Thug Clutched December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 I remember seeing some posting ago in STOMP about a man in van was trying to sell some kind of high end hifi set set to ppl there encounter along the way. Yesterday, I saw it at Marine Parade multi storey car park. I saw this guy from the van was holding some invoices talking to an executive guy. That man keep saying no while peepiung into the van but the "con man", who have a Chinese national accent, keep persuading him. Then I walked away. While walking back to the MSCP again, the van disappear. But then I heard the voices of that Chinese national again. This time the van is at 2level of the car park. I can see from below, that now this guy was persuading another older man with a kid. I was standing watching below for quite sometime. His victim sound persuaded by his sweet talk. Then I left. about 20min later, I went back to the MSCP to drive my car out, the van was still there and the "con man" were still talking to the same person....I purposely drove slowly pass and see what's going on. Saw somekind of boxes in the van... is this a real con man? Its the white van scam. Sell cheap stereo say its some highend stuff. Order too much and can't send back crap. U buy and end up no wire nothing... I jus wonder why sell with no wire?? I mean if u are scamming pple and pple buy from...ok la...throw in the wire lo...why wan to sell without the wiring.... Anyway, if u see these ppple ard again...act interested and go near them after u call police...catch all these pple!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear January 22, 2009 Share January 22, 2009 I think on Friday night 10:30pm Channel 8 "Qian Xian Jiu Zong" is going to reveal this white van speakers salesman tactics. I hope the police can act after this programme is aired! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgongwolve Clutched January 22, 2009 Share January 22, 2009 You just came back to Sg? Con man la whole of singapore knows about it.. I dont even bother about them..ignore them 100% dont even look at them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear January 22, 2009 Share January 22, 2009 just wondering, where have you been? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nirxe Clutched January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 Call 999? Its a LPPL situation with our police nowadays. I have personal experience in trying to get the police to catch some exhibitor who took my deposit but con me with a fake exhibition event that did not happen eventually. 1) The police will ask you whether you are the victim anot? If you never buy from the con-man then where is the CONMAN to catch? Sorry police cannot act if there is no crime yet! 2) The police will ask you whether you have bought from them? If you answer yes, then what is the problem since you went in with your eyes wide open. They offered a price, you accepted the offer, money exchanged, the speakers and hi-fi set are fully functional right? Where is the CONMAN to catch? 3) Since its a small amount, they will advice you to go small claims bureau to settle. 4) Its like buying a car in Singapore, the same car is cheaper in Japan or Germany. But do we go around calling the salesman a conman? 5) The same diamonds rings you bought last week, is now 70% discount at other shops. DO you go around calling the police to catch the salesman Conman too? Its a catch-22 situation.....police are not very helpful in all the above cases. With all this said and done the Matas will just leave you with a one liner. "This is a civil case, which is beyond our jurisdiction." To put simply it means, good luck to you, we can't and are not obligated to help you as it is beyond our policing powers. Period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nirxe Clutched January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 just wondering, where have you been? Probably, hibernating up in Bukit Timah Hill... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 If's its China guy it's very obvious they are up to no good. They couldn't possibly be spreading the Gospel right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 Call 999? Its a LPPL situation with our police nowadays. I have personal experience in trying to get the police to catch some exhibitor who took my deposit but con me with a fake exhibition event that did not happen eventually. 1) The police will ask you whether you are the victim anot? If you never buy from the con-man then where is the CONMAN to catch? Sorry police cannot act if there is no crime yet! 2) The police will ask you whether you have bought from them? If you answer yes, then what is the problem since you went in with your eyes wide open. They offered a price, you accepted the offer, money exchanged, the speakers and hi-fi set are fully functional right? Where is the CONMAN to catch? 3) Since its a small amount, they will advice you to go small claims bureau to settle. 4) Its like buying a car in Singapore, the same car is cheaper in Japan or Germany. But do we go around calling the salesman a conman? 5) The same diamonds rings you bought last week, is now 70% discount at other shops. DO you go around calling the police to catch the salesman Conman too? Its a catch-22 situation.....police are not very helpful in all the above cases. In fact, the only person here who potentially breaks the law is the buyer who intentionally buy stolen goods (as claimed by the seller). But in this event, since the goods are not really stolen from their employer, it is not really "stolen goods". I am no legal expert but still the intention to buy stolen goods is not really in good taste. The buyer is greedy, ignorant and willing to risk fouling the law for his own gain. Its just a trade between buyer and seller with no mis-representation what-so-ever. Come on guys, something is "branded" as long it has a brand on it. QiangLongXiFaJing Wash Hair Soap, QLXFJ if you would, is also brand. Value for money is very arbitary. People who buy Vertu phones are not really conned, are they? Still, I do not condone such business practice as it too is considered bad taste and immoral. The scheme basically exploits the grey area in our market legally. Therefore, just like any purchase we make, it will still be buyer's beware. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N00b 4th Gear January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 (edited) agreed! its juz like those outdoor sales...juz in a different mode. buy at ur own risk, check b4 paying. not happy dun buy Edited January 23, 2009 by N00b Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 they are well organized, wit vans, wit (rented self-) storage facility to run their business Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 it all boils down to sg law being immature..for a 'first world' country. the consumer act should have something to cover this aspect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 Isn't this operated by the same boss of chicks selling car boot wines at various downtown carparks? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 it all boils down to sg law being immature..for a 'first world' country. the consumer act should have something to cover this aspect. I agree that our consumer act and CASE are a pair of useless kunts. But it will be impossible to have an act to protect stupidity extremis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benhur Neutral Newbie January 23, 2009 Share January 23, 2009 There's a documentary on this on CH8 at 10.45pm tonite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear January 24, 2009 Share January 24, 2009 that goondu man still dare to appear on TV after been con. He is so stupig. Dont need rocket science to understand that it is a con job. Where got free lunch in this world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear January 24, 2009 Share January 24, 2009 I think same company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Papbest Neutral Newbie January 24, 2009 Share January 24, 2009 well i can see that little little things u guys want to call our very busy policemen. let me remind u guys that our very hardworking and efficient policemen are busy catching poisonous snakes in our canels and stray cats struck in HDB buildings. no time to entertain you guys with your trivial things. just consider u guys as stupid, bodoh and dumb. people give u a price, u bodoh enough to buy and still claim people cheat u. accept it, you guys who buy and whine are bodohs. give our policemen a break! no wonder they never turn up whenever i call 999, cos u guys wasting resources! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear January 24, 2009 Share January 24, 2009 u called 999 to report that u spotted snakes in e canels ??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...