Picanto 3rd Gear June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Richard Hu, the former finance minister has stepped down. Tony Tan is in charge. wonder whether it has anything to do with the investment loss recently?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacrv Neutral Newbie June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 to make it looks like some heads hav to roll? Richard Hu, the former finance minister has stepped down. Tony Tan is in charge. wonder whether it has anything to do with the investment loss recently?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 then u'll see richard hu taking a sabbatical before assuming a higher post. as usual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 18, 2009 Author Share June 18, 2009 to make it looks like some heads hav to roll? dun know whether heads will roll. but i think the mangement change is to prevent GIC from incurring heavy losses in the future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacrv Neutral Newbie June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 (edited) hm.. best prevention = don invest.. if wanna invest, use surpluses, should leave the reserves for needies.. maybe they did.. too difficult for me to understand dun know whether heads will roll. but i think the mangement change is to prevent GIC from incurring heavy losses in the future. Edited June 18, 2009 by Hondacrv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 Richard Hu, the former finance minister has stepped down. Tony Tan is in charge. wonder whether it has anything to do with the investment loss recently?? Nope. Nothing to do with the investment loss. Richard Hu is very very old already. Tony Tan is less old. As for the investment losses, nothing much is done to pin the blame down to any partciular person, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched June 18, 2009 Share June 18, 2009 dun know whether heads will roll. but i think the mangement change is to prevent GIC from incurring heavy losses in the future. Losses will happen regardless of management changes. There is no such thing as a management team that is screw-up proof. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Losses will happen regardless of management changes. There is no such thing as a management team that is screw-up proof. Yup...no matter who's on top it's always Ah Gong's decision, the oldest and used to be the wisiest one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Yup...no matter who's on top it's always Ah Gong's decision, the oldest and used to be the wisiest one... Yup he is still the big boss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canceria 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 (edited) hm.. best prevention = don invest.. if wanna invest, use surpluses, should leave the reserves for needies.. maybe they did.. too difficult for me to understand Actually i think there is nothing wrong with investing the country's money, but they should be more transparent with it (make $ announce proudly, lost $ kept quiet until busted by media). After all, we are the 'shareholders'. The country will not grow and prosper if we just rely on savings. But i still dislike the lightning for the way they pass the stress to the peasants. Edited June 19, 2009 by Canceria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Losses will happen regardless of management changes. There is no such thing as a management team that is screw-up proof. Agree. U r one of the rare few who can see this truth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Actually i think there is nothing wrong with investing the country's money, but they should be more transparent with it (make $ announce proudly, lost $ kept quiet until busted by media). After all, we are the 'shareholders'. The country will not grow and prosper if we just rely on savings. But i still dislike the lightning for the way they pass the stress to the peasants. I strongly agree on the transparency part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 Richard Hu, the former finance minister has stepped down. Tony Tan is in charge. wonder whether it has anything to do with the investment loss recently?? Richard Hu is very old liao brudder. He was born in 1926 so that makes him like 83 this year! You want the poor dude to continue working till he gets paid a visit by Singapore Casket or Ang Chin Moh issit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 I strongly agree on the transparency part. Transparency?...plastics got a few types leh....2 of the most obvious types are....clear plastic and opaque plastic! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 I strongly agree on the transparency part. They are v transparent u dun know meh? only selected fews can see what we normal ppl cant see. That is what they call transparency Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 In a way, the stock market was down ~50% across the board..... Warren Buffet, the god of stocks also lost more than 10 Billion (and still manage to be the 2nd richest man in the world).. God also make losses, other ppl lose money also not a suprise right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 God needs $$$ one meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 19, 2009 Share June 19, 2009 His 10 billion like our $10 spare change.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...