OPC scheme to change due to low COE$$$?

Leepee

quite no-brainer , this guy is suggesting that since the COE came down, he should get 'rebated'? he took the OPC plate instead of the normal plate and pay such low road tax and now hes trying to say that he should get more for something he didnt pay?

I thikn the ERP zone one is a better idea... Going through ERPs will deduct a $20 instead of buying coupon to drive the car. so the driver will pay $20 if he pass through ERP, unless ERP is not in use. This is would be better than OPC, which is a bad idea imho

Have all these OPC owners wanting changes consider that if gov were to allow Saturday morning driving....then MAYBE the rebate will not be $17k anymore?

Maybe it will be $10k rebate, or the road tax will be higher, etc?

Existing owners will have to pay the $7k(or any amount) difference somehow. Upfront pay back or greatly reduced Parf % value...nothing is FREE.

Since the low COE price is here to stay(some say), it may be wise for the gov to fine-tune(aka lower) the rebate value to 'earn' more!

So don't wish for something that you are not prepared for!

I suggest a new "NON-ERP" car scheme. Good for those who wants to sent children to neighbourhood schools and go NTUC buy food only (sorry for those studying in ERP zone).

It can be driven at all times, BUT cannot go past any ERP gantry while active! A per entry charge of $500 will be billed to the car owner, if such cars were to be driven past ERP Gantry(in emergency cases perhaps).

I don't mind if it's 10K instead of 17K rebate to allow saturday morning use. Saturday morning is really useful for my case as for sunday morning, it's the day we go to church. So, on saturday, we want to go for breakfast outside and do marketing.

Remember that there're only 52 Saturdays per year. Minus the few holidays which may fall on Saturdays, you only need to use coupon on less than 50 Saturdays.

But with 7K difference, which work out to $700/yr, it can buy you 35 pieces of $20 coupon per year. So unless you confirm want to go out every Sat morning, it'll be better to pocked the 7K 1st and use it wisely than pay it up front to the gov.

well said. I think OPC owners or would be buyer are aware of the trade off when they buy the car. Cheaper but restricted hours.

If they are not happy, they can don't buy OPC.

However, I think if the government can be more flexible in the sense of introducing the half day coupon will be good.

I think what is stopping them is not being to enforce it. They already have OPCs not putting coupon or those tear month but not date. Now, if intro have half day, those black sheep will be happier.

It's a matter of pricing the OPC at a base price and pay as u use or

pricing it higher (less rebate? more road tax?) and pay even if you do not use.

Like you say, unless sat morning always go out, i prefer to pay as I use.

No such thing as want cheap want good want big ( . ) ( . )

GWC is a bit bonkers [hur] BUT please do not bash OPC owners, I chose OPC because it suits my lifestyle and it is not that I cannot afford a normal car.

I don't drive to work Mon to Fri and only uses the car for recreation with my family on weekends. Same for lots of OPC owners, so don't look down on us [:|]

So what if yours is a normal car, I'm not bothered by it because at the end of 10 years OPC and normal cars are nothing but scrap metal. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

As an OPC driver now, it would be heavenly to drive on Saturday. Unfortunately, I would oppose such a proposal because I paid less road tax and gotten the 17K rebate.

It is simply not fair to the current owners of normal plate. Afterall, I got the red plate well aware of its limitations.

However, I would be equally grateful if they can introduce a half-day coupon, say $12, that I can use for either morning (7am-1pm) or afternoon (1pm-7pm) period.

I believe ppl would be more willing to use such coupon and not cheat as often. Also, more OPC owner will have to stock up such coupons which is indirectly another cashcow for LTA.

I definitely believe on the need to fine-tune the system.

At least this would be a more relevant suggestion...

Maybe saturday, change to 1pm instead of 3pm.

If based on Mr Goh theory, then the weekdays OPC hour should delay to 8pm because all the ERP gantry in town area still operating which means it is still "peak" hour.

Why not delay to 10pm as well since CTE ERP is still operating too.

With less OPC on the road, there will be less jam and less ERP to pay [thumbsup]

Totally agree, I think OPC should delay till after 8.30pm on weekdays because more companies now have longer working hours after switching to 5-day work week.

Have all these OPC owners wanting changes consider that if gov were to allow Saturday morning driving....then MAYBE the rebate will not be $17k anymore?

Maybe it will be $10k rebate, or the road tax will be higher, etc?

Existing owners will have to pay the $7k(or any amount) difference somehow. Upfront pay back or greatly reduced Parf % value...nothing is FREE.

Since the low COE price is here to stay(some say), it may be wise for the gov to fine-tune(aka lower) the rebate value to 'earn' more!

So don't wish for something that you are not prepared for!

I suggest a new "NON-ERP" car scheme. Good for those who wants to sent children to neighbourhood schools and go NTUC buy food only (sorry for those studying in ERP zone).

It can be driven at all times, BUT cannot go past any ERP gantry while active! A per entry charge of $500 will be billed to the car owner, if such cars were to be driven past ERP Gantry(in emergency cases perhaps).

why is 17k such a magic, holy number? it's a strange prime number anyway. who decides it? why can't it be moved?

I also dun think u can have much family time inside the car.

even if have family making time, it shd be in the middle of the nite, right [laugh]

You got it there! [thumbsup]

Personally, I feel that ANY change in current restrictions is just not correct. Some changes may be seen as favourable to OPC owners, some may be seen as discriminatory.

But the underlying principle is that current OPC owners have (or should have) taken all these restrictions into consideration, and THEN made their decision on the purchase... so we should expect no extra benefits, but also accept no less ....

Edited by Scoots

want cheap want good? i think he can wait long long rolleyes.gif

more than that lah, it's "Ai Pi, Ai Chi, Ai Tau Liap Nee, Ko Ai Kia Chu Pee, Zho Liao Ko Ai Chio Bee Bee" laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

With an increasing number of companies practising a five-day work week, the restricted hours on Saturdays have essentially become less 'peak' than 14 years ago.

Wonder who give him the idea that saturday is less 'peak' than 14 years ago.

Based on Mr Goh theory, OPC restricted hours for Saturday should extend from 3pm to 8pm.

This is because we have ERP on Saturday until 8pm in town area, which extend to orchard, chinatown and even bugis area recently.

The authority is always right, when they put up ERP which means the traffic is getting worse.

It's possible to have a new "OPC" scheme with ERP-type carparks.

A car is given a few "safe" carparks. It is not charged as long as it is within one of them. Otherwise, it is charged $5/hr at 15-mins interval. (Figures are randomly selected.)

The deduction is made when the car enters a safe carpark.

The Government will be happy with such a scheme. After all, it kept saying owning a car is not a big deal. Using it is.