Where's the humanity in this person?

Nutsack

I blame SPCA for this.

They are clearly incompetent enough to let all those stray cats breed and run around the estate harassing innocent residents who are then forced to take matters in their own hands. This should be a wake up call to SPCA to step up their catching and putting down of strays in the CCK.

think i worry more bout the kids. imagine if they see the carcass. it's too traumatic. sad to say, with every push of the boundary the culprit will jus get bolder and more bizzare with every killing.

1st a helpless kitten. then no more kicks. then a dog. no more kicks. then....the moment the guy desensitizes himself and finds kicks n pleasures, he's bound to feed on the highs and keep going at it. i hope he keep doing it so tat he gets caught. at least the ones b4 him doesnt die in vain.

I blame SPCA for this.

They are clearly incompetent enough to let all those stray cats breed and run around the estate harassing innocent residents who are then forced to take matters in their own hands. This should be a wake up call to SPCA to step up their catching and putting down of strays in the CCK.

"Forced to take matters in their own hands"? Clearly from the pics you can see that it is not a simple killing but a cruel act to skin the kitten and then remove all the flesh. I ask you. If you don't like rats and you happen to trap one, would you skin it, remove the flesh and throw it out into the open for all to see?

And how is SPCA to blame for this? Their primary role is to educate the public about cruelty to animals and with their limited resources (they get by on donations from the public), they can only do so much to rehome stray animals. If you have been to the SPCA, you will see they really have their hands full.

Luckily, there are some volunteer groups such as Cat Welfare Society and ASD whose unpaid volunteers will help to round up stray cats and dogs and neuter them, thereby effectively controlling the population. Neutering has been confirmed in many overseas studies that it works better than culling which you advocate as new strays will move in to fill up the vacuum left by those which had left.

Unfortunately, these organisations do not have enough resources to house them in an area and as such, these strays are released back to their original location after the neutering and there are also volunteers and animal loving citizens who will feed them daily so that they would not have to scavenge for food which may make a mess of the living environment. Well fed strays tend to be healthier and thus, reduce the risk of any contamination, if any. The stray cat living at your void deck is probably cleaner than a lot of SIngaporeans as cats are known to be fastidious cleaners. They lick clean their fur much of their waking hours.

I would like to pose you a question: There are some rowdy kids screaming and running every day at your corridor. You find them a nuisance. Would you call Town Coucil/HDB/relevant authorities to get them to "step up their catching and putting down" these kids?

A life is a life. If an animal is not meant for food, then there should not be a killing. If that animal is not sick nor does it spread any disease, then it should be allowed to live its life.

Or do you prefer that CCK and perhaps the whole of Singapore should just consist of humans and concrete buildings, with no space at all for a few stray cats and dogs?

I blame SPCA for this.

then SPCA should really look into Geylang.. heaps of stray cats around.. and the worst part is some people just kept on feeding them.. not 1 or 2 but 10s of them... remember one auntie self-declared herself as their mummy.. [shakehead] if she really love animals then please bring them home and take care of them domestically..

have these animal lovers thought that they have broken the chain of life by feeding them daily.. most cats just lack their natural instinct to hunt rats or something.. [rolleyes]

then SPCA should really look into Geylang.. heaps of stray cats around.. and the worst part is some people just kept on feeding them.. not 1 or 2 but 10s of them... remember one auntie self-declared herself as their mummy.. [shakehead] if she really love animals then please bring them home and take care of them domestically..

There is only so many cats a house can keep due to space constraints etc.

If she is a responsible feeder, then kudos to her. Responsible feeder = food on plates/paper etc + water + clearing up straight after they have finished so that there will be no leftover food on the streets.

Community cats are here to stay in this world. In that case, would you rather well fed cats in your environment or them having to savenge the rubbish bins for food?

You may not be an animal lover but all you need to do is to tolerate their existence in this world, esp when they do not cross your path. Just like I do not like rowdy, loud and ill disciplined kids. I tolerate them when our paths cross.

have these animal lovers thought that they have broken the chain of life by feeding them daily.. most cats just lack their natural instinct to hunt rats or something.. [rolleyes]

That's where you would be mistaken. Cats do not lose their ability to hunt. It's in their DNA. A well fed cat hunts better than a poorly fed one. Cats do not always hunt for food. They hunt often for pleasure. They have evolve over many years to be efficient hunters.

There was a study done in the UK some years ago and there was this well fed house cat which hunted more than a few birds/rodents/lizards daily, for every day of the year.

There is only so many cats a house can keep due to space constraints etc.

If she is a responsible feeder, then kudos to her. Responsible feeder = food on plates/paper etc + water + clearing up straight after they have finished so that there will be no leftover food on the streets.

Community cats are here to stay in this world. In that case, would you rather well fed cats in your environment or them having to savenge the rubbish bins for food?

You may not be an animal lover but all you need to do is to tolerate their existence in this world, esp when they do not cross your path. Just like I do not like rowdy, loud and ill disciplined kids. I tolerate them when our paths cross.

that's if she's a responsible feeder.. the problem is also food is normally not clear thus leaving there to be eating by other animals i.e. rats, etc... brings in another problem.. [sweatdrop]

sorry i'm an animal lover but i won't want to worsen the whole environment due to my love for animals..

That's where you would be mistaken. Cats do not lose their ability to hunt. It's in their DNA. A well fed cat hunts better than a poorly fed one. Cats do not always hunt for food. They hunt often for pleasure. They have evolve over many years to be efficient hunters.

There was a study done in the UK some years ago and there was this well fed house cat which hunted more than a few birds/rodents/lizards daily, for every day of the year.

then i do hope the cats in my area do hunt more! but i do feel that they are being hunt by those big rats near my office.. [sweatdrop]

that's if she's a responsible feeder.. the problem is also food is normally not clear thus leaving there to be eating by other animals i.e. rats, etc... brings in another problem.. [sweatdrop]

sorry i'm an animal lover but i won't want to worsen the whole environment due to my love for animals..

Then maybe you can assist to educate her? I have told off some people who do not feed responsibly that their intended kind actions actually dirty the environment and make it even more difficult for responsible feeders to continue their daily feeding of the community cats. I don't see those people feeding irresponsiblt anymore.

I have contacted CWS for a Responsible Feeding pamphelt. Will post in here when I receive it.

then i do hope the cats in my area do hunt more! but i do feel that they are being hunt by those big rats near my office.. [sweatdrop]

The rats bred because the residents in your office area prob do not keep their environment clean eg keeping the dustbin lids on. Maybe can contact the ENV about this rodent problem?

You will seldom see cats hunting in the day because they spend that time sleeping. But at night, they are a different creature altogether.

Is that your line of argument?

Annoying cats = ill disciplined children?

You win. I let you win.

Maybe can contact the ENV about this rodent problem?

No, please don't do that. You must tolerate the rats! We share the earth with them! Rats, cats and humans with misbehaving children as one big happy family.

I have put across my position in a logical manner but you choose to interpret it differently. I see no point having a sensible discussion with you.

Btw, rodents are known to spread diseases. Cats, so far, no. Ill disciplined children, so far, no too. Therefore, is my suggestion of getting the ENV to come control the rodent problem in bro Comfy's office area flawed?

I blame SPCA for this.

that is the job of AVA leh... not SPCA lah.

I will have to quote that website.

1. "Some cat-related diseases that make people sick are common, such as cat scratch disease (or cat scratch fever), and others such as plague (play-g), are rare." It is already stated as rare. Surely all mammals, reptiles, living things are susceptible to ill health and may in some cases, spread the disease inter/intra species.

2. "Toxoplasmosis (TOX-o-plaz-MO-sis) is a disease that can come from cats, but people are more likely to get it from eating raw meat or from gardening." You are infected with toxoplasmosis if you touch their faeces with your bare hands. And for your info, the cat is purely a carrier of the toxo carrier. This bacteria is in the raw food which it consumes so if the cat does not consume raw food, then the incidence of toxo will be nil. It is also stated in the quote that humans are more likely to get toxo from eating raw food or from gardening. And fyi, toxo does not affect a healthly person. But pregnant ladies have to be more aware as it may impact the unborn child. As such, don't doctors tell pregnant ladies not to consume raw food like sashimi?

3. "Cats can also carry rabies, a deadly viral disease." Cats and dogs in Singapore have been rabies free for many years.

And for the remaining list in that list, have you found out if these diseases can be spread inter species and also if cats are the only animals spreading such diseases? I see from the list that these diseases are also haboured by other animals including dogs. So if you exercise a certain amount of common sense about general hygiene which we should all practise anyway, then perhaps your case will be a little stronger.

Anyway, the purpose of this thread by the TS is to highlight the fact that some helpless animals are abused in a certain part of Singapore. So perhaps we can all assist to keep a lookout for this person before he further perpetuate his crime by killing and perhaps torturing more defenseless cats and hopefully before he turn worse to target small kids.

Regards.

Then maybe you can assist to educate her? I have told off some people who do not feed responsibly that their intended kind actions actually dirty the environment and make it even more difficult for responsible feeders to continue their daily feeding of the community cats. I don't see those people feeding irresponsiblt anymore.

I have contacted CWS for a Responsible Feeding pamphelt. Will post in here when I receive it.

actually i have went over to the 'mummy' before.. she's rather against whatever i said.. after barely 5 mins, a uncle in a cab came over and scold me.. calling me a beast, no loving care for animals, etc.. unpleasant experience i would say.. [rolleyes]