Engine oil

Santa

Castrol used to be value for money mineral based engine oil many years back. How is their synthetic SAE 5W-40 or 0W-40 engine oil prices like?

Castrol doesn't come cheap from one of the last few servicings I had.

If the engine oil falls within specifications of API recommendations and came from main stream EO mfr, I am comfortable to pour into my engine.

I agree on the above.

Castrol used to be value for money mineral based engine oil many years back. How is their synthetic SAE 5W-40 or 0W-40 engine oil prices like?

EXPENSIVE!! Their synthetic Castrol Edge Sports cost over $100 for 4L.

To those who like X REV, here is m y experience with that so called US Made Oil.

I am driving a BMW 325i. The workshop I am going to (I will not say the name) changed to X-REV Oil. At my last service I was using my favorite German oil as always.

After four days of collecting my car with X-REV Oil inside, I noticed a oil stain on my drive way. Thought maybe residual. I cleaned it up and the next morning there was a bigger puddle of oil. On the PIE, my check engine light came on and a warning message that there was no oil left in the engine.

I stopped and towed my car to the workshop. After removing the transmission, the rear main seal was found laying in the bell housing and the valve cover gasket was leaking as well.

After doing contacting X-REV Oil PTE LTD, they didn't want to take responsibility and said this was a single case. I have the entire email conversation and even recorded the phone conversation.

I did some research and found that the oil from X-REV Oil PTE LTD is manufactured here AND in Indonesia. I fly frequently to the US and I asked around and went to car shops and no one even heard of this brand there before.

The oil is ester based and shrinks rubber and thats what happen and the seal fell off and the valve cover gasket was leaking.

My advice STAY AWAY FROM X-REV Oil!!!!

Its a BIG SCAM.

I am just sharing my experience and feelings here.

Hmm.... This is terrible. Cause only very old synthetic oil will cause that. Yes, synthetic oil is known to shrink seals if proper additives are not added.

Seriously, I have not heard of this brand and it seems like a local brand with more marketing than other ones. I did use it once w/o much of an issue (but it last just 500KM only because the WS use Xrev after replacing my engine and it turned black very quickly). After that, replace with Amsoil already.

I will never look back at Xrev because of the price (he charged my $150 somemore!!). $98 for a bottle at Autobacs is more than my Amsoil so no interested. Tried out the engine protector once and found no difference so can't be bother about it anymore.

I agree on the above.

Although I do agree, but had been kinda kiasu all the while and have been using so call more reputatable brands. Now that my car is old, will consider the cheaper alternatives and see if they are actually of acceptable standards. Anyone tried the cheap oils sold at supermarkets like Carrefour / Giants? Fully synthetic only about $30 4-5litres.... any feedbacks? :D

Do you think we are IMH candidates? Try your recommendation with our COE so high? How much you paying us to road test your recommendation?

seriously if u dun wan to try out tis gd oil dan ur problem... siao ah... nobody using gun to force u to try wat...

anyway dun believe and dun try oso not my problem, i got noting to lose [:/]

Although I do agree, but had been kinda kiasu all the while and have been using so call more reputatable brands. Now that my car is old, will consider the cheaper alternatives and see if they are actually of acceptable standards. Anyone tried the cheap oils sold at supermarkets like Carrefour / Giants? Fully synthetic only about $30 4-5litres.... any feedbacks? :D

This has been discussed to death before already. Yes they work, they won't kill your engine. Of course, you don't go tracking with the oil......

I tried c_rlube before in my previous 10k mileage interval.

It lasted me throughout. Yes, they work.

Just curious. Any idea was TOTAL bought over by ELF or ELF bought over by TOTAL?

extraction from wiki...

""In 1985 the company was renamed Total CFP. In 1991 the company name became simply Total. After Total's takeover of Petrofina in 1999, it became known as Total Fina. Afterwards it also acquired Elf Aquitaine. First named TotalFinaElf after the merger in 2000, it was later renamed back to Total in May 2003."""

extraction from wiki...

""In 1985 the company was renamed Total CFP. In 1991 the company name became simply Total. After Total's takeover of Petrofina in 1999, it became known as Total Fina. Afterwards it also acquired Elf Aquitaine. First named TotalFinaElf after the merger in 2000, it was later renamed back to Total in May 2003."""

Many thanks

Tried Mobil Gold, Shell Helix Ultra, Castrol Edge, c-----e, SPC house brand, AMSoil

Castrol Edge is the best among the group but expensive

Amsoil has the same performance as Castrol Edge and is at a fraction of the cost, been using it since.

pls dun treat your car like crap.....dun give it c**lube.....its called synthetic oil and is supposed to last at least 10k..but well into 5k and the engine got rougher i swapped it out soon after.

Can share what type of synthetic oil you using that's costing less than $5 per litre?

Even the cheap C.lube (likely Grp 3?) cost above $5 per litre....

C.lube, it was selling for $19.90 for 4 litres. :D

I also bought VX from C4, $21.90 for 5 litres.

Edited by Jamesc

any brother can help me - which engine oil in our singapore market offer the most smooth and quieter performance.

was thinking of mobil1 (0w-40) - any feedback

(This is because the oil used by the authorised dealer is simply craps...so thinking of changing)

Replenish with the cheapest SAE 0w-40 synthetic engine lubricating oil you can buy (not much differences among the brands if not racing). Do not forget to replace the oil filter each time

C.lube, it was selling for $19.90 for 4 litres. :D

I also bought VX from C4, $21.90 for 5 litres.

I only can find clube fr $28 fr 5 lit.

Where u get so cheap n 4 lit summore?

To those who like X REV, here is m y experience with that so called US Made Oil.

I am driving a BMW 325i. The workshop I am going to (I will not say the name) changed to X-REV Oil. At my last service I was using my favorite German oil as always.

After four days of collecting my car with X-REV Oil inside, I noticed a oil stain on my drive way. Thought maybe residual. I cleaned it up and the next morning there was a bigger puddle of oil. On the PIE, my check engine light came on and a warning message that there was no oil left in the engine.

I stopped and towed my car to the workshop. After removing the transmission, the rear main seal was found laying in the bell housing and the valve cover gasket was leaking as well.

After doing contacting X-REV Oil PTE LTD, they didn't want to take responsibility and said this was a single case. I have the entire email conversation and even recorded the phone conversation.

I did some research and found that the oil from X-REV Oil PTE LTD is manufactured here AND in Indonesia. I fly frequently to the US and I asked around and went to car shops and no one even heard of this brand there before.

The oil is ester based and shrinks rubber and thats what happen and the seal fell off and the valve cover gasket was leaking.

My advice STAY AWAY FROM X-REV Oil!!!!

Its a BIG SCAM.

I am just sharing my experience and feelings here.

You mean x-rex actually claim in black n white their oil is made in usa but it is made in SG n INDO?

Isnt this under false claims? Cant CASE do anything? Maybe u can try n see if ty can get some compensation fm x-rev in SG.

Anyway i feel in SG now sellers r making all sorts of false claims n get away with it. Damm. 1st world country with 3rd world standards. [knife]