Altis 08 fuel consumption

Plexus

Hey all,

Just wondering what's the fuel consumption for altis 08 like? I got my ride a few weeks ago and is in the process of "running-in". Pretty disappointed with my current FC of 10.4 (after first tank...currently monitoring my 2nd tank). I've been pretty gentle on acceleration etc.

Does a 16" tyre affect the FC? What about during engine running in period?

It uses same engine as old Altis. Being of similar size and weight the FC shouldn't vary too much from the outgoing car.

Unfortunately the old Altis wasn't nearly as frugal as the G9 Corolla that it tried to replace, which does about 12-14km/litre depends AT or MT.

My colleague who also own this TOM-YAM car having FC of LESS than 11km/L. If wanna have a good FC car, Honda Jazz/Fit might be better. Thinking of Good FC "T" badge car from the land of TOM-YAM is a "Mission Impossible" [shakehead]

My friend own a Tom Yam Vios do have very good FC. 17km/L running with 15" rim.

The problem isn't that it is Tomyam, the problem is the 1.6 engine that the Altis is cursed with. 0.1 litre more than the G9 Japanese made Corolla, it makes a tiny bit more horsepower and torque but drinks a whole lot more petrol. Not worth the trade off at all in my opinion.

Hey all,

Just wondering what's the fuel consumption for altis 08 like? I got my ride a few weeks ago and is in the process of "running-in". Pretty disappointed with my current FC of 10.4 (after first tank...currently monitoring my 2nd tank). I've been pretty gentle on acceleration etc.

Weird. My fren own a 1.8 altis and getting around 12km/l though. [dizzy]

Anyone own the new honda city here? How is the FC?

Actually one of my fren ask me whether to get altis 1.8 or the new honda city.

For me honda city is not bad a choice but altis 1.8 has good spec than city.

Hey all,

Did you check if your tyres have been properly inflated? 10.4/L is extremely bad FC even during run in.

Anyone own the new honda city here? How is the FC?

Actually one of my fren ask me whether to get altis 1.8 or the new honda city.

For me honda city is not bad a choice but altis 1.8 has good spec than city.

Personally, I prefer the refinement of the altis vs the new city.

The new city gives me a very budget car feel and its noisy.

The 08 Altis weight is about 100kg heavlier than the old Altis while still using the old engine. Power to weight ratio is also poorer. FC definitely poorer. For good FC, the Altis JDM brother Axio will easily get 14-15km/l.

But Axio is also 1.5L..smaller engine capacity + lighter chasis = lower FC, thus not a fair comparison. To me, I regard the Axio to be a different model.

Agreed. Cannot compare altis and axio at all.

But Axio is also 1.5L..smaller engine capacity + lighter chasis = lower FC, thus not a fair comparison. To me, I regard the Axio to be a different model.

If you want a bigger body, luxury interial and still good FC, Allion can be a good comparation but slightly more expensive than 08 Altis.

For city, i am sure the FC is better than the altis 1.8 but altis 1.8 has better specification than the city. Price? Not much different i suppose.

If we go by class, Honda City's rival is Vios. They belonged to the same segment. Altis 1.8 should be compared with Civic.

Regards,

Did you check if your tyres have been properly inflated? 10.4/L is extremely bad FC even during run in.

for my last 2 cars.... running in on mineral oil.... fc also not good.....

after running in.... on average fc improve by ~2km/l

my 2cents....

This kind of topic discuss until damn sian liao. So many factors affecting FC eg, driving route, start stop traffic,tyre pressure,driving habit blah blah blah.

If you drive short distances of course lousy FC lah. The Toyota brand also won't help. [sleeping]