Robo 2nd Gear December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 you remember the name of shop? check some tyre prices. pm u liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muchie Neutral Newbie December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 eh... maybe its an perception issue.. its only until one is willing to ask and try... just to share.. i got avanti rims and f1 15" for $560 nia! Yr price is after trade-in of old rims? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 31, 2008 Author Share December 31, 2008 (edited) pm u liao you referring to soh bros? anyway, we are having disussion.. not promotion.. so I think it's ok with the name.. the reason for referring to jewel shop is that their name kena "earmarked" in this forum.. Edited December 31, 2008 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 Yr price is after trade-in of old rims? yupz... less off $100 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 1, 2009 Author Share January 1, 2009 Thanks...RE050A will be my take. That Jewellery shop price is cheapest in town. If he sells Hankook, then it will be more competitively priced. how's RE001 compared to RE050A? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 1, 2009 Author Share January 1, 2009 (edited) 0neshift seems to have very good review on the RE001:- http://www.one shift.com/articles/article.php?artid=175&pageid=1&view=1 Bridgestone’s move to replace both outgoing high-performance models with just one flagship can be considered a bold move, considering the popularity of the GIII and S-03 Pole Position. With the brand’s bold and aggressive marketing blitz, it is very apparent that they're extremely confident with their product. The Adrenalin features the latest in tyre technology from Bridgestone - it has a semi-slick shoulder in design, a straight wide groove, twin ribs and a new 3D centre block. The wider contact patch translates to a very direct feel of the road from tyre, to steering wheel. Bridgestone also claims that the reinforced sidewall and high, stiff base compound promises sharp, smooth response and stability. Performance My first encounter with the Adrenalin took place at the Sepang circuit, and although the limits were extensively discovered, tested and exploited in a controlled environment, it was quite hard to make a conclusive impression. In the real world. we used a 1.6 litre sedan which also happens to make the bulk of the Singapore car population. It also happens to be one of the Adrenalin’s main targeted market. My previous high-performance rubbers were almost worn out and extremely noisy, despite the high level of grip, and comfort levels were best described as non-existent, especially after hitting the 25,000km mark. The rule of thumb whilst testing any kind of tyre, is to allow a tad of mileage to be clocked in order to ensure the tyres are scrubbed-in and even. At the 400km mark, it was readily acquainted with the tarmac. An immediate characteristic that stood out was the comfort level. It is almost on par with the brand’s own comfort-based tyre, the GR-80, and is surprisingly supple. The Adrenalin is a superb performer in the dry - steering inputs are translated wonderfully in a very sharp and precise manner, giving the driver a good feel for the limits through corners. The crisp turn-in response will definitely appease the savage beast of the sports-oriented driver. Despite the Adrenalin’s rather soft sidewall, it doesn’t seem unfazed when corners are taken fast and aggressively – it will progressively make its way to its limit, before warning the driver to ease off the accelerator. There were instances where hard braking and emergency manoeuvres had to be made, and it is very assuring to know that the Adrenalin follows with an even keel. If a term such as “skid-resistant” ever existed, then the Adrenalin clinches the moniker fair and square. It continues to shine even in the wet, giving a rare sense of confidence that makes one foolishly feel comfortable at three-figured speeds. Even when thrown into huge puddles, the tyres enable the car to pull away safely. Resistance to aquaplaning is definitely one of the Adrenalin’s plus points. Bridgestone’s says that the Adrenalin isn't directional – hence, when it’s time for the tyres to be rotated (thus, ensuring even wear), this set of tyres can be rotated either from front to back, or criss-cross. Now thats rare for high performance tyres! In a nutshell... Looking for a set of high-performance tyres, but not willing to compromise much on comfort? The Potenza RE001 Adrenalin is definitely worth considering. It has superb balance between performance and comfort, offers tenacious amounts of grip in the dry grip assuringly in the wet. Prices start from just $140 for 15 inchers, and do not cost much more when it comes to the 16 inch variants. Tyres available with this all-in-one trait were nearly non-existent, but the advent of the Adrenalin just proves that Bridgestone has the capability to change the rules of the game almost completely. The rest of you tyre companies had better start worrying… Edited January 1, 2009 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Upandcoming Neutral Newbie January 1, 2009 Share January 1, 2009 bro, im on csc3 17" for about 3-4 mths le. previously was on csc2. i will say csc3 has an even better wet n dry grip. noise level is about the same not that high. the braking distance is enhanced by these solid tyres. cuts thru water beautifully. woodlands rd conti tyre shop can get at decent price of 250-300 per pc dependent on how u bargain. got mine at 260. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 1, 2009 Author Share January 1, 2009 bro, im on csc3 17" for about 3-4 mths le. previously was on csc2. i will say csc3 has an even better wet n dry grip. noise level is about the same not that high. the braking distance is enhanced by these solid tyres. cuts thru water beautifully. woodlands rd conti tyre shop can get at decent price of 250-300 per pc dependent on how u bargain. got mine at 260. if you are referring to the shop after the caltex station, i have been there and they quote me 210 for the CPC... and they don't have CPC2 and CSC3 was 300 per pc... prices not that fantastic leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear January 1, 2009 Share January 1, 2009 ask the jewellery shop for csc2/3 his prices are about 10-20/piece more than s1evo, and i reckon its worth every cent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 ask the jewellery shop for csc2/3 his prices are about 10-20/piece more than s1evo, and i reckon its worth every cent ask already.. 250 for csc2/csc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 Found a review on the S1 Evo done by a local car enthusiast. You can use the review as a reference. S1Evo_local.pdf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 Found a review on the S1 Evo done by a local car enthusiast. You can use the review as a reference. That's a very conclusive review.. seems like plenty of my own sources also point back to Hankook. .. but but, should i move out and try other shoes as well? Frankly, the V8RS's road noise is a bit of a kill for me now although it perform really well. Thus I have no doubt on the S1 Evo but the noise will be worse... sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 That's a very conclusive review.. seems like plenty of my own sources also point back to Hankook. .. but but, should i move out and try other shoes as well? Frankly, the V8RS's road noise is a bit of a kill for me now although it perform really well. Thus I have no doubt on the S1 Evo but the noise will be worse... sigh To me, noise will always be present for high performance tyres. If you want something that is similar or less than V8, then you have to go back to V8. I seriously dun think the CSC2/3 is going to be anywhere near V8. CSC2/3 should be similar to S1 Evo. i have sat in my bro's Saab with CSC2 and the noise level is similar to the S1 Evo on my Civic with similar tyre size. So with my lousy SP on my car vs the Saab, you can have an idea of the noise of the CSC2. To me, the V8 is a balance between performance and noise. Since you are happy with the performance of the V8, no point going for something better then. Save the money and maybe spend on soundprooing instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 That is one of my option at the back of my hand. as for the road noise, that's one of the reason why i'm asking for CPC2's feedback rather than CSC2 or CSC3. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Protege 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 That is one of my option at the back of my hand. as for the road noise, that's one of the reason why i'm asking for CPC2's feedback rather than CSC2 or CSC3. Cheers To me, I rather stick to something that I am familiar with. What people deem as quiet may not be how you define it. I have friends telling me AD07 is comfortable and quiet also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grix17 Clutched January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 problem is that CPC2 is not exactly cheap unless u know where to get them... Perhaps you can call this shop for quotation: Tai Huat Tyres & Batteries 246P Upper Thomson Road Tel: 64537205 Been there once to enquire about Conti tyres. I think their prices are quite competitive and they provide a large range of tyres. Good choice of rims too. Didn't buy from there cos I couldn't find the rims I wanted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 To me, I rather stick to something that I am familiar with. What people deem as quiet may not be how you define it. I have friends telling me AD07 is comfortable and quiet also. Ya.. I'm fully aware.. noise is something that is very butt feel and cannot be really quantified. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 Perhaps you can call this shop for quotation: Tai Huat Tyres & Batteries 246P Upper Thomson Road Tel: 64537205 Been there once to enquire about Conti tyres. I think their prices are quite competitive and they provide a large range of tyres. Good choice of rims too. Didn't buy from there cos I couldn't find the rims I wanted. Thanks.. just called and he recommended PP2. but price is not as attractive as jewel shop. but I think the service is definitely there going by the conversation. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...