$50 reward for returning gold

Ysc3

mind you, that's $377k worth of gold !!

this morning's ST front page had an article on a cabby who drove ard without knowing that one of his passengers had left behind a bag of gold in his boot worth abt $377k !!

upon finding the pot, the cabby made an effort and returned the gold to the owner only to be given a tremendous reward of ...... $50 !!

Even ComfortDelgro, which has nothing to do with it, except being the taxi company, decided to reward the cabby with $200 for his honesty !

even when someone returned my $110 pager when i lost it, i went from Tampines to Bukit Merah to collect it and gave the finder $20 !!

but ironically, when i returned things to others, i never received any rewards b4.

mind you, that's $377k worth of gold !!

this morning's ST front page had an article on a cabby who drove ard without knowing that one of his passengers had left behind a bag of gold in his boot worth abt $377k !!

upon finding the pot, the cabby made an effort and returned the gold to the owner only to be given a tremendous reward of ...... $50 !!

Even ComfortDelgro, which has nothing to do with it, except being the taxi company, decided to reward the cabby with $200 for his honesty !

even when someone returned my $110 pager when i lost it, i went from Tampines to Bukit Merah to collect it and gave the finder $20 !!

but ironically, when i returned things to others, i never received any rewards b4.

Wah . . . your $50 very BIG hor?

It's not about honesty seriously, it's all about not knowing the gold bars were in the boot. Think about it . . . . times are bad you know.

Wah . . . your $50 very BIG hor?

It's not about honesty seriously, it's all about not knowing the gold bars were in the boot. Think about it . . . . times are bad you know.

actually, when he realised what was in his boot, he returned it - so he knew, and that shows he is honest.

but the $50 "reward" is really a bloody insult man !! better dun offer if so stingy !! siah suay the owner !

$50 vs $370k..

but then again, its very difficult for the taxi driver to dispose off $370k worth of gold bars. sure tio lia.

well $50 is still a reward. Cant people do something nice once in a while out of charity and goodwill rather than hoping for a good reward or favour? now i know why we singaporeans are called money faced. every action has a price on it? Is this how we should live?

Poor fellow. Might as well keep the gold for awhile first by acting blur. If no hoo ha, wah piangz then the gold can use leow. Hahahahaha.......! [shocked]

Just joking. [flowerface]

the first thought that ran through my mind was the cabby didn't know it was gold bar in the first place until the owner opened the bag. May be a different tune if the cabby knew what was inside. but let's give him the benefit of doubt lah.

is it common to buy jewellery using gold as what was reportted?

Whatever the value of the reward, it is just a token of appreciation.

Take for example if NRIC kenna lost and then someone return. The NRIC today is certainly worth more than anything. You will have no end to trouble if lost it (esp if kena misused to borrow from ah long or any other illegal activities). Do you expect the victim to give all his/her life to the person who return it?

Just my 2 cent.

The cabbie is one lucky man.

In Singapore and some other places as well, the cabbie does not come out to help load and unload lugguage. They simply release the catch on the boot and leave it to the passenger.

Imagine if the gold bard were not there and the cabbie did not know anything about it? Would you have believe him, $377k worth of gold? It could be a dishonest passenger who unloaded the bag off.

I wonder if this could serve as a wake up call to the cab service industry that 1)the cabbie ought to physically know that something is loaded and unloaded into his cab 2)the cabbie should come out to offer some sort of a help, even if together with the passenger.

actually, when he realised what was in his boot, he returned it - so he knew, and that shows he is honest.

but the $50 "reward" is really a bloody insult man !! better dun offer if so stingy !! siah suay the owner !

Then what do you expect? Reward him with gold bar is it?

The cabbie is one lucky man.

In Singapore and some other places as well, the cabbie does not come out to help load and unload lugguage. They simply release the catch on the boot and leave it to the passenger.

Imagine if the gold bard were not there and the cabbie did not know anything about it? Would you have believe him, $377k worth of gold? It could be a dishonest passenger who unloaded the bag off.

I wonder if this could serve as a wake up call to the cab service industry that 1)the cabbie ought to physically know that something is loaded and unloaded into his cab 2)the cabbie should come out to offer some sort of a help, even if together with the passenger.

not sure if there was a different outcome later on but there was a news report sometime back where insurance did not want to pay up for cabby injury when he got knocked down by another car when he came out to help with the stuffs in the boot. the reason was that taxi driver occupation is in the car, so when he is out of it, it is not covered under work hazard or something like that.

dats why from that day onwards, i dun expect cabbies to come out. not that they dun wan, but they gotta look after themselves too rite?

Juz imagine if you are the nex passenger after the ang mo, u put ur stuff in the boot.

then wen u alight, u carry all ur stuff & accidentally the goldbars...

wah song sia...i bring to msia & sell it...1 bar at a time..