Tanlc Neutral Newbie November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 Hi, Is it a normal practice in workshop that if you bring your own parts, like engine oil, oil filter, etc for them to change and they charge labour for that, they won't do a complimentary car wash/vacuum? They said free car wash if I used their engine oil. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speddevil Neutral Newbie November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 That differ from various workshop practices. Not standardised. Dun think the carwash is the factor for car servicing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 hmmm... car wash or not doesnt matter right??? can wash yourself if not bring to car wash. normally i bring my own stuff to the workshop i frequent.. oil, oil filter, and plugs. den normally he charge me $20 bucks for labour. not exactly the cheapest but he gets the job done well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlc Neutral Newbie November 27, 2008 Author Share November 27, 2008 How about the engine bay wash? Definitely I can't do that myself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 why not??? i do it myself... its not that hard bro.. there is always first time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 If u only pay for labor to change stuff that u bring... then i think no free extras like complimentary car wash lor.. But when i take CDGE basic service package and bring own oil.. will get $10 off the mineral oil package price and still have complimentary car wash.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 depends, not every workshop is equal...and sometimes, free one might not be good one.... for my previous vios, when i bring it back to BM for the initial free service, i make sure they do not do the car wash ...., reason being, they wash ur car with swirl/ scratches as bonus..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlc Neutral Newbie November 27, 2008 Author Share November 27, 2008 How? I saw some cars have engine bay wash at the workshop. They used water jet to spray over the engine bay -> turn out clean. How to have water jet in our HDB carwash bay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 (edited) Which workshop? RV? Edited November 27, 2008 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 no need jet spray one lahz.. really... just s simple cloth and car wash solution with water can liao. give it a wipe down. make sure u dont splash water on part where by is not water proof.. like throttle body, distributor. normally i wipe down.. den use wax and wipe those metallic areas. turns out equally good. call me @nal.. i try not to let people wash my car, engine bay and pump petrol for me. i diy all. the sense of satisfaction is better! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 yes. for major servicing, RV will also jet-spray the engine bay. Actually, it's quite easy. just buy a water hose and DIY at the MSCP washing bay. I sprayed it weekly. my understanding is that not all cars are allow to wash engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic November 27, 2008 Share November 27, 2008 They always wash the engine bay for me coz I regular there. My cars, lorry, pickup all wash engine bay. No problem one. Just make sure use the air gun to blow dry the engine bay after that. Sometime I wash the engine bay myself at my factory coz I have the jet spray and compressed air too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...