Yr1985 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 Ya, was damn scared at first, but further reading reveal those are not certified safe tank, local ones have no weilding joints whatsoever, which is why one of sg car tank kana stolen in JB. Tank alone cost around 900 SGD. The statement about not having engine running when stationary is b-------t though. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 hydrogen cars have the same problem.... a lot of energy is needed to extract hydrogen from fossil fuels. extraction of large volume through chemcial and biological reactions not developed yet. so in sg in the end its the same thing as fuel for the extraction will be natural gas or fuel oil, end up H2 price pegged to oil price Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 but diesel up till now still doesn't feel as refined as the petrol alternative...even if you bought a BMW or Merc diesel...you can still feel the vibrations at traffic stops and hear the engine clatter...quite noticably... those who can afford luxury cars usually can manage the running costs. so petrol is not much of an issue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 Then can get the CNG enabled car...... for the rebate..... then remove the gas tank and continue using petrol? no. illegal leh. like cheating LTA but nobody force u to use cng even if u have a tank there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doosan 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 oooop........never know bio diesel oredi common amongst diesel vehicles here bro, thank you for highlighting me, new lesson learnt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 best. for diesel vehicles, use SVO.. put direct veggie old into the tank. some pple use the used vegetable oil, filter it then put into the tank. that one is best lor! hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 What is there to BOAST??? That we can't afford petrol, that we want to go green??? What is there to MALU??? Grow up! u dun read newspaper meh...u spend too much time in forums liao...if i am not wrong, past newspaper did cover a story and interviews with those owners who own CNG cars....look at their smart alec face and their draggy booth when the car moves, no pt pumping more air to compensate the heavy weight.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 just to be realistic. in singapore, the one that fork out $$$ to install CNG may not be able to get back the cost. but end up spending more, judging from the small place in singapore and the different in price from CNG to the petrol, diesel here. but then, ppl already installed the CNG liao what can they do? pouring oil onto fire will not help them either. if they "feel good" about it, then just let them lah. psychological satisfaction is still better than nothing right? of course, ppl will get smart and may not jump to anything next time, rebate for me is nothing at all but certain gimmick to get ppl into the stuff only. if a person feel the pinch just because the petrol price increase so that the petrol bill per month increase from 300+ to 400+, he/she should seriously look into whether he/she is able to afford to drive in singapore or not, rather than look into ways to try to lower the monthly bill by forking out some more saving and end up losing more $$. this CNG thing just show us how certain group of ppl in singapore trying whatever way to save $$. of course, i am refering to the majority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 The CNG station still 'HOT'? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear July 21, 2009 Share July 21, 2009 Hi bros,Been driving Isis CNG for the past yr.I satisfied with the car.I save abt $600 per mth using gas..FYI Do you drive more than 350km a day? According to this payback calculator: http://www.cng.com.sg/benefits.html If the cost of RON95 petrol is $1.60 nett after discounts, you need to do 127,000km per year paying for CNG at $1.24 per kg, if your car can get 10 km per litre using petrol, before even taking into account the conversion cost (ie zero cost conversion), to achieve savings of about $600 a month or $7,200 a year if you were using petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 u dun read newspaper meh...u spend too much time in forums liao...if i am not wrong, past newspaper did cover a story and interviews with those owners who own CNG cars....look at their smart alec face and their draggy booth when the car moves, no pt pumping more air to compensate the heavy weight.... U r right, I spend more time on forum but none on newspaper or the news or channelnewsasia. For car stuff, come to the forum, promise with genuine feedbacks. And yes, CNG aren't perfect, not for the rich and fast cars anyway. Sorry if I sound harsh, I am just thinking of how to get rich end up frustrated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 U r right, I spend more time on forum but none on newspaper or the news or channelnewsasia. For car stuff, come to the forum, promise with genuine feedbacks. And yes, CNG aren't perfect, not for the rich and fast cars anyway. Sorry if I sound harsh, I am just thinking of how to get rich end up frustrated. no worries :)....want to get rich, sell off car, take BMW...sure save lots of money for holidays, buy stocks etc :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Do you drive more than 350km a day? According to this payback calculator: http://www.cng.com.sg/benefits.html If the cost of RON95 petrol is $1.60 nett after discounts, you need to do 127,000km per year paying for CNG at $1.24 per kg, if your car can get 10 km per litre using petrol, before even taking into account the conversion cost (ie zero cost conversion), to achieve savings of about $600 a month or $7,200 a year if you were using petrol. actually, i also get shock about it. last time, i travelled almost closed to 150km per day and my petrol bill only can go up to 400+. imagine i pumped this morning full tank and tomorrow evening pump again full tank. i seriously can imagine how he drive to have this kind of "saving" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 actually, i also get shock about it. last time, i travelled almost closed to 150km per day and my petrol bill only can go up to 400+. imagine i pumped this morning full tank and tomorrow evening pump again full tank. i seriously can imagine how he drive to have this kind of "saving" Maybe typo? Maybe he is saving $60 per month? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 The CNG station still 'HOT'? Very 'hot'. I just passby the one at Serangoon, very long queue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 Driving a CNG KIA Sportage for 11 months now, so far so good, one full tank of CNG can last me approximate 140KM, so pump every 3 days unless lazy to do so then use petrol. 11 months of driving it so far not even once stalled, so i think installer is very important, most important is cost saving, i save average 40%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 No regrets. Saving about 40% as compared to petrol, as I am only 5km away from the refilling station. But initially was bad, back to installer more than 10 times within a month. IMHO, SGs' installer are not that skillful, I never face a problem with LPG conversion while I was in OZ land in 1999. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie July 22, 2009 Share July 22, 2009 hydrogen fuel cell will be the power of the future...only by-product produced is oxygen and water... siao. this thing got no future in SINGAPORWE. PAP will BAN it!!! they cant tax your oxygen n water!! we continue pump $2/L pertrol, while others pour water into their fuel tank ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...