Silver_blade Turbocharged August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 Ya lor. I think Mr Jack will soon run out of ideas for his movie. I think he has already ran out of idea long ago. His movie is often a depiction of what is going around us. He often didn't even bother to depict it in a creative way...just show as it is....often turn out rather crude. But it still sells...cos I guess people like to see the 'coffee-shop talk' on a big screen. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuze Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 Go watch, make the man and his sidekicks richer and cockier... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 17, 2009 Author Share August 17, 2009 Go watch, make the man and his sidekicks richer and cockier... in real life, jack is driving a merc and living in pte property. he is no doubt a very successful man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 Actually if you look more indepth to the stories... you will think otherwise... I find it very suitable for local as this is all that happens to us in Singapore. The 1st story is by telling how superstitious Singaporeans can be and how easily those con man can cheat people who did something bad. It is to educate people not to do bad things and also warn people of con man. It is insulting and targeting on alot of "Masters" or priest who will give out 4D number to people who seek their help... ell them to buy and they must return to offer the 4D god should they strike 4D if not they will meet mishap.... just that Jack film it in an indirect way and not straight those "Master" and priest. It also tells us to show respect to roadside offerings. 2nd story is to educate soldiers not to take short cuts in army training. The commanders will normally go back reservist 1 week earlier to recce the training ground to ensure the safety of trainings to be conducted to prevent training accident to the minimum. But often accidents occurs when soldiers do not follow orders... It is a reminder to all soldiers be it NSF or Reservist to take training seriously and stay safe. Also a caution to people who will try their luck by breaking the laws once in a while...that it only takes one wrong move...and it will cause your life. You may be lucky once, twice, thrice..... etc.. but it only need one time sway sway and you can say bye bye. 3rd story is all about Filial Piety. It is an insult to many people. I have seen it with my own eyes. People always pray and hope that the decease family member will give them 4D... Toto. Always ask alot from the decease... but how many really gave that much to the decease when he/ she is alive? The story is of the 3 son who did nothing to their mum when she was alive... throw her around and even send her to the old folks home... the mum even sacrifice her life to save the grand daughter... when she pass away... they complain that she did not bless them and in the end send her altar to the temple... Even a small altar is too much to take care for them just because they never strike 4D and never do well in their biz.... They will blame everything on the decease and not themselves.... Imagine..they did not even want to offer joss stick to the mum once a day instead send her altar to the temple and yet they are asking so much from the mum in return... Typical singaporean style sad to say.... In the end it is the ghost of the mother that save them 3 again from dying.... and they went to recover her altar after that... It is a story of Filial Piety... and the LOVE of most parents to the children. As a parent, they will worry for their child/ children from the day they are born.. till the day the parents pass away... This is the Power of Parents' LOVE to the children and we must be filial to our parents not only when they are alive...but also when the are no longer around to always remember them on the love they gave us. To all those who brand the movie as lousy...Think again. No doubt the computer graphic is really lousy... but the jokes are funny...and the real message behind the 3 stories are really useful to everyone in our daily life. Enjoy the show with more indepth thinking and not only seeing what appear on the screen. It's a Good show not film in a good way. Beware, Spoiler spoiler!! (: Waahh. Very detailed! I already can't remember some parts after walking out of the theatre. But I do remember some of the funny parts.., (: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 (edited) yes the message is there but done very stupidly...i wont pay to watch craps to get his 'in-depth' message. Edited August 17, 2009 by Babyt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 like I said, I watch his movies for past 10 years even some critic say they were crap! I cried and I laught watching them, the deeper meaning you are talking about has all this while reflected in his movies and he just keep repeating them and add different comedy factor 换汤不换药! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 Yes a little silly at times, but you can't find any other movie with Singapore humour lah. We can laugh at all the dialect words we ourselves use in the course of our daily lives. So all in all, quite entertaining. But the CG is really really CMI man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 juz nice tis guy release new album, jack should let him sing the song for tis movie... paisei cos juz nice i watching yu le bai fen bai... 黄鸿升 - 鬼打墙 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 any of you watch the movie already? how is it? Don watch it! Waste of money. Not worth to waste ur time watching I almost fall asleep while watching Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 all of his shows are very very low standard. i still don't know how he manage to get things out to reel. no quality control or something? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 Just watched. Aiya, Jack Neo shows are for the LCD (lowest common denominator) people. Appeal to the masses, no substance. But, it is actually relatively. Just don't watch it for the storyline. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 Yes a little silly at times, but you can't find any other movie with Singapore humour lah. We can laugh at all the dialect words we ourselves use in the course of our daily lives. So all in all, quite entertaining. But the CG is really really CMI man! I dunno why he wanna add the CMI CG, its redundant and i feel that it make the movie even more cheapo and sucky. Do away with the CG will be better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 i dont know about this show, but the last time i watched the one about fann wong being a ah long, i swore never to watch another local show again. it was simply an insult to the viewers taste ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged August 23, 2009 Share August 23, 2009 (edited) His movie is often lack of substance, slap-stick, lousy cinematic skill, etc...but almost always do very well in the box-office. Credit to him. Yup, as far as making movies that make money here in SG, Neo is tops. As for quality, errr... There are many other serious film-makers in SG more deserving of box-office success, and they make some really very thoughtful, insightful movies - "Be With Me" and "12 Storeys" are two that I personally enjoyed. But I think these don't potray the side of Singapore life that the authorities like to see, anyway. Edited August 23, 2009 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 23, 2009 Share August 23, 2009 I count 12-storey among the few local films I really like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 23, 2009 Author Share August 23, 2009 I count 12-storey among the few local films I really like. but these type of films dun really make $$ at the box office. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 23, 2009 Share August 23, 2009 Most Singaporeans don't appreciate "thoughtful" films. They prefer the so-called "simple and funny" films by Jack Neo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 23, 2009 Share August 23, 2009 I count 12-storey among the few local films I really like. 12 storey is a really good one.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...