Today got 6 letters from TP, total Summon $470

Dicksonzhang

It supposed to be a long-waiting weekend, after all the exams and assignments for my MBA. BUT, this morning, I opened the mailbox and there were 6 letters from the Traffic palice department (TP).

5 of them, stating that I parked my car outside the queenstown library, along Margaret drive, on Aug 4, 5, 14, 15, 17, each Summon is $70

the 6th letters is more confusing to me. The offence is "Stopping in a Zebra controlled area under rule 10 (1) (Pedestrian Crossings) Rules....". Summon is $120 plus 3 points deduction. It was on Aug 15, too. (I already got a $70 summon on that day). [confused]

It was really a shock to me, bcoz:

1. I NEVER see any parking offence notice on my windscreen. [shakehead] . but it is the first time i receive summon from TP. (some were from hdb, ura, lta). Is that rigth that TP didn't issue notice on the spot? Looks really weird for me...

2. I don't know how they define the Zebra Control Area, but I am sure I never stop anything close to a Pedestrian crossing zebra area.

I am sure if you know queenstown library, u will notice there were always cars parking along the road since dont know when. That's why I assume it shall be legal to park there. I seldom went to that library. If it was not for my exam and asssignment, and my new born at home so no place for me to concentrate on studying, I will never stay in the library for hours. Now I know I was wrong and I paid a high price to know. BUT, if I saw the summon notice on my windscreen on the first offence, I will never park there again. I am not a guy who has too much cash on hand and willing to contribute to TP.

And for the offence on Aug 4 and 5, they only sent out the letter on Aug 22. ANd funny thing is, for the offence on Aug 15, it was sent on Aug 21. Why they just can't send the summon right after the offence, so that I can know I was wrong and not going to do that again. The purpose for the summon, is to warn people, not to earn money, right? I am not sure now...

For the stopping at zebra summon, i really don't know what happened. Does that mean they saw my car stop on the Zebra line? That is impossible.but, can i ask them to provide evidence [confused]

Any comments and advice from fellow forumer are welcome. Please tell me what I can do. $470 is not a small money to me.... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Dicksonzhang

Hi bro, really sorry to hear that. But I guess, you have to pay because you indeed parked at the area which you are not allowed to park. As for the summon slip at your windscreen, some of them don't issue the summon thing because they are not supposed to park their bike there and summon, they just stop immediately take a pic or note down number and ride off. As for stopping at zebra line, from what I know is that you unintentionally stopped your vehicle when you enter a filter lane at the giveway line looking at on coming traffic. As for who caught you for doing that, usually is the cameras above the traffic lights.

I think you cannot argue based on the no summon slip thing. You appeal also waste time waste effort, LPPL. They can shoot you by saying very logical stuffs. Such as they cannot stop there as it is illigel to stop and put the summon as they have their bikes. They do not need to issue you a summon slip as the intention of the slip is not to warn you, furthermore you should already know it is illigel to park there.

Another possibility might be gina go play prank, take away your summon slip everyday.

I guess they note down your plate and ride off.

If this is their way to do things then i really have nothing to say. Why they just bother to post a notice on my car..

I am beginning to see the summon-issuers taking photos now and going off. Without issuing any tickets on the spot.

This is at the foot of my block where there are double yellow lines and also signs stating "No Parking or Waiting Fine $100"

Cheaper to get a digi-cam than those summon issuing machine?

The summon slip in the 1st place wasn't build as a warning thing. It actually is just to inform people that they got the summon. Nowsday , they put up big signs to say no parking or fine etc. Therefore, we can't really argue the fact that they didn't issue the slip as we are at fault. We're just pushing our luck. Everytime go other place to eat , I also nv put coupon, just pushing my luck.

Hi bro, really sorry to hear that. But I guess, you have to pay because you indeed parked at the area which you are not allowed to park. As for the summon slip at your windscreen, some of them don't issue the summon thing because they are not supposed to park their bike there and summon, they just stop immediately take a pic or note down number and ride off. As for stopping at zebra line, from what I know is that you unintentionally stopped your vehicle when you enter a filter lane at the giveway line looking at on coming traffic. As for who caught you for doing that, usually is the cameras above the traffic lights.

I think you cannot argue based on the no summon slip thing. You appeal also waste time waste effort, LPPL. They can shoot you by saying very logical stuffs. Such as they cannot stop there as it is illigel to stop and put the summon as they have their bikes. They do not need to issue you a summon slip as the intention of the slip is not to warn you, furthermore you should already know it is illigel to park there.

Another possibility might be gina go play prank, take away your summon slip everyday.

thanks for the info. But there is no traffice light near the library, and the only zebra line is about 30-50m for where ppl usually park their cars....

By book, yes. However, the ants usually gives these public transport chance? close an eye? Back then, when being taught in school, when we stop in the zebra crossing line = immediately failure for TP test, i remembered.

ok, i mean if they can put a notice on my windscreen then i can be worned that i am illegal to park at that place. I know summon is not for warning... Anyway outside queenstown library, there is no sign to said no parking.... that's why there always quite "full", sometimes i have to wait for cars leaving then i can park in. ..

SOmetimes inside the library, u may here some annoucement that ask the car owner to move their cars bcoz they block the way, but no one say u can't park along the road...

The summon slip in the 1st place wasn't build as a warning thing. It actually is just to inform people that they got the summon. Nowsday , they put up big signs to say no parking or fine etc. Therefore, we can't really argue the fact that they didn't issue the slip as we are at fault. We're just pushing our luck. Everytime go other place to eat , I also nv put coupon, just pushing my luck.

Edited by Dicksonzhang

Is there any parking lots there? If there isn't we cannot park what, common knowledge. Sometimes driving cannot monkey see, monkey do. I bet the rest of the car all tio also.. If i don't remember wrongly, single yellow line after 7pm can park rgt?

There's a big MSCP opposite the library as well sa some open carparks too.

Just pay up, no point trying to argue your way thru'.

My friend recently got 3 summons for illegal parking as well around Tiong Bahru Market and the time stated is around 0100 hrs! There isn't any ticket put on his car but he did park there afterall. He tried to appeal but failed and still have to pay up. [bigcry]

I agree with you. TS, just treat it as a lesson learnt. Whenever i illigel park, I tell myself, 70$ coming if I were to park here. And I went to somewehere near to park legally.

I know I was WRONG!! It is really a lesson, but if they can put a notice on my car, if they can mail me the first 2 offences which was Aug 4,5 a bit earlier, instead of wait after more than 2 weeks, I will also learn the lessons, but without paying such a high price....

I guess it is possible to receive 2 related summons on the same day.

Happened to me once, I traveled along Orchard Boulevard and received 2 warnings letters with a difference of few minutes. Both letters said I have traveled at 66Km/h instead of the speed limit of 50Km/h. I suppose it could be a case whereby I kena speed trap by 2 different policemen, who happened to be patrolling on the same road. Yap, yes, they don't have to stop you or pass you physical summon in order to fine you.

That library hor, alot of people like to park illegally infront of the library where by the public carparks are just nearby. No harm taking a short walk and tearing a coupon.

Regards,