Mandrew 1st Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 only thru touch screen on HU/phone. shop say most other aftermarket sets also the same. Yes, I also tried a few experts and all saying the same (limitation due to Bluetooth control or.... ) So have to set that button to some other feature.... Actually that phone pickup control was very useful to connect and disconnect the phone .... also to redial the last number Anyway, it's only one of the feature you've to forego when you gain lot of other features.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boleh Neutral Newbie August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Actually is it good for the eyes if we watch a show (eg movie) while on the move? Not good to watch too long...bad for eyes and neck, will get headache. I limit the video to abt 1/2hr to max 45mins. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mandrew 1st Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Bro, I do not notice such an issue... think it's best you send it to SC for servicing. Btw, does your audio head unit auto reset? (i.e. all the programming lost and have to set up all the stations again..) Just checked with the SC. They are saying it is a safety feature in CFE whereby it will cutoff when rpm is above 3000 when idle (Parking or Nuetral). So they don't want the drivers to floor it until the meter goes to red line... I was also enquiring with them regarding the Auto Cooler which triggers in after the vehicle is Off. I noticed that sometimes it will not trigger the Auto cooler so enquired SC to see whether its a problem or not. According to them, the Auto Cooler trigers On only when the temperature is higher than 86degree. That means, the Cooler will not start, if the engine temp is not going higher than this. And once it is above 100degree, the Cooler mode goes to the 2nd level whereby you will be hearing louder sound of the Fan running. Just for sharing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mandrew 1st Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Wow! What kind of anti-thef car lock can cost RM350? Do you install it DIY or need a WS to do it? I also fitted one named "Locktact" usually known as the Brake lock (comes with 2 to 3 yrs warranty). This is not so easy to fit as it needs to be connected to the Start Switch to do the cut off so to be installed at WS. It comes in 2 types, with Single Lock and Double lock. I also paid around RM300 to get a double lock unit installed. Once locked, you cannot press the Brake pedal and cannot start the Car. But as others were commenting, nowadays, Car theives knows to unlock all these devices... Only thing we can do is to increase their turn around time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 (edited) Some years ago in 1996 (i think, cant remember 1996-1998 one of the years) :P when I was still a kid havent got licence, actually i saw with my own eyes, the thieves load the car at the back of a big truck and drive off... it was a Merc 200E back in those days its cost SGD198k (for brand new in those days), i remember clearly cos that merc was parked two cars away from ours so our family we had to be extra careful and watch out in case people took our car.. the thieves, there were 3 of them... one of the guy came with his wife and say s--t i lost the key and they pretend to frantically search for a key, then after that they took out their Ericsson 337 and called for help, then a truck came with a crane behind, carry the car and then the couple board the truck and drive off... this was in JB itself where there were many foodstalls, today i dunno exactly where it is can't seem to find it anymore.... so later we were going to go home, as we going into our car we saw a family walking back looking for their car, when they reach the spot of the merc they were very stressed cos that lot was replaced by a Singapore Honda Civic Esi... and they were like eh where is our car, they walked up and down, later a few singaporean ask them what happen, they say they parked their merc somewhere but cannot find, so we told them what happen, lucky the merc owner sister (a johorian) was also there with her family, then they all load themselves into the msian 7 seater and went off to make a police report... now that i go msia often, my mechanic told me that towing cars away and loading them behind a truck is normal... thats why alot of msian park head in, and they dun straighten the wheel... cos when they tow, they will pick up the front two wheels of the car, so best is to head in, but of cos got some tow trucks and pick up 4 wheels as well..... sigh.... yup anti theft helps to slow down the thief Edited August 13, 2012 by Meganut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boleh Neutral Newbie August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Do not worry about the auto cooler, just leave it to the car to decide when to turn on or off. Most of the turbo cars (newer models) have this function. My previous Legacy do not have it so I rely on a turbo timer. But my Evo X has it. After a long drive it might not turn on (because car is moving and constantly cooled), but after a short drive (eg from home to nearby petrol kiosk and back), it might turn on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 I also fitted one named "Locktact" usually known as the Brake lock (comes with 2 to 3 yrs warranty). This is not so easy to fit as it needs to be connected to the Start Switch to do the cut off so to be installed at WS. It comes in 2 types, with Single Lock and Double lock. I also paid around RM300 to get a double lock unit installed. Once locked, you cannot press the Brake pedal and cannot start the Car. But as others were commenting, nowadays, Car theives knows to unlock all these devices... Only thing we can do is to increase their turn around time yeah my old wira has it.... its near the gear where we put a key to lock the car after we pull handbrake when we park... the locktact is abit more high tech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mandrew 1st Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Bro, nice! Can you send me the address of this shop? I usually make 2 trips to Melaka annually so thought maybe i can drop by during one of these trips to change my head unit to a touch screen one... Oh, does the control on the steering wheels still work with the new HU? Just a sharing.... The Orginal roof DVD player is a stand alone player and it is just using the FM receiver for the audio. So playing the same movie in both the Monitors, is not possible when you install a new HU together with the Orginal roof DVD player. So ask the WS to run an additional cable from the HU (RCA Video out) to the Roof DVD player which you can connect to the Aux in the DVD player (using a Stereo pin type) . By doing this, you will have the choice to watch the same movie in both players or different (by using headphones to the roof unit). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 actually for smaller cars you might want to buy portable dvd player instead of mounting it to your car due to the smaller space, can be uncomfortable to watch from back seat, its like in cinema sitting first row.... the benefits of the portable dvd players are quite good, some of them comes with a hanging case which you can hang it at the back seat and the kid or passenger behind can watch the show, then you can take it down at the makan place esp if you have a difficult to handle kid the portable player can useful in making kids keep quiet... like if you drive to malacca after reaching the place, you can take the dvd up to your room and can continue to enjoy the benefits of having a dvd player in your room and watch some movies on the tv etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 Just a sharing.... The Orginal roof DVD player is a stand alone player and it is just using the FM receiver for the audio. So playing the same movie in both the Monitors, is not possible when you install a new HU together with the Orginal roof DVD player. So ask the WS to run an additional cable from the HU (RCA Video out) to the Roof DVD player which you can connect to the Aux in the DVD player (using a Stereo pin type) . By doing this, you will have the choice to watch the same movie in both players or different (by using headphones to the roof unit). Cool... thanks for the info... didnt know about it.... may change the myvi to a Exora next year... in msia of cos hahaha see how.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 actually for smaller cars you might want to buy portable dvd player instead of mounting it to your car due to the smaller space, can be uncomfortable to watch from back seat, its like in cinema sitting first row.... the benefits of the portable dvd players are quite good, some of them comes with a hanging case which you can hang it at the back seat and the kid or passenger behind can watch the show, then you can take it down at the makan place esp if you have a difficult to handle kid the portable player can useful in making kids keep quiet... like if you drive to malacca after reaching the place, you can take the dvd up to your room and can continue to enjoy the benefits of having a dvd player in your room and watch some movies on the tv etc Thanks but no thanks! I prefer not to have any such screen inside the car. I feel its bad for the eyes (IMO). Instead, I encourage my children to look out the window and enjoy the scenery, while on a long journey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoofRider Neutral Newbie August 13, 2012 Share August 13, 2012 DRC audio & tinted. Look for the boss Philip Phua 017-6262919 nice guy! No.18, Jalan PB 1A, Taman Puncak Bertam malim, 75260 Melaka.Tel:06-3342545 He quoted me exora complete body kit with spray paint & fitting RM850. Bro, do they do customise or slight modification of bodykit? i'm looking still for a workshop in JB that can do modification of front bumper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noirmubin Clutched August 14, 2012 Share August 14, 2012 Ok..done my 50k servicing at Larkin service centre. heres the breakdown:- power steerung flush - 29.50 P/steering fluid & condi - 72.00 Anti Bac system - 19.90 Engine + chamois # ray - 48.00 Petronas Syntium 800 SM 10/40 - 112.00 Spark Plug Campro - 38.00 Screen wash - 5.71 Oil filter campro eng - 12.22 Workshop supplies / sundri - 1.07 Perform Labour of 50000km service 116.60 total = 455.00 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Bro, do they do customise or slight modification of bodykit? i'm looking still for a workshop in JB that can do modification of front bumper. Bro, can give them a call.... usually they just do installation works only in any case, the front bumper will have to come off for the job. how long it will take is another question? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 congrat bro!! your kids will love you more! heheh the kids are less restless now esp. on long trips.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Ok..done my 50k servicing at Larkin service centre. heres the breakdown:- power steerung flush - 29.50 P/steering fluid & condi - 72.00 Anti Bac system - 19.90 Engine + chamois # ray - 48.00 Petronas Syntium 800 SM 10/40 - 112.00 Spark Plug Campro - 38.00 Screen wash - 5.71 Oil filter campro eng - 12.22 Workshop supplies / sundri - 1.07 Perform Labour of 50000km service 116.60 total = 455.00 Good deal leh, only RM455! Btw, why not you put in the Syntium 1000 fully syn engine oil? Its only another RM80 more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nasiroo25 Neutral Newbie August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 posting after a long time, been busy, yet to install dvd player and stuff, mine just reached 10.5k mileage, must send for servicing already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noirmubin Clutched August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Good deal leh, only RM455! Btw, why not you put in the Syntium 1000 fully syn engine oil? Its only another RM80 more.. Yep based on the exchange rate, the amount is sgd182.00. Was thinking about the 1000syn but decided not to ask. Maybe next servicing. This time round they put in engine oil treatment before the engine oil. Pick up seems to be more responsive but could be my imagination though ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...