Actan72 5th Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 (edited) Well, just need to vent this out here. I'm a nice person who will at times give friends a lift even though it's not all that "on the way". Sometimes, I even initiate to send them home be it colleagues or friends. Well, the problem is there are people who will not appreciate this and make this their convenience instead of mine. Like for example... I am about to go home, so ask my colleague casually if he need a lift since he stays quite near me but not really on the way. He says ok, so gave him about 15mins to get ready. 15mins I already in the car, engine on, air-con cooled, drove out to the pick-up point and still dun see him. Then wait a further 10mins, still don't see him... I simply drove off without informing him. And of course, kenna sms from him saying if i wanna go off should have inform him. This is just a one off event, but there are similar incidents with other friends as well. Like ask to pick friend up below his block, but wait like 10mins liao still dun see him. These are the kinda things i will get pissed off. Worst is pick up at bus stop, go to bus stop friend haven't even there. Then there are people who will set a meeting point to their convenience instead of a efficient pick-up/drop-off point. Like have to make several turns that kind. I have learnt to advise my friends since... "don't let the car wait for you, you wait for the car." I have a colleague who happen to stay near my place, for me I stay near MRT station, so he requested a lift from me. Okay, I offer to pick him up at my block carpark... Guess wat ??? he ask me to got to another MRT to fetch him!!! FYI, the walking distance from my house to the MRT is only 2 mins... It was a kind gesture on my side which was taken for granted... These people do not understand that we do not have the obligations to fetch them to work. Of course I turn him down and told him that it is not his entitlement. Anyway, I do not really care... if he wants to catch a ride, he has to appear at the timing I requested. If not, I will drive off without him... Edited May 17, 2009 by Actan72 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 U let him chew from SG to Genting then u complain? Guess they see u dun mind so they dun mind as well? the thing is, i did not even complain during the trip at all. sit ppl's car, u expect me to tell off the kid or the parents ar ?? i just kept looking at them hoping they wud "understand" but alas, no such luck !! funny how the father allow his 2 sons to bounce around in the car esp with the mom carrying a baby and travelling at abt 110 on the NSH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongkongwolf Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 the thing is, i did not even complain during the trip at all. sit ppl's car, u expect me to tell off the kid or the parents ar ?? i just kept looking at them hoping they wud "understand" but alas, no such luck !! funny how the father allow his 2 sons to bounce around in the car esp with the mom carrying a baby and travelling at abt 110 on the NSH. You are complaining now. So is the same. Since you can tahan for the whole trip, why complain now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 the thing is, i did not even complain during the trip at all. sit ppl's car, u expect me to tell off the kid or the parents ar ?? i just kept looking at them hoping they wud "understand" but alas, no such luck !! funny how the father allow his 2 sons to bounce around in the car esp with the mom carrying a baby and travelling at abt 110 on the NSH. you look at them hope they understand, they look at you hope you understand as well. haha. must be some hungry kid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 You are complaining now. So is the same. Since you can tahan for the whole trip, why complain now? just becoz one have to bear with something does not mean he cannot complain right ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 you look at them hope they understand, they look at you hope you understand as well. haha. must be some hungry kid. best part is only when we reach the hotel and his kid go and kacheow a stranger reading newspapers, then the father go and slap the kid ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongkongwolf Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 just becoz one have to bear with something does not mean he cannot complain right ? Were you taking a lift? Then guess you'll have to bear with it and not complain. Which is what this tread is all about(IMHO). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starsaaa Neutral Newbie May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Pple will not appreciate the convenience that u are bring them. I do meet these type of pple and after that I will not ferry them home liao cause it will becomes a chore that u must do for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Were you taking a lift? Then guess you'll have to bear with it and not complain. Which is what this tread is all about(IMHO). heheh ... yar hor ... i ended up on the otehr side of the fence !! hahah ! in that case, my story is : my previous car was lowered with hardwall tires .... cornering was stable but ride = jerky ! so there was this time, i was sending my staff HOME after work ... and guess what ?? one guy said it was like sitting on a boat !! anyway, my top of the list dislike is still the slamming of the doors .... why do they do that ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff89 Neutral Newbie May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 my aunt is abit more demanding and daring.. once she step into the car.. complain air con not cold.. ask me turn up.. after tat treat my car as her's liao.. she wore slippers.. then she take out her slippers and step on the box(glove box)? between the 2 front seats..behind the handbrake.. it was my new car.. then she sit like tat... like she pay for the car like tat.. sit taxi also cannot sit like tat lo.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongkongwolf Clutched May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 heheh ... yar hor ... i ended up on the otehr side of the fence !! hahah ! in that case, my story is : my previous car was lowered with hardwall tires .... cornering was stable but ride = jerky ! so there was this time, i was sending my staff HOME after work ... and guess what ?? one guy said it was like sitting on a boat !! anyway, my top of the list dislike is still the slamming of the doors .... why do they do that ?? You should have driven him somewhere else which is far away from his place(claim getting damper checked) and tell him he got to go back by himself since the damper changing is going to take half a day look on the bright side. Slamming the door shut is better than opening and chipping off the paint on your car doors! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 I also got tis problem too... my frd living in Jurong West, I lives in Jurong East. Everytime when we gg to town, i would offer to fetch him; will sms him like "out of hse now, be at ur place ard 3pm" when i reach 10/10 times i dun see him; always hv to 'invite' him down and sure wait another 10-15mins for him.. if his wife coming, 30mins is small case liao.. nb.. LL, he is my good frd.. nowadays if my mood no good, I'll ask him to meet directly in town.. Next time dun sms, just call. Sms can get delayed. For this type, just call in advance and leave ur place 15 mins later. Pple requesting for a ride shld wait for the car, not the other way round. Unless she's ur gf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Next time dun sms, just call. Sms can get delayed. For this type, just call in advance and leave ur place 15 mins later. Pple requesting for a ride shld wait for the car, not the other way round. Unless she's ur gf The time spent waiting for girlf is always worthed waiting for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 The time spent waiting for girlf is always worthed waiting for. Cos of the end result?? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joshguu Neutral Newbie May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 hahaha this thread is super funny. One of my brothers had a super super vain girlfriend. everytime she go toilet is minimum 15mins come out the face like powder cake. longest record we've waited for her? 2 hours. under his blk. Set time to pick him n his gf up, reach liao call. Say gf not ready nvm wait awhile smoke abit 20mins pass call again still say gf not ready knn angry already so we go up his house n wait see how thick skin the gf is. guess what the gf still inside toilet bathing we stone in the living room for dunno how long until really wanna break the toilet door down even my other brother's gf also super pek chek n making noise. in the end we go back downstairs breathe some fresh air and drove off. oh ya apparently she takes 1hour showers n make up takes another hour. too bad they split up or i sure got many more stories to tell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 hahaha this thread is super funny. One of my brothers had a super super vain girlfriend. everytime she go toilet is minimum 15mins come out the face like powder cake. longest record we've waited for her? 2 hours. under his blk. Set time to pick him n his gf up, reach liao call. Say gf not ready nvm wait awhile smoke abit 20mins pass call again still say gf not ready knn angry already so we go up his house n wait see how thick skin the gf is. guess what the gf still inside toilet bathing we stone in the living room for dunno how long until really wanna break the toilet door down even my other brother's gf also super pek chek n making noise. in the end we go back downstairs breathe some fresh air and drove off. oh ya apparently she takes 1hour showers n make up takes another hour. too bad they split up or i sure got many more stories to tell Lucky they break up... the girlf friend got so much surface area to clean ah? But anyway, my own dear wife also very good at "tu".... everytime last one to be ready. Sometimes have to change her mind what to wear a few times. But nowadays improved already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 Once I fetched my wife's colleague to work. She started eating her bread in my car WTF! I have not eaten anything in my car since I bought it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longbow Neutral Newbie May 19, 2009 Share May 19, 2009 my friend stay at yew tee, i stay at batok. First 2 times we go out i offer to fetch him, 3rd time go out he call me first thing he say "What time u coming?". Then nvm, go fetch him he and his gf sit at the back seat. Macham I taxi driver... power or not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...