Kb27 Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 where is the earth supposed to be connected to? believe it or not, earth wire connects to "EARTH" If you stay in hdb, next time go around the block and you might see a pipe, some copper plates, anchored to a cemented plate on the ground. That's where the earth return is. It''s supposed to be easiest path (least resistant point) for lightning strikes returning to ground. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) Also had the same experience The contractor engaged some random unqualified electricians from malaysia and most of them never even attended any electrical courses All experience are from on job training Luckily, never use the spare bath room in my wardrobe, at most only 4 to 5 times a year The socket melted due to over capacity and i guess that saved my friend life Anyway now only used singaporeans certify electricians Even i pay a bit more , but they won't disappear back to malaysia when shit hits the fan Edited October 19, 2018 by Staff69 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 err no lah. HDB old switchbox is 30A, the newer ones/HIP upgraded ones should be 40A and above due to modern airconditioning and more appliances. Modern devices shouldnt they be more efficient 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) Some of them do draw more than 13A.. My home built-in oven is also on a 20A isolator.. separate switch. download.jpg 07260_Retrotouch Simplicity_20a Switch_White_Angle.jpg My home oven is also on 20amp. But just a normal switch. I know cos I did the reno. Asking cos my FIL instant water heater one just looks like regular switch... Modern devices shouldnt they be more efficient More things charging mah. One hp charger is already 2amp Liao leh. Imagine 4 at one time, that's 8amp not even included your ac and other stuff. Lol Edited October 19, 2018 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Also had the same experience Hows the feeling been electrocuted ? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) My home oven is also on 20amp. But just a normal switch. I know cos I did the reno. Asking cos my FIL instant water heater one just looks like regular switch... ah..wait, my home oven is plugged to a normal 13A socket on a power extension strip. But I'm careful not to run 2 high powered appliance at the same time. Actually many years ago, that socket plastic burned due to overloading. I check the wire was ok, so I just replaced it with industrial socket (it was cheaper) and life goes on. Edited October 19, 2018 by Kb27 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 believe it or not, earth wire connects to "EARTH" If you stay in hdb, next time go around the block and you might see a pipe, some copper plates, anchored to a cemented plate on the ground. That's where the earth return is. It''s supposed to be easiest path (least resistant point) for lightning strikes returning to ground. So in this case. Should the electrical heater plug have an earth component? I'm kinda confused. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 So in this case. Should the electrical heater plug have an earth component? I'm kinda confused. Yes, the electric water heater comes with 3 wires, including a ground or earth wire. Internally, the earth wire is connected to heater container body, just like your metal electric kettle has its shell connected to earth wire. The heater is connected to live + neutral for heating up the water. It is isolated from the chassis. But that case is appears to be due to a bad connection at the electrical plug side, where the loose neutral or earth wire comes into contact with each other and creating a short. If you have tried fitting an electrical plug, you'd noticed earth and neutral wires shared the same "space"; where a loose connection can allow the wire to move to touch the other. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Hows the feeling been electrocuted ? Not bad..... Feels like being the most power person on earth Btw I have a bigger button 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 I have a bigger button 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Also had the same experience The contractor engaged some random unqualified electricians from malaysia and most of them never even attended any electrical courses All experience are from on job training Luckily, never use the spare bath room in my wardrobe, at most only 4 to 5 times a year The socket melted due to over capacity and i guess that saved my friend life Anyway now only used singaporeans certify electricians Even i pay a bit more , but they won't disappear back to malaysia when shit hits the fanð¤£ð¤£ IMG-20180627-WA0025.jpg IMG-20180627-WA0027.jpg Some time, you pay more for better quality items and better qualify technician......goes a long way But sadly, most just see the $$$$$% sign My up coming house would be using all legrand sockets againðð Legrand principal....You need influencer ð¤£ð¤£ð¤£....i available friend with benefits? so she lived to piak another day? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Also had the same experience The contractor engaged some random unqualified electricians from malaysia and most of them never even attended any electrical courses All experience are from on job training Luckily, never use the spare bath room in my wardrobe, at most only 4 to 5 times a year The socket melted due to over capacity and i guess that saved my friend life Anyway now only used singaporeans certify electricians Even i pay a bit more , but they won't disappear back to malaysia when shit hits the fan 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) ..you high ses..i only use the common Mk or clipsal...lolif you go balestier or little india dealers to buy you be surprised that it's about the same price as mk it about where to find a bargain logging off having dinner with friend now want to join me drinking at zouk tonight Edited October 19, 2018 by Staff69 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 if you go balestier or little india dealers to buy you be surprised that it's about the same price it about where to find a bargain logging off having dinner with friend now 20181019_180651.jpg want to join me drinking at zouk tonight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Well, I'm not a licenced contractor but what I know is this. The mains enter a hdb flat via a 40A RCCB with a sensitivity of 30mA. It will trip if more than 30mA. Even if you touch a neutral wire, it will trip the RCCB, bcuz you complete a path to earth. MCBs are then used to distribute the wires to different power point. 6A is for lighting, 20A is for normal 13A plugs, maybe 25/30A is for 15A plugs (bigger round pin plugs for aircon, water heater) Those ratings are for the MCBs to trip individually. Next question is the thickness of the wire runs. They are also rated for how much current it can carry due to heating effect. So if you're running wires for 6A MCB for your electrical lightings, you can use a thinner wire. But you should not use the same wire carrying higher currents, especially for heating appliances, aircon. This can lead to overheating of the wire, insulation breakdown and starting a house fire. So if you were tapping the same wire to run more and more electrical points, you better be careful of the wire overloading. Ref: https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/living-in-an-hdb-flat/renovation/electrical-works If you read the above, I didn't see any reference to electric water heater. So depending on the current drawn, it should be wired accordingly. Last time I remember, most electric water heaters are installed with standard 13A plug. The death may not be caused by 13A wiring, but more of the loose connections, where the neutral comes into contact with earth, and electricity passed from live direct to earth, through the boy's body. I've encountered a couple of loose wiring in my plugs sometime ago, not done by me, but by "licenced electrical contractors" You are absolutely right and the earth leakage protector did not trip. So this shows reporter anyhow report. It got nothing to do with 13 amps plug top for the death. 13 amps plug top or 20 amps isolator and cable size is to prevent over heating that cause fire. My home oven is also on 20amp. But just a normal switch. I know cos I did the reno. Asking cos my FIL instant water heater one just looks like regular switch... More things charging mah. One hp charger is already 2amp Liao leh. Imagine 4 at one time, that's 8amp not even included your ac and other stuff. Lol It is all about rati g of the switches. A 5 amps swtich use to operate something that carries 15 amps will cause over heating because the material used was not designed for it. Over heating means fire hahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocy Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 each toilet got a special socket on the wall near ceiling for connection to instant water heater in my hdb leh why must use normal 3 point plug? ð¬ Yup ......Water heater uses dedicated 20A supply controlled by a switch outside the bathroom/toilet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 (edited) ........ More things charging mah. One hp charger is already 2amp Liao leh. Imagine 4 at one time, that's 8amp not even included your ac and other stuff. Lol The 2amp rating stated on the handphone charger refers to 5v DC power, it does not consume 2 amp on the 220v AC input source. The actual consumption on the wall plug is likely around 0.05amp only. Edited October 19, 2018 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocy Hypersonic October 19, 2018 Share October 19, 2018 Don't need 13amp to be problem. A poor connection inside the 3 pin plug raising the resistances to a few ohms can a mini heating element inside the plug with just a few amps. Over time, the heat is enough to fused the neutral and ground or worst, maybe the live and ground.Loose wire connection can cause ‘arching’ which produce a great amount of heat. This is how welding works - melt the metals and fused together. Fix electrical appliances and devices properly for safety. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...