Genie47 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Why risk this? Just go for a legit CNG conversion package and you get to use a cheaper fuel that gives you 40% savings even with the proposed 20% duty. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryanyusoff 2nd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 as for me,customs is only a 15mins drive.so no nd to mod needle.by the time my BTO flat built,customs is only a 3 mins drive away.even better!no feeling of guilt when passing by customs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Pump 100 times, but get caught 1 time only -> "die". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Send yr fren's car registration numbers to ICA, see who has the last laugh. my friends' car was summoned to one side when he tried to enter jb at 3am to pump last year. All of a sudden without warning on a lazy and quiet early morning. two officers seem to know something and went straight to check. My fren was stunned and strinked.. dont even know what to do or expect.. end of the day. HANDCUFFED and led to lock-up and had to wait till morning. 3-4 hours alone in the lock-up was the WORSE of his life. Ended up charged and sentenced to 2 weeks jail. Everyone knows about it. Its quite silly really for a civil servant to do that. Now he lost his job too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 when they're caught and have their cars confiscated.... then you can shake leg, lim kopi and say call them stupid. everyone wants a bargin but this is taking it to another level leow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 (edited) Good luck to them. When u go in with empty tank, u can say you forgot, or just turn back to SG, even if the immigration no give chance at the most kena $500 fine When u go in with a modded needle, its a form of cheating and certainly it will not be viewed the same way by the authorities, last heard its a 4 digit fine. Many got caught a few years ago. Edited September 7, 2009 by Windchoco Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darky8888 4th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 I was one of the many ppl that cross the causeway due to the cheap petrol.... At the SG custom i worried that i might get caught... After the SG custom, i worried i might get into a accident and worst getting mugged before or after pumping petrol... When coming back to SG i worried the cigarettes which i have bought might get caught. If u were to put all these onto a weighing scale.. u can see if it worth the risk or not... How much can u save per trip? and what is the risk involve while u are there? To save that few dollars and have to put up so many risks... NOT WORTH IT!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powerhouse Clutched September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Man threw away three chances to come clean on 3/4 tank offence, fine $500 and jail two weeks WOW! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 As above, most of my friends mod their fuel needle and all chiong JB to pump cheap oil after they get their car Wow... most of ur friends wor....serious ar? herd mentality izzit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Not worth it. The risk of going to jail if kenna caught. Picture_TamperedFuelGauge That's only for those who have remote controls on their gauges. There are many more who simply tamper the fuel gauge so that it is permanently stuck at the 3/4 level or somewhere thereabouts. There is no way for the officers to catch these guys, unless they decide to pump the petrol into the tank just to be sure! The real idiots are the ones who have remote controls! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 stupid fool. tampered with fuel gauge will lead you to fine and jail. not worth it at all http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNew...ory_288147.html tampered with OPC coupon only fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mattchlai Neutral Newbie September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 (edited) That's only for those who have remote controls on their gauges. There are many more who simply tamper the fuel gauge so that it is permanently stuck at the 3/4 level or somewhere thereabouts. There is no way for the officers to catch these guys, unless they decide to pump the petrol into the tank just to be sure! The real idiots are the ones who have remote controls! just curious how does the driver know if the fuel is low when they have permanently modified the fuel gauge to read at 3/4? Edited September 7, 2009 by Mattchlai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 just curious how does the driver know if the fuel is low when they have permanently modified the fuel gauge to read at 3/4? see the link davidcks posted dumb idiot trip meter is so obvious 350km on 1/4 tank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Not worth it. The risk of going to jail if kenna caught. Picture_TamperedFuelGauge wah lao, still got 1/4 petrol and go in and pump.. shd have wait for it to be at the reserve tank mar.. want to makan also must makan to the last drop.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 wah lao, still got 1/4 petrol and go in and pump.. shd have wait for it to be at the reserve tank mar.. want to makan also must makan to the last drop.. cannot last drop lah imagine one car full load of family, later custom jam his car break down in middle of road then kanna check is run out of petrol he might be stupid but give him that little credit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 just curious how does the driver know if the fuel is low when they have permanently modified the fuel gauge to read at 3/4? by mileage or the reserve tank lights if it's available on car.. but what's the point.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 cannot last drop lah imagine one car full load of family, later custom jam his car break down in middle of road then kanna check is run out of petrol he might be stupid but give him that little credit but but.. they can check traffic condition mar.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zaska 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 As above, most of my friends mod their fuel needle and all chiong JB to pump cheap oil after they get their car, they say i very stupid, should go and mod the needle and enjoy the cheap oil, save lots of money rather den pump in spore, what do u all think? I juz smile back to them... Coz i feel that why wanna resort to doing illegal stuffs, feel its quite pathetic imo. Some more oil not ours, it belong to the Malaysian using their taxes to subsidize for their citizen, no pt imo. i dunno wat to say about your fren, how can they call u stupid just bcos u din mod the needle. They shld know that all they need is 1 suay day n they will tio hefty fine, free publicity by media, scolding/jeering fm family n frens etc. if want to save fuel might as well drive picanto or spark instead of bigger CC cars n mod huge exhuast etc. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...