KN Filter will lose low end ?

Chogokin

Hi All,

After done my 80K Servicing , I lup 1 K&N Drop in filter . Heard alot of K&N Filter improve car response. Somehow I discover there is a low end suffer. Esp when I turn , need to pickup , there is a suffer in pickup. Then when I floor abit , can feel it doing it work. But somehow I believe it should perform wat it should be. Previously I use Autoexe Dropin Filter http://www.autoexe.co.jp . At every Band width it is great. Also Autoexe also has OEM KN Filter for Mazda Ride. So i suppose it should work well with MZ ride.

But because of the price too expensive and need to indent from 1 local workshop , I decided to switch to KN Filter. Maybe my butt feel? Not use to new filter setup ? My friend told me let the ECU take sometime to adjust it. Btw my ride is Mazda2.

Any bros can advise ?

Thanks

Chogokin

Edited by Chogokin

You look at the K&N filter you will know. The holes are much larger dan your OEM paper filter. Oil & dirt can easily dirty your air sensor to give inaccurate feedback. OEM paper filter is actually the best, dirty, throw, get new one. K&N you have to wash and oil, so troublesome.

Paper filter oil&dirt combination the best. Just check your air-intake hose you will know, using paper filter the hose is much cleaner and quiet. Those aftermarket filter hardly make any increase in performance, only give you the sound-effect.

If your car is auto lagi no effect.

K&N open pod will but definitely not just a drop-in. I lup 1 K&N drop-in to my Caddy 1.9TDI, can feel the difference in pickup.

Not really leh. I fact it improved my ride's pick up. [thumbsup]

Did your AD workshop reset your ECU during servicing? Some did esp when they upgrade the firmware. <_<

All your previous driving "memory" are erased. [sweatdrop]

So even when you just serviced your ride, the car felt laggy... :o

Edited by Civic6656

Hi All,

After done my 80K Servicing , I lup 1 K&N Drop in filter . Heard alot of K&N Filter improve car response. Somehow I discover there is a low end suffer. Esp when I turn , need to pickup , there is a suffer in pickup. Then when I floor abit , can feel it doing it work. But somehow I believe it should perform wat it should be. Previously I use Autoexe Dropin Filter http://www.autoexe.co.jp . At every Band width it is great. Also Autoexe also has OEM KN Filter for Mazda Ride. So i suppose it should work well with MZ ride.

But because of the price too expensive and need to indent from 1 local workshop , I decided to switch to KN Filter. Maybe my butt feel? Not use to new filter setup ? My friend told me let the ECU take sometime to adjust it. Btw my ride is Mazda2.

Any bros can advise ?

Thanks

Chogokin

Try to drive for a few days bah. It should be okay already by then. I tried k&n and Hurricane before and I would choose Hurricane.

But what watwheels said is true. OEM paper is the best. [thumbsup]

High filtration and high flow rate. Protects engine life.

Hi All,

Any bros can advise ?

Thanks

Chogokin

If you dont have turbo... it's not gonna change much cos you dont have any power in the first place

Hi All,

Any bros can advise ?

Thanks

Chogokin

The ECU is 24/7 realtime updating itself from the various sensors, theres no such things as let ECU take sometime to adjust it ... the ECU is not those 4bit or 2 bit system ... I might be wrong

Edited by Lihong82

From the info in the different forums,

The stock air box is supposed to regulate and set a certain air flow, capacity and pressure going in mar... By changing to drop in u just change the time the air needs to clear the air filter part. So theoretically speaking, how could the effect be very different? For Open-pod, you no longer have that air-box liao, so no constant "ready" air waiting to queue up to go in.... At low speed, if u dun revv, the air going in is less than stock air box, so low end suffer lor ... manual not as badly affected bcos u can revv even at low speeds... at high speed, much more air goes in faster for open pod compared to air box( which will become a restriction for the air) , so thats y open pod has better effect at top end...

Am i right?

Hi All,

Any bros can advise ?

Thanks

Chogokin

Stock air-intake is the best compromise. Ever done a dyno by changing to an aftermarket air-intake? how much bhp gain? probably good butt feel is what you get. Just curious, how much horses are you expecting from a drop-in air filter? Read a magazine on modifications, they did a test on a few products. The gain in pick-up and bhp is very marginal, in some cases, the pick-up and bhp gain is worse than stock.

Regards,

The gain in pick-up and bhp is very marginal, in some cases, the pick-up and bhp gain is worse than stock.

Regards,

I have tried many types of drop in and ever considered closed pods. In the end, revert back to stock paper air intake. Find that with stock intake, the pick up and acceleration is there. Plus filtration makes my engine more effective and efficient. And less worry cos the filter will be more dirty as compared to the thought of more dirt going into the engine.

I am not prepared for the cost of inconvenience especially when the engine starts to stall in the middle of the roads or early morning on the way to work due to dirty throttle body.

For the labour cost of cleaning the throttle body (due to aftermarket air intake) more frequently as compared to stock air intake, it is more economical to buy a new air filter from stockist and replace the dirty paper filter after 20k or 40k mileage.

Edited by Yuan

I used to use K&N oil based Filter in my old ride. I have been using it for more than 2 years before i sold my ride. Initiatly I thought the low end will suffer after i removed the K&N Filter but then there is not much problems after i put back my stock (paper) filter. Low end still feels the same.

In the end, I decided to stay with my stock filter and spent the $$ for some other mods more worthwhile. At least i dont have to worry that the oil will affect my ecu

Drop in aftermarket filter replacement using stock airbox = no change, except usually poorer filtration. No gains, no loss.

Replace stock airbox with SRI Open Pod = usually loss in low end unless supported by other mods + tuning.

Replace stock airbox with CAI = generally better response after tuning, but watch out for hydrolock.

Replace stock airbox with aftermarket airbox = generally maintain low end, slightly better high end. Depends on design. Reputable brands like Mugen, ARC will be good.