Buying Your New car, who makes the decision?

Blue850r

Wondering how many of you buys a car of your wife's choice while you are fully paying for it? Notice that there are quite a fair number of men out there who is led by the nose. Buy new car wife choose options, wife choose colour, model, etc...but she is not paying.

When new car is delivered, she wants to ride on it first and the man can't take his mother out for first ride. Night time go out must ask permission.....btw, how these men can protect our country in times of war?

tis is called respecting wife's decision but on the other hand,wife oso shd let hubby decide sometimes altho i knw dat sometimes the hubby will go 'u decide lor,up to u lor'.

Wondering how many of you buys a car of your wife's choice while you are fully paying for it? Notice that there are quite a fair number of men out there who is led by the nose. Buy new car wife choose options, wife choose colour, model, etc...but she is not paying.

When new car is delivered, she wants to ride on it first and the man can't take his mother out for first ride. Night time go out must ask permission.....btw, how these men can protect our country in times of war?

i choose the make/model/colour myself. I am the one driving it most of the time, not her.

anyway, maybe it's easier for me coz she have her own ride. [lipsrsealed]

IMO, tis topic boils down to the family's culture n communication pattern. Whether is it to choose which car, house, children's primary sch, country for holiday, wat to eat, where to go......

N wife is e closest person to hb, nothing wrong to get e 1st ride le, she cld be e one going wif u to collect new car mah...as for MIL, can fetch her later to celeb having new car...everyone wld be happy le.

Night time go out, with or without car definitely mus ask permission lah...U mean u can let yr wife go out at 12am without telling u? Tis is a form of respect to one's spouse, someone u love n care...nothing to do wif protecting one's country during wartime.

Edited by Limhm

i choose the make/model/colour myself. I am the one driving it most of the time, not her.

anyway, maybe it's easier for me coz she have her own ride. [lipsrsealed]

Real Man [thumbsup]

I think very unlikely will there be a man that, chooses the make, model, colour and options of a car w/o the wife's knowledge, and on the day of collection, din bring her along, bring another woman (mother/sister/colleague/mistress) to collect the car.

Permission to go out at night - dun think got anything todo with th car buying process......

my gf tells me.. "next time, you can buy any car you like as long as it's 1) Auto tranny 2) She chooses the colour"

my reply "1) Totally unacceptable 2) I can accept it"

I think very unlikely will there be a man that, chooses the make, model, colour and options of a car w/o the wife's knowledge, and on the day of collection, din bring her along, bring another woman (mother/sister/colleague/mistress) to collect the car.

Permission to go out at night - dun think got anything todo with th car buying process......

[thumbsup] Gee...Great minds tink alike...

Both processes although not related but one conclusion..Hen Peck Husband. [rolleyes]

BTW, I know of people who buy their car without the wife's knowledge. Bring home the car and wife also no surprise because it has always been like that. :mellow:

Nah!! Ip Man said it is not that we are afraid of wife but we respect them.

I decided on the car after test driving and colour was chosen by my son [lipsrsealed]

[grin] cant stop laughing...color choosen by ur son....son sure has gd taste... [thumbsup]

I made most of the decision. I've chosen an auto car in consideration of her driving need though.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

Nah!! Ip Man said it is not that we are afraid of wife but we respect them.

I decided on the car after test driving and colour was chosen by my son [lipsrsealed]

lol,if wife finds the color ugly scolds u,juz say sonny choose the color,& u'r safe haha.

2 common examples,

"Dear, our car getting old/problematic etc.... thinking of changing to a { insert make and model } or a { insert make and model }, what do u think? " Wife reply, " both are ok with me, you decide ".

"Dear, tonight after work joining friends/colleagues for dinner and a drink, no need to cook/stay up"

Wife reply, "ok, dun drink too much, etc........ "

Does the 2 above examples show a hen-pecked husband?

Turn the tables around and treat it as the wife buying the car and going out, means who's the more dominant party now?

Think once married, the decision making process becomes shared. My 2 cents.......

A lot depend on whether the car if a family car or my car. If it's the former...both my wife's views and mine will be evaluated equally. But if is the latter, then the decision will be more bias towards me...tho my wife will be taken into consideration as well.

I agree with Limhm that a lot boiled down the kind of family value and culture you have. For mine, every big-ish (anything above $500) purchase will be discussed. Doesn't matter if it for me or the family.

Edited by Silver_blade

I made most of the decision. I've chosen an auto car in consideration of her driving need though.

Regards,

Quite a while back, got a friend bought Auto because he "respected" the wife. She says only can drive auto, she easy for her to pick the kids, blah blah After buy the car, she never drive it. Every time our group go for evening togo, he says have to pick kids. Then we also pull his leg, ask him about wife picking the kids, you see his sad face, so pityful. [lipsrsealed]

2 common examples,

"Dear, our car getting old/problematic etc.... thinking of changing to a { insert make and model } or a { insert make and model }, what do u think? " Wife reply, " both are ok with me, you decide ".

"Dear, tonight after work joining friends/colleagues for dinner and a drink, no need to cook/stay up"

Wife reply, "ok, dun drink too much, etc........ "

Does the 2 above examples show a hen-pecked husband?

Turn the tables around and treat it as the wife buying the car and going out, means who's the more dominant party now?

Think once married, the decision making process becomes shared. My 2 cents.......

In this case, it is just informing wife of your whereabouts. Perfectly ok and responsible.

But I am saying many are not making a statement but a request for visa. " Can I go out with Dennis?"

Ans: No, you better don't mix with him, everytime go KTV. Come to her mother house to have dinner early, then later sent girl girl to tution. I go to do hair.

[flowerface]

Edited by Blue850r

A lot depend on whether the car if a family car or my car. If it's the former...both my wife's views and mien will be evaluated equally. But if is the latter, then the decision will be more bias towards me...tho my wife will be taken into consideration as well.

I agree with Limhm that a lot boiled down the kind of family value and culture you have. For mine, every big-ish (anything above $500) purchase will be discussed. Doesn't matter if it for me or the family.

Tis is wat I call a real man....Silver blade is one of them [thumbsup] ...respect, discuss, evaluate n make decision tgt.... [flowerface][scholar]