Warning to all car owners

Vextan

A close relative of mine, he owns a 1 year 1 month old Honda Civic Type R. After renewing his insurance with a new insurance company for one month, just very recently, he woke up to find his car gone from the open air HDB car park. Yes, gone like that. It was later confirmed that the car was sotlen and driven to malaysia, as he had left a credit card in his car, and the credit card company called him to say that someone tried to max out his card but exceeded the limit.

Till today, he has no news of the car. Now he has to continue to pay instalment, and owing to his job's demand, he has to rent/buy another car. Goodness me, this can happen to anyone ! What shocks me is that as car owners, there is really very little we can do to thwart such theft if and when ours is being targeted. I would like to listen to suggestions on how can this be prevented, or how can the car be ever retrieved back ?

A close relative of mine, he owns a 1 year 1 month old Honda Civic Type R. After renewing his insurance with a new insurance company for one month, just very recently, he woke up to find his car gone from the open air HDB car park. Yes, gone like that. It was later confirmed that the car was sotlen and driven to malaysia, as he had left a credit card in his car, and the credit card company called him to say that someone tried to max out his card but exceeded the limit.

Till today, he has no news of the car. Now he has to continue to pay instalment, and owing to his job's demand, he has to rent/buy another car. Goodness me, this can happen to anyone ! What shocks me is that as car owners, there is really very little we can do to thwart such theft if and when ours is being targeted. I would like to listen to suggestions on how can this be prevented, or how can the car be ever retrieved back ?

I feel the pain of your relative. More likely than not, the car could be on it's way to Indonesia. Retrieving the car is gonna be very difficult. If it's stolen, can't your relative claim from the insurance company?

Basically, u cannot prevent theft. However, u could make d thief harder to steal. There is no way to retrieve d ka. The only thing can b done is to negotiate wif insurance co to speed up the payment.

this is damm suay.....

1 yr and 1 month old? if the car has been stolen when the car is still within 1 year old, yr relative can get one for one replacement in case of theft........

Edited by Donut

problem is, he just changed to another insurance company for one month only, and now the car lost, donno will they pay or not.. this is a real case hor, myself am shocked and worried also after hearing about it.

some of the repo yards in SG has contacts in Malaysia......

By right...the insurance cover should pay the loss...as comprehensive is suppose to... [confused]

so has he claimed already after making police report???

he reported police, and also insurance company asked him to go idac to make a report. funny, why idac ? anyway, i guess insurance may pay at most market rate, which he will definately make a big lost after 1 year of ownership. he bought at 97k, with an upfront dp of 20k .

yr relative is in deep sh*t now..... bought at 97K? his loan is 79k?

insurance may just pay market value, which is definitely alot lesser.

tell him to work with those repo workshops to sniff out the car. they have alot of 'lobangs'. Police is useless.

problem is, he just changed to another insurance company for one month only, and now the car lost, donno will they pay or not.. this is a real case hor, myself am shocked and worried also after hearing about it.

hmm... i think the insurance company definitely has to pay, regardless of one day or 11 months...

as for market value way below the purchase price, that one no choice lah... cos cars depreciate the fastest in the first year or so...

but at least can get back money...

little chance is better than no chance.

will not lose anything trying.....

the more u sit here chatting in this forum, than telling yr relative to start working with the repo ppl, the lesser chance he will get his car back.

this is like a kidnap case. time is essential. the longer you dun find yr car, the more chance you will definitely lose the car.

Felt sorry for your relative.

Wonder how the insurance payment will be like for such case. His next car insurance will be damn super high I guess.

hmm... i think the insurance company definitely has to pay, regardless of one day or 11 months...

as for market value way below the purchase price, that one no choice lah... cos cars depreciate the fastest in the first year or so...

but at least can get back money...

there should be no doubt the insurance company will eventually pay up the market rate, but the question is when ? cos he still has to continue to pay the monthly instalment until the closure. i read somewhere that LTA has allow scrapping of a lost car only after three months from report of lost, so fastest also have to wait for three months at least.

i feel very angry that car thieves can go about this so freely without much deterance. goodness me.

Since this can happen to anyone with any car, I recommend those with COE of $2 to invest some of the money you've saved from the "packet-of-chicken-rice" COE to buy a steering wheel lock! Hahahaha.. Who knows one day your car might disappear too and you'll have no paper value to cover the car body losses!

Suggest to LTA or Immigration, that Singapore 's car cross boarder needs to apply for permit or carry some form of passport, so that owner will know that his car is going outside of SIngapore. I know is a step backward but I think it is the only way.

Think about it, maybe can work. If we can ban someone from going to a casino in SIngapore , we sure can ban a car going out of SIngapore.