Ticklish8 3rd Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 NEA n MOH will give joint press statement..... should be out this evening.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 there are so many possible causes of food poisionings. can be flies, can be the worker didnt wash hands after toilets, can be spoilt ingredients, can be rats droppings i'm very careful about pre-prepared food that is left there for whole day...... but i'm very surprised for this stall tat have good business and very fast turnover in a day. normally their food shld be quite fresh coz of high turnover rate i will always to eat have-to-cook food hot stalls. those chicken rice stalls, also have to be extra careful about the stalls that dun have much business in a day. imagine the chicken hang there for whole day..... millions of baterias grown on it. eat already, sure "lao sai"...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 As I have rather weak and choosy stomach, any kind of food can give me diarrhea. But suprisingly sometimes it's the clean looking stall that give me such problem. Sometimes I do eat at some very horribly unhygienic looking stall, but still don't have any issues. Sometimes I really baffle myself. Two weeks ago, I bough rojak (the chinese type) from this stall at Edgefield Plains, and while that fella was preparing it, I could see flies hoovering over the ingredients. I was thinking, "siao liao! This time sure lao sai until paradise".... It turned out that apart from a bit of bloated feeling for a few hours, I was fine after all. My stomach is a very strange creature... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 there was once i walked a hawker stall that sells dessert or rojak... cant remember liao... but i know its those pre-cooked stall. i really wanted to eat whatever the stall was selling. Then i saw the auntie stall owner sitting in front of the stall, and before i open my mouth to order the food, i saw her digging her ear with her finger. The auntie still con't to dig and at the same time ask me what i wanted.... i looked at her and told myself" "she's gonna to prepare the food after she dig her ear. and the food doesnt need to be cooked at all. and i'm gonna to eat her ear "sai"." Forget it. i just walked away........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 even if dirty bacteria or even s--t.. i dont think it is enough to kill a person. somemore the report say the stall been around 20 years and long queues everytime seems more likely a case of sabotage by jealous rivals?? Possibility Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 fishy.... for dozens to fall sick from a rojak stall, the poison must have contaminated a whole batch. a fly-borne bacteria would probably infect a single potato etc unless something dropped into the gravy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Rojak - Latest One women dead, one women in coma, one women miscarriage..... ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 That would qualify as a good call. Can never be too careful nowadays. Especially so where there are lots of FT around in this line, where basic food hygiene is not vigorously enforced where they come from. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 sounds like this is gonna be a big case now that someone has died.... so sad... i'm sure the stall owner now must be overwhelmed by guilt and fear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 I think the stall cannot remain profitable at the same location liao. Shift to other hawker center, rename it to Power Rojak. Register it under different owner. No one will be the wiser. Quite serious to have someone coma and pass away. I saw many Ah-peh stall owners, just SPRAY the entire can of insecticide inside their stall after they have washed up and packed up for the day! Don't say hawker center...Singapore food court also got rats stucked under the staineless steel cabinets and also baby rats falling from the false ceilings.......I think the entire safety and clealiness monitoring system is failing in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugts Neutral Newbie April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 most likely kanna sabotage... 20 over years of good business.. lots of ppl red eye.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roborovskii 4th Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 I won't be surprised if this case is about a worker who went to toilet, didn't wash his hands properly and transferred some sh1t from his fingers to the cucumbers and then stirred it into the rojak. I don't think this case is related to hygiene reasons. Usually hygiene problems would result only in at most a few isolated cases. This one is on a mass poisoning scale... prolly the sauce or something was tainted or sabotaged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 (edited) most likely kanna sabotage... 20 over years of good business.. lots of ppl red eye.. Sabotage is a possible reason for the mass food poisoning. On the other hand, the stall workers may be the responsible agents. At indian rojak stalls, it is normal to see the food handlers wearing transparent plastic hand gloves to handle the food as well as to collect money. I think they wear the gloves to keep their hands clean and not to keep the food clean. I wonder if the gloves are changed everyday or only when they get worn out or torn or become smelly. Dirty contaminated gloves may be the cause of the mass poisoning........... Edited April 6, 2009 by Dipstick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Wow... the number is piling up Now 2 dead, 1 coma, i miscarriage... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear April 6, 2009 Author Share April 6, 2009 I don't think this case is related to hygiene reasons. Usually hygiene problems would result only in at most a few isolated cases. This one is on a mass poisoning scale... prolly the sauce or something was tainted or sabotaged. Your suspicion is correct. Latest report: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../420416/1/.html Extract: While eating, the housewife noticed that the gravy tasted slightly off. She fell ill hours later and was sent to KK Hospital that evening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 many times, the dirtier the place, the more delicious the food is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edix73 Neutral Newbie April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Wow... the number is piling up Now 2 dead, 1 coma, i miscarriage... thought only 1 died? how come it's 2 now?? this is terrible! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 6, 2009 Share April 6, 2009 Meanwhile, a 38-year-old woman miscarried after contracting food poisoning from eating rojak from the same stall. Rosiah Samat lost her two-month old foetus over the weekend. 2 if consider foetus? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...