Google 2nd Gear April 8, 2017 Share April 8, 2017 During my time, there are 2 types of forklift licence. Below 5 ton and above 5 ton(moving shipping container). Lesson was at pasir panjang. I was a poly student then, funny thing is most are not that educated, but understand theory well, I was abit lost on the knowledge though. During test(a bit kelong), tester went out. Some difficult question, I read out and answer was easily given by those ah lao who had reading difficulties. So basically, everyone end up with the same answer. After the test result came back, the tester commended that this was the best class he ever had, all full mark. Impressive. Practical was fun, stacking of pallet drums which are numbered. As I was the only inexperience guy around, so many sifu share their knowledge and taught me short cut. From initial stacking timing of 20min, I manage to clock 9min during actual test. Did not proceed to >5ton as back then was a poor student. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 9, 2017 Share April 9, 2017 My bro went to take. He say sweat like a pig. No aircon, what do you expect? Somemore it's a 3-day course. Bring along some sun block. You mean the forklift course ah? Confirmed no air-con la, the course is conducted in a similar warehouse type of environment lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 9, 2017 Share April 9, 2017 You mean the forklift course ah? Confirmed no air-con la, the course is conducted in a similar warehouse type of environment lo. theory part in a/c classroom - regardless got class 3 or not, still must take theory. practical part in the open. if lucky under a covered warehouse area or canopy ... else be prepared to get a light tan. if fail, then one must be damn stupid or have problems coordinating hand and foot movement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 9, 2017 Share April 9, 2017 merged and subsumed under forklift issues Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 11, 2017 Share April 11, 2017 theory part in a/c classroom - regardless got class 3 or not, still must take theory. practical part in the open. if lucky under a covered warehouse area or canopy ... else be prepared to get a light tan. if fail, then one must be damn stupid or have problems coordinating hand and foot movement. Even it is a covered warehouse would still stuffy and hot lo. Esp when you are trying hard to load and unload and control the forklift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 11, 2017 Share April 11, 2017 Are you sure you don't know? Chen Hock Heng Machinery? Anyone here has got a forklift license? Is it useful and what is the cost of training? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 11, 2017 Share April 11, 2017 Even it is a covered warehouse would still stuffy and hot lo. Esp when you are trying hard to load and unload and control the forklift. no lah ... errr how to put it ... you dont drive in the whse ... ah yes !! a huge covered training shed ? when i went for my CAAS forklift cert (now discontinued), we drove the forklift in a "covered training shed" forking wooden pallets but when i took my MOM forklift cert it was in the open ... we had to fork a pallet of oil drums to and fro... but that was during the test ... we will stay under the building canopy whilst waiting for our turn. have you seen a 100% right-handed forklift operator ?? one who steers and operates the handles with his right hand ?? I have ... and he passed ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 12, 2017 Share April 12, 2017 When I took my license at PSA, it was at the Pulau Brani PSA container terminal there. Need to report at early morning, 7.30am. Change pass to enter the port and take a shuttle bus into the training area. That training area also no covered shed. All practise and test done at the same place. When I was there, they never specify must use two hands to steer. The tester just made sure u finish at the allocated timing and most important is check safety. Have to go thru the motion of turning ur head every time u reverse or change direction. They very strict on this. Lunch was at the canteen next to the training area which was also the maintenance base for PSA. Canteen got shelter. Then go home also same thing, got to catch the shuttle bus to the gate and then return pass. Also no available parking for those who drive or ride. Need to park opposite at the RTM railway station at your own cost. The theory is at PSA Institute at West Coast there. Also no parking available. But at least can park at west coast park for free and walk a little bit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 12, 2017 Share April 12, 2017 no lah ... errr how to put it ... you dont drive in the whse ... ah yes !! a huge covered training shed ? when i went for my CAAS forklift cert (now discontinued), we drove the forklift in a "covered training shed" forking wooden pallets but when i took my MOM forklift cert it was in the open ... we had to fork a pallet of oil drums to and fro... but that was during the test ... we will stay under the building canopy whilst waiting for our turn. have you seen a 100% right-handed forklift operator ?? one who steers and operates the handles with his right hand ?? I have ... and he passed ! You already took your forklift at CAAS, how come you took again for MOM? Though forklift licence is for lifetime de? I thought all forklift use your right hand to operate de? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 12, 2017 Share April 12, 2017 fork aeroplane and fork people different mah. You already took your forklift at CAAS, how come you took again for MOM? Though forklift licence is for lifetime de? I thought all forklift use your right hand to operate de? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 12, 2017 Share April 12, 2017 You already took your forklift at CAAS, how come you took again for MOM? Though forklift licence is for lifetime de? I thought all forklift use your right hand to operate de? Probably higher capacity forklift. The normal forklift license is for up to 5 ton only. Those carry containers type are 20 ton forklift which require another forklift license. Same as motorbike. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 12, 2017 Share April 12, 2017 Probably higher capacity forklift. The normal forklift license is for up to 5 ton only. Those carry containers type are 20 ton forklift which require another forklift license. Same as motorbike. Different class forklift. I see. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 12, 2017 Share April 12, 2017 (edited) You already took your forklift at CAAS, how come you took again for MOM? Though forklift licence is for lifetime de? I thought all forklift use your right hand to operate de? CAAS license not recognized liow ... all must take MOM cert then can ... MOM cert can use in whole of SG. anyway, my cert is only up to 5 tonnes - which is the minimum basic. operating a forklift : one will use his left hand to steer and the right hand to operate the handles. this guy use his right hand for both !! and he passed !! Probably higher capacity forklift. The normal forklift license is for up to 5 ton only. Those carry containers type are 20 ton forklift which require another forklift license. Same as motorbike. 10 tonnes already need another certification liow ... we have a 10 tonne forklift ... but i don't operate it since i dun have the cert. Edited April 12, 2017 by Ysc3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KiraKenny_BYD Neutral Newbie May 6, 2017 Share May 6, 2017 Hi All, I was wondering if anyone particularly heard before that Electric Forklift do not need license? Only Diesel will need license. Which i find it weird. Well just checking out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 6, 2017 Share May 6, 2017 Hi All, I was wondering if anyone particularly heard before that Electric Forklift do not need license? Only Diesel will need license. Which i find it weird. Well just checking out. U meant reach truck right? If yes, yup, reach truck no need license but to be used indoors only. I attended both reach truck n fork lift courses. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 26, 2018 Share April 26, 2018 After so many years, got to drive a forklift and reach truck laat week. Took me 30mins just to operate the forklift to get an item from the shelve. Another 30mins just to use the reach truck to stack boxes. Really rusty skill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 26, 2018 Share April 26, 2018 After so many years, got to drive a forklift and reach truck laat week. Took me 30mins just to operate the forklift to get an item from the shelve. Another 30mins just to use the reach truck to stack boxes. Really rusty skill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 26, 2018 Share April 26, 2018 I always find forklift is so much difficult to operate than a car. Even you many years no drive car, still easier to pick it up than forklift.I always fail the gta forklift mission ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...