Yuan 6th Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 This morning, along CTE towards town just before Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5, saw a toyota wish on the opposite side of CTE towards SLE on fire....Car was blazing with smoke and flames when I passed by around 7.10 a.m. It caused a huge jam on that stretch and for those going northwards....Of course it caused a jam as well on my side towards town cos everybody starts to see and watch the fire blazing..... Fire was big but I did not see any fire brigade or civil defence personnel at the fire scene. Nor was there any driver or person/people nearby the vehicle. Hope everything is fine with the driver/owner of the Wish. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 This morning, along CTE towards town just before Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5, saw a toyota wish on the opposite side of CTE towards SLE on fire....Car was blazing with smoke and flames when I passed by around 7.10 a.m. It caused a huge jam on that stretch and for those going northwards....Of course it caused a jam as well on my side towards town cos everybody starts to see and watch the fire blazing..... Fire was big but I did not see any fire brigade or civil defence personnel at the fire scene. Nor was there any driver or person/people nearby the vehicle. Hope everything is fine with the driver/owner of the Wish. I heard over radio that more than one car on fire? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 This morning, along CTE towards town just before Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5, saw a toyota wish on the opposite side of CTE towards SLE on fire....Car was blazing with smoke and flames when I passed by around 7.10 a.m. It caused a huge jam on that stretch and for those going northwards....Of course it caused a jam as well on my side towards town cos everybody starts to see and watch the fire blazing..... Fire was big but I did not see any fire brigade or civil defence personnel at the fire scene. Nor was there any driver or person/people nearby the vehicle. Hope everything is fine with the driver/owner of the Wish. Hope no one was badly hurted ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotila Clutched July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 This morning, along CTE towards town just before Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5, saw a toyota wish on the opposite side of CTE towards SLE on fire....Car was blazing with smoke and flames when I passed by around 7.10 a.m. It caused a huge jam on that stretch and for those going northwards....Of course it caused a jam as well on my side towards town cos everybody starts to see and watch the fire blazing..... Fire was big but I did not see any fire brigade or civil defence personnel at the fire scene. Nor was there any driver or person/people nearby the vehicle. Hope everything is fine with the driver/owner of the Wish. Hope that the driver is ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 How did this happen? If it were an old car then maybe, but modern vehicles are designed never to catch fire even in a very bad accident! Defects inherent in the production batch of that Wish?? Scary man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jefferyjoel Clutched July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 saw that too, i think e driver is ok..saw an uncle & auntie a distance away from the burning car on handphone... shld b total loss...dats it for e insurances renewal! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 Is this the one? http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singapor...nt.jsp?id=79683 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy_koh Neutral Newbie July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 sa wa di kam fire. so much for being the best selling brand in spore. take this toyota owners Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 24, 2009 Author Share July 24, 2009 Is this the one? http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singapor...nt.jsp?id=79683 Yup. It's the one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 sa wa di kam fire.... What is 'sa wa di kam' fire? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy_koh Neutral Newbie July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 u never heard thai b4? Sa Wa Di Kam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 Heard before, but what is the relevance? Are you saying Wish is made in Thailand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 Sometimes it could be sloppy modifications eg. lighting, ICE, etc...which mods on the electrical system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 In the past, there were other makes that constantly caught fire. IIRC, there were BMWs and dan there were Porches and some Volvos too, like the makes & models take turns. Now Wish. Yeah, I believe it has to do with modifications on their cars like fuel boosters that tamper the fuel lines and HIDs that is illegal to install. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 sa wa di kam fire. so much for being the best selling brand in spore. take this toyota owners I don't drive a Toyota now but I think your last comment is uncalled for lah. I understand where you're coming from - toyota= reliability etc etc... those were the good old days . Nowadays most new cars carry much more electronic componet than in the past so the possibilities of catching a fire is marginally higher than before . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 In the past, there were other makes that constantly caught fire. IIRC, there were BMWs and dan there were Porches and some Volvos too, like the makes & models take turns. Now Wish. Yeah, I believe it has to do with modifications on their cars like fuel boosters that tamper the fuel lines and HIDs that is illegal to install. YEP, Good call ! It's most probably the reason come to think of it. Maybe unauthorised CNG installation in boleh-land?! Heard that cars with these backyard workshop contraptions are like time bombs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedsun Clutched July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 On fire, still so many kpo drivers. If the whole car exploded, those kpo drivers would like to die together?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 probably he listen too much "chng your car" liao... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...