OPC mindset

Picanto

[laugh] You are creating a whole new industry for the number plate manufacturers.

Its either that or with the wordings "I am OPC cheat" written all over the sides, front and back of the car [laugh]

Nah...too easy. Do like driving w handphone offence. Confiscate car.

That will be when the OPC driver cheat for the 2nd time [sly]

Joking aside, I think my suggestion is good enough to serve as a deterrent for OPC drivers not to try cheating but there will still be some jokers who will. Once caught it is a bigger humiliation when park at carpark or driving on the road and everyone know that the driver has cheated once before just by looking at the car plate colour.

And the best part is if I may suggest, when this OPC cheat try to sell his car away, he will have some problem coz not many will take his car [laugh] maybe can only scrap [laugh]

Its either that or with the wordings "I am OPC cheat" written all over the sides, front and back of the car [laugh]

Or they can perhaps change the OPC car plate to purple in colour for fist time offenders and reduce the fine to $1K.

Singaporeans r most afriad to lose face and I'm sure that will deter OPC cheats more effectively [flowerface]

Or they can perhaps change the OPC car plate to purple in colour for fist time offenders and reduce the fine to $1K.

Singaporeans r most afriad to lose face and I'm sure that will deter OPC cheats more effectively [flowerface]

Exactly. Singaporean most afraid of losing face.

And if I may add somemore to the last post I made, if the cheat driver sold his OPC car away, and try to get a new or another OPC car, there must some ruling that allow tracing of his past record and his new OPC car car plate colour cannot be normal red OPC at all [laugh] And this goes to even if register under his immediate family's name, like his wife, his father, his mother, his children, his dog even [laugh][laugh]

My first 2 cars were OPCs. How could you represent their views or situation with your biased remarks ? [shakehead]

That's making generalisation and perhaps looking down at people.

Group 2:

Barely can afford a normal car, so go the el-cheapo route of an OPC (and hopefully to "double" it up as a normal 'day car'). Can save $17,000 in up-front payment and as low as $50/year on road tax (if its a small-cc car) ... so bery good what!!? But how to use it to ferry children to school, wife to work and then yourself to work? Start early everyday and then increase driving speed as it gets near 7am, then drive like a madman. If still cannot beat that, then re-use OPC coupon lor! Can save another $20/day some more! Family's/own life not so important lah, but need to save face and be seen to own car - that's more important what .... hor?

my parking coupon reaction is that its not really serious as such people do not gain from govt rebates. its different for opc case, as they have $17000 off the price and $800 off road tax. their wrong is betraying the trust the govt has on them. one is supposed to take the rebates and obseve the timing.

Cheat is cheat.

A parked car is supposed to display a valid parking coupon. They are supposed to "observe the timing" and tear the appropriate quantity of coupons accordingly and not betray "the trust govt has on them"

Sidetrack:

The OPC rebate and discounted road tax exist because of how car pricing /taxing is like in Singapore. Another counter argument could be that cars don't cost an arm and a leg is most, if not all, of the rest of world... and most definitely, the COE system is uniquely Sinagapore. That being be case, it's not really right to say that OPCs have 'gained' from the rebates, just that they have paid less then normal plate car owners for the ownership of a restricted use car.

Neither is it right to say that people who do not display parking coupons are not getting any gain. Just like an OPC cheat, they gained by not having to pay for the use of an item, in this case: a car park lot for X amount of time

Edited by Scoots

His mistake was not in describing some OPC owners that fits that group but not

having other groups that fits the profile of

> Those that don't need the car during OPC restricted hours

> those who can't afford normal car opt for OPC and use it lawfully.

ok then...purple? [flowerface] [flowerface]

Ay... can use another colour or not?>.. Purple dun go well with most car colours leh ... [laugh]

or rather maybe they should implement by putting the OPC coupons onto a holder @ the rear windscreen. in this way, drivers cannot 'fast hand fast leg' and poke and throw @ the other end of the dashboard. TPs or LTAS behind can also easily read what is on the coupon..

My first 2 cars were OPCs. How could you represent their views or situation with your biased remarks ? [shakehead]

That's making generalisation and perhaps looking down at people.

when it comes to opc topic, sure got such people come and post insensitive remarks. just have to take it in stride.

OOT abit..

I often see road hogging by -> "P" plate drivers followed by "OPC" drivers...

Just based on my observation...

Maybe one is new on the road while the others seldom drive..

Don't see the point in owning an OPC car if you have to cheat on a regular basis [confused] ! I always had the impression that OPC cars were for:

1) Retirees who don't drive much. Just need transportation during weekends & occasionally in the daytime.

2) People who work the night shifts thus OPC timing is perfect for them.

3) Rich folk who buy an OPC sports/cabrio/exotic car for use only on weekend trips to the golf course/country clubs

4) VERY rich folk who buy an OPC sports car and convert it into a track weapon for use during track day events in MY

However, if you intend to use the car as a daily commuter, you seriously cannot consider buying an OPC!! It just doesn't make sense!! Suggest you go for something cheaper, or save up man! $17K is a more or less acheivable amount of money don't ya think?

OOT abit..

I often see road hogging by -> "P" plate drivers followed by "OPC" drivers...

Just based on my observation...

Maybe one is new on the road while the others seldom drive..

Maybe...

or maybe it's just that such a group stand out and your mind register them better as you can find reasons to associate the observation to their 'status'

There are other observations that most may find familiar.

1. Taxis don't give way

2. Taxis filter without signalling

3. Suzuki swifts, Honda civics with heavy mods are driven by 'fierce' drivers

None of what I've stated is proven nor backed by real statistics ... just a result of a sad human trait of generalisation / polarised observation

Don't see the point in owning an OPC car if you have to cheat on a regular basis [confused] ! I always had the impression that OPC cars were for:

1) Retirees who don't drive much. Just need transportation during weekends & occasionally in the daytime.

2) People who work the night shifts thus OPC timing is perfect for them.

3) Rich folk who buy an OPC sports/cabrio/exotic car for use only on weekend trips to the golf course/country clubs

4) VERY rich folk who buy an OPC sports car and convert it into a track weapon for use during track day events in MY

However, if you intend to use the car as a daily commuter, you seriously cannot consider buying an OPC!! It just doesn't make sense!! Suggest you go for something cheaper, or save up man! $17K is a more or less acheivable amount of money don't ya think?

your points are valid. but there is still a small group of people who try to take advantage of the sytem. afterall, the TP/LTA cannot be around all the time to catch them.