Korean made vehicle, your views please!

Bigg

Poor man still use branded DUREX ! nvr use the "SeaHorse Beijing Number 003 condom" recommended by the amusing wolve.... LOL !

hahaha... poor man do raw lah [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Altivo

Wa.. according to sgcarmart, the price is almost = to a korean make liao.... *sweat

U got HATE kor car so much a not bro...

Hate until inside bone aldy ? lol

Huh I dont hate la... no emotion la..

I just comment : Korean Car Cannot make it ...

e.g. No signboard Crabs Cannot make it.. prefer Jumbo one...

Like that...

Dont mean I HATE No signboard Crab but the statement is that it's CMI

Ok la dun wan be so secretive ...

My car is a A168 Turbocharged ... Cheap Skate PRC crap car.. cannot make it to the core but i decided on that cos i don wan to take loan ... and paid COD for a Cheap car...

3638.jpg

Ppl throw tat A168 junk, now then u buy

Wow..Nice debate..Anw I still like Korean made..Of cos cannot compare to Jap technology especially in FC..But still I dun think Korean car CMI since they are improving today..Give them a chance...Anw comparing the current Lancer GLX Sports and hot from oven Forte, given a choice, I would still prefer to buy Forte, though about the same price..

Just my 2 cts of contribution..

pls dun [rifle] me

I vote for Forte too..

Korean cars are not like in the past where they sell based on low prices and low specs.

If you look at the Forte, prices are still low but the specs will put to shame any car at the same price.

From my personal experience, when 2 of my sisters bought a Kia Rio each 5 years ago, I was skeptical of the brand and I was expecting all kinds of things to go wrong. Now both cars are more than 5 yrs old and none has ever broken down or needed any repair!!! The only maintenence cost are change of batteries and tyres and light bulbs. Mileage is about 90000+km each and they only changed oil about 5 times i.e. whenever they remember. They don't even pop open the bonnet to even check anything which means there has never been any top up of brake, power steering, engine oil and water. Spark plugs has never been changed and same goes for air filter. Air-con has never been serviced and its still very cold, brrr. I seldom see any car neglected to this extent BUT they both start up instantly each time the key is turned and on the move, there are no squeaks or rattles to be heard. Nothing from the interior nor exterior has fallen off or seem about to. Engine still sound healthy, no tappet noise, no squeaky belts nor bearings, no white nor black exhaust smoke. Everything still work like it should. One has it bumper badly grazed by a SBS bus but only the rubber outer layer is torn but the whole bumper is still perfectly aligned. Of coures I thought it would drop off or come loose or left hanging but NO it was still as tightly attached to the body as before.

I kept criticising the cars when they first bought them but as the years passed I cannot help admiring their reliability in the face of such neglect. Both my sisters know nothing about car maintenence and I had expecting to see lots of trouble which I didnt see . Now that they are past 5 yrs old, its time for them to sell because of its high paper value as their COE was 31k.

This is just a true story.

But I still don't like its ride and handling and seats. Its a real bore to drive.

If they can maintain this kind of reliability and inject some excitement in the looks and dynamic department then it will be great. Will Forte be the one to do that?

Kia and Hyundai like have identity crisis....

Kia supposed to be sporty, Hyundai supposed to be uncle...

But IMHO, I30 and I60 looks sportier than rio and cerato hatch (old model)

Hyundai got bring in coupe last time... Kia, b4 the Koup, got nuthing...

Cerato V2 also feels sluggish during the test drive, worse than avante,.. (SE say i nvr floor it)

Hope the Forte can be the start of the right young and aggressive identity for Kia.. :D

Kia has a sister model to the i30 called the c'eed and the 2-door pro'ceed which looks sportier than the i30 but seeing the slow sales of the i30 due to its high OMV=high price, I bet they decided not to bring it in. But in Europe it is well recieved. The more developed countries are more open minded when buying cars and do not just stick to certain brands or country of make regardless of anything else.

c'eed is made in europe so it is costly bring it in.

i30 is made in korea so the price still ok to sell here.

i30 indeed a nice car and is a great improve of the korean. [thumbsup]

The more developed countries are more open minded when buying cars and do not just stick to certain brands or country of make regardless of anything else.

That sentence also implies that we are not accustomed to paying more money for a korean car coz it is supposed to be cheaper than japanese no matter what. No way I am paying 65K for a 1.6 litre korean car! haha

Dunno why not many people going for i30 but forte instead.

Maybe because sedan is easily accepted locally than hatch.

I vote for Forte too..

Korean cars are not like in the past where they sell based on low prices and low specs.

If you look at the Forte, prices are still low but the specs will put to shame any car at the same price.

From my personal experience, when 2 of my sisters bought a Kia Rio each 5 years ago, I was skeptical of the brand and I was expecting all kinds of things to go wrong. Now both cars are more than 5 yrs old and none has ever broken down or needed any repair!!! The only maintenence cost are change of batteries and tyres and light bulbs. Mileage is about 90000+km each and they only changed oil about 5 times i.e. whenever they remember. They don't even pop open the bonnet to even check anything which means there has never been any top up of brake, power steering, engine oil and water. Spark plugs has never been changed and same goes for air filter. Air-con has never been serviced and its still very cold, brrr. I seldom see any car neglected to this extent BUT they both start up instantly each time the key is turned and on the move, there are no squeaks or rattles to be heard. Nothing from the interior nor exterior has fallen off or seem about to. Engine still sound healthy, no tappet noise, no squeaky belts nor bearings, no white nor black exhaust smoke. Everything still work like it should. One has it bumper badly grazed by a SBS bus but only the rubber outer layer is torn but the whole bumper is still perfectly aligned. Of coures I thought it would drop off or come loose or left hanging but NO it was still as tightly attached to the body as before.

I kept criticising the cars when they first bought them but as the years passed I cannot help admiring their reliability in the face of such neglect. Both my sisters know nothing about car maintenence and I had expecting to see lots of trouble which I didnt see . Now that they are past 5 yrs old, its time for them to sell because of its high paper value as their COE was 31k.

This is just a true story.

Some of the things you mentioned remind me of my former car, a 1991 corolla which clocks >400k km. [inlove]