Kurty Supercharged May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 Hi, notice there isn't any much info on GPS over here, wish to seek some advise on getting one as this week, suntech is having the comex 2009. Well, what is the things to look out for when comes to buying a GPS? some say get reputable makes like holux or garmin, while others, say any donkey brands. the important thing is the update of maps from SLA & mapking. Since i'm a street idiot, a GPS definitely do me good. I hope to have a voice navigation plus mp3 input ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongkongwolf Clutched May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 Where's the car part? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 Hi, notice there isn't any much info on GPS over here, wish to seek some advise on getting one as this week, suntech is having the comex 2009. Well, what is the things to look out for when comes to buying a GPS? some say get reputable makes like holux or garmin, while others, say any donkey brands. the important thing is the update of maps from SLA & mapking. Since i'm a street idiot, a GPS definitely do me good. I hope to have a voice navigation plus mp3 input the map software is important. currently mapking offers free updates. i know TIBO map updates not free. regardless of which brand you buy, take the map update cost into consideration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soho 4th Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 eh bro.. go search navcom i think .. dealer for garmin.. last week went to buy $299 for garmin 205W.. v cheap... its at payaubi... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 depends on the maps... although it will get u to the desination successful, but sometimes, cannot depend 100% on it. the device tends to guide u one big round to ur desination....this is what i have experienced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hensony Clutched May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 Last Sunday, I was at Suntech where Licence2Play was still on. Audio House was selling various models of Shinco's GPS. The cheapest one was $199. Unbelievable. Was tempted to get one, but I hesitated as Shinco's forte was not into GPS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 eh bro.. go search navcom i think .. dealer for garmin.. last week went to buy $299 for garmin 205W.. v cheap... its at payaubi... Yes, Navicom is having a promo on 205W at @ $299, very good deal. It do not come with any SD card which you can get from SLS, especially Best Bargain, a 2GB at less then $9.00 I told my bro-in-law to get one as he drives a taxi on a part time basis, sometimes some roads or building he not familiar and this is a good one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyweng Clutched May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 came across this when i was researching for a GPS, with reference to S'pore context: http://asia.cnet.com/cartech/0,3800004381,62029537-3,00.htm in the end, settled for Garmin Nuvi 205, uses the Malsing maps, which is updated quite regularly (most impt - FREE) no MP3, but gets you from point A to B Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 i got mine, Garmin 255W at holland Village, Parisilk.... at $399, plus free wall mounted charger and leather case but without SD card. You should be able to get similar deals there...best to shop around They sell the local SG version For upcoming PC shows, if E@st xx@r is having a booth there, they should be selling the US version. If u wanna get the sets from them, its more cheap to get it online thru amazon... have it shipped here thru singpost or borderlinx... Definately it will be cheaper... depends on what u prefer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 28, 2009 Author Share May 28, 2009 thanks, but correct me if i am wrong. 205W does not come with voice navigation, which i would prefer. at least my eyes would be focus on the road. Saw the shinco model @ $199, totally cannot make it. a flop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyweng Clutched May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 ... this week, suntech is having the comex 2009 eh .... Comex 2009 in Sept leh, dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyweng Clutched May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 thanks, but correct me if i am wrong. 205W does not come with voice navigation, which i would prefer. at least my eyes would be focus on the road. it does i'm using 205 (the difference with 205W is that 205W has wider screen) see specs here: https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=134&pID=13432 my experience with using 205 is that cannot just rely on the voice - need to glance at the screen occasionally as the voice not always accurate, e.g. it says "keep left", but in fact, should be "turn left" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 Hi, notice there isn't any much info on GPS over here, There are tons of it here. Did you do a search? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alienbat 1st Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 the next PC show is in 11-14 jun.......so dun need to wait till sept....most prob eastgear will set up a booth there.... eastgear sells the US version, i juz got my nuvi 255W at 399.....now they offer SLA malfreemaps w all the locations....they oso give u the jerome wee maps, not as detailed as the SLA Malfreemaps......both r free......it is very detailed..... but the official local version has junction view on nuvi 255w, but the maps are malsing maps....equally good...... i tink 205w shd be an EOL model......thus selling cheap......if it is otherwise, i apologise upfront.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 28, 2009 Author Share May 28, 2009 eh .... Comex 2009 in Sept leh, dude There are tons of it here. Did you do a search? sorry, my bad.. the next PC show is in 11-14 jun.......so dun need to wait till sept....most prob eastgear will set up a booth there.... hey, thanks! was about to buy from oversea, better buy at pc show. thanks a lot!!! i shall stick to garmin since everyone owns it. better play safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 thanks, but correct me if i am wrong. 205W does not come with voice navigation, which i would prefer. at least my eyes would be focus on the road. Saw the shinco model @ $199, totally cannot make it. a flop 205w do comes with voice to tell you to turn in the next 600m. The only diff between the 255W and 205W is the street name to voice feature. However, as the set is make for overseas. it will not be able to pronounce all the "Malay & Chinese" street names correctly/properly, eg.. Tanjong, Ulu, Chai Chee...etc.. It's been discuss widely in MalSing forums, that's why I go for the 205w, which will still tell you to turn left, turn right at XXXm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 28, 2009 Share May 28, 2009 it does i'm using 205 (the difference with 205W is that 205W has wider screen) see specs here: https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=134&pID=13432 my experience with using 205 is that cannot just rely on the voice - need to glance at the screen occasionally as the voice not always accurate, e.g. it says "keep left", but in fact, should be "turn left" it is normally keep left turn follow by turn left, so cannot drive too fast the reason I did not go for 205 is that it do not have "QWERTY" keyboard format, 205W has it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged May 28, 2009 Author Share May 28, 2009 actually writing after this, i called up e@stge@r on 205W. they only left a unit, going at $299, they admit that they are not going to bring in anymore 205w. Anyway, i'm not in rush, rather wait until pc show then buy. better deal. 205W for me!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...