to be drivers...coz after ORD...get free license from SAF... better then commandos and guards..come out..do wad...'then we would reply dunnoe then he MT spec or MTO ..would reply...'be security guards lor' and we would always haf a good laugh..mocking at the 'elite' team of the armed forces so yeah...security line open arms big big for them ... juz like the few certis cisco guys who wear the guard tag on their left shoulders... further proves my point ...dun believe me..u go irrawardy road..the home affairs building.. there is one 'living example' there Job prospect after getting out of military service can be quite limited as the skill-sets acquired cannot be directly ported to the civilian industry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 no worries, those LTC and above, they will just cross over to stat board to take on some appointment why i know, coz i have come across some of them personally in my stat board some are scholars, some are not... but once LTC, dun worrie the garment will take good care of him one Interestingly, when I went back for NS couple of months ago, was chatting with my trainer and heard from him that he's leaving the SAF. What he told me was quite shocking. When one of the LTCs was about to retire (at 45), they sent him for career counselling and one of the job options was a taxi driver... Even the commander, who is a full colonel, is asking some of us around if there are career opportunities for them. Only a small % of LTC/COL will go to government agencies. They had to fend off for themselves. Then again, after getting so much in their first couple of years and pensions scheme, no reason why they shouldnt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 ..thnks bro..so many u can ask him whether he got this type of treatment when he went reservist Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 ok..i give u....... i had an officer like u... when called up for reservist he was holding the rank of a SGT..not sure which one... but when work time..he was holding officer rank... so are u a NUSAF nope, i am not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear November 8, 2008 Share November 8, 2008 can always join security line de mah ... 45 yrs old and above may apply ... and no..me is no recruitment agency nor is me with any security firm ... but i heard a number of these 'retired' pple...join schools as discipline master..not sure wad term u call it... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...