Attempted carjack in sg-Warning

Zanter

About locking cars, how many of you lock your car when pumpin petrol in Sinpapore? For me I didn't, I wonder if I should start locking car when making payment after pumping petrol?

Definitely I will always lock especially if I am alone. My usual routine is after releasing the fuel lock cap I will alight my ride and lock the door before I or the attendant even start to pump petrol. But after hearing TS I better lock even if I got passengers waiting in the car... [sweatdrop]

reminds me of wad happen to my buddy camp mate few yrs back on orchard road, yes orchard road, he parked at the roadside and went to withdraw money, the mom was alone in the car.

robber open the driver door and demanded money, he wanted money , not the car (GS300).

however during the confrontation his camp mate came back in time and got into a fight with the robber, in the end he overpowered the robber and repeatedly pull the robber hair and smash his face against the road several times.

police who came later even question the fella for using excessive force on the robber.

Edited by Ah_tee

maybe dat guy got the wrong car... once he realised, he paiseh so quickly walk away?

i never lock cos lock liao, the damn petrol cover cannot close.

haiz thot only up north not safe, singapore oso like tis liao

That is an odd safety feature?? What car is yours? Mine can always close the petrol cover regardless of lock or unlocked car.

Did he kenna molested or lape?

If he kenna, please state exactly which lorong!

haha...bro, u wish....he just got asked if he want to make fren...haha

About locking cars, how many of you lock your car when pumpin petrol in Sinpapore? For me I didn't, I wonder if I should start locking car when making payment after pumping petrol?

I do have a habit of locking whenever i leave the car. But habit of not removing cashcard haiz.

Yes! It happened to one of my friends as well - she was late, so when she rushed down to the pickup point she spotted a silver Toyota Corolla waiting so she pulled the door open and was about to get int when she saw a bewildered driver looking back at her. This was back in the days when the G9 Corolla was super common...

there is a problem with my autolock system...every time when i engaged to "P" all the doors opened automatically...the central lock is at the driver side...it is very difficult for the front passenger to reach out to lock it or to open it...so left it unlock most of the time....any suggestions [idea] :angry:

Edited by Jsf777

A few years back, my mum kenna bike snatched robber on a malaysia registered bike at a bus-stop in Tuas area in broad daylight. So we no need to go in Malaysia to get robbed. They can always come to us. Better be safe than sorry.

there is a problem with my autolock system...every time when i engaged to "P" all the doors opened automatically...the central lock is at the driver side...it is very difficult for the front passenger to reach out to lock it or to open it...so left it unlock most of the time....any suggestions [idea] :angry:

speaking about auto unlocking/lock feature, i notice that the car is very erratic when it comes to the unlocking routine. locking is plain simple, once engine is engaged and doors are all closed, the lock is engaged through all. However for the unlocking part, sometimes i realise the unlock is initiated automatically when i cut the engine. However at other times, i have to manually unlock. Is there something wrong with the system? Or is there a specific routine SOP to undergo so that the doors will auto unlock?

Looks like I better make sure my wife lock the car when i'm away. I used to do that, but have been complacent for the past few years.

One of my uncle was almost carjacked many years ago. He was walking to his car and was about to open when he felt a knife at his back. That guy told him to hand over his card key. But he just turned to his side and ran away....and his car locked (his car has keyless entry and keyless go). He was lucky that he wasn't seriously hurt...just some superficial cuts. He didn't report the incident to police...cos he didn't want any more trouble. Happened in Bedok area....in board daylight.

That is an odd safety feature?? What car is yours? Mine can always close the petrol cover regardless of lock or unlocked car.

Such system is common among conti cars or cars designed for the European countries.

Edited by Silver_blade

reminds me of wad happen to my buddy camp mate few yrs back on orchard road, yes orchard road, he parked at the roadside and went to withdraw money, the mom was alone in the car.

robber open the driver door and demanded money, he wanted money , not the car (GS300).

however during the confrontation his camp mate came back in time and got into a fight with the robber, in the end he overpowered the robber and repeatedly pull the robber hair and smash his face against the road several times.

police who came later even question the fella for using excessive force on the robber.

if the woman was the policeman's mother, i doubt he would say the same...

:angry:

I went to my neigbourhood hardware shop for 10mins with my wife waiting in the car along the sideroad. As this was near the MRT, it was busy with many pedestrians. A man came from behind and attempted the open the driver side car door a few times but luckily my wife had locked the car doors. Being unsuccessful the prepetrator quickly walked away. I was shocked to learn of this incident & had in the past told my wife Sg is v safe. Whew lucky she is a bit KS when it comes to safety, otherwise I am pretty sure this guy would pull out knife or drive away the car.

So please do lock all your doors even if you are away for a few minutes and informed your loves ones to always lock the doors. Best to be safe than sorry in these desperate times! [furious]

Please do spread senseless rumours here in singapore. What has happened is merely a case of mistaken car. That fellow had wanted to enter the wrong car.

Once I was in my office in Shenton Way... got into the basement and started walking towards my car.. even use unlock button and heard beep sound.. but tried to open the car door and to no avail. I opened a few more times .. using force.. still cannot open. then i found out that this car got no PAP logo.. alamak, open wrong car

Found that my car is indeed parked NEXT to this car. Same model, same colour same got window visor.

I went to my neigbourhood hardware shop for 10mins with my wife waiting in the car along the sideroad. As this was near the MRT, it was busy with many pedestrians. A man came from behind and attempted the open the driver side car door a few times but luckily my wife had locked the car doors. Being unsuccessful the prepetrator quickly walked away. I was shocked to learn of this incident & had in the past told my wife Sg is v safe. Whew lucky she is a bit KS when it comes to safety, otherwise I am pretty sure this guy would pull out knife or drive away the car.

So please do lock all your doors even if you are away for a few minutes and informed your loves ones to always lock the doors. Best to be safe than sorry in these desperate times! [furious]

Bro, thanks for sharing [thumbsup]

I always locked my doors inregardless whether i'm north up or here [nod]

i always lock my car when pumping petrol..

safer