What if.....accident with drink driver

Kallangrally

i believe the drunk driver will be freak out if he really cause an accident. either he pay or he go to jail.

make him compensate private settlement. if damage is too serious, i will make him sign imdemity form to admit liability, so i can proceed with the claim. we can pretend that we duno he;s drunk, and not report it in the insurance claim, u have the imdemity form. if he doesn;t want to sign, then threaten to call police.

let ppl claim insurance or go to jail, think wad he will do. without the imdemity form he can fake n say he will let u claim, after the 2nd day when his alcholol content is gone, he can bite u back.

like my workshop told me when i asked him a same qn, sometimes do give ppl a chance, as long he compensate u accordingly.

u report him n cannot proceed for insurance claim, it will become a civil suits n will take decades. thus if suay kana this kind of accident, LLST and force him to admit liability, thats the best situation we can get.

Who pays who? This is supposed to be decided by the 2 insurance companies involved after investigating and fighting it out. The insured has no right at all to decide this... ie, he has no right to admit liability, or put simply, he has no right to "order" his insurer to pay you money. It's not his money! If he wants to admit he needs to take money out of his own pocket.

A driver who admit liability is in fact causing his insurer to lose money. So some insurers do not cover ppl when they do that, just like not covering ppl who drink and drive.

Therefore if you force him to admit liability, you may come to a situation where his insurer doesn't want to cover him and at the same time he has no money to pay you... then what to do? Suck thumb.

I think it does not pay if the drunk driver is the one driving and the one with the insurance, but if your car is hit by another car (whether the driver is drunk , distracted, or whatever) , your insurance will and should pay.

It will also not benefit you to report him to police, as his insurance will not cover drink driving. So you'll have to claim from own insurance, get your lawyers to sue him. And if he declares bankrupt, you are so screwed.

At the end of the day, practise defensive driving. Assume the other driver is a drunk idiot, capable of doing the most idiotic thing at the worst possible moment.

Opps! I didn't realise that drink-driving is not covered by insurance. So what should we do if suay suay kena one drink-driver and police is involved?

Will claiming from our own insurance cost us more when our insurance is up for renewal?

Opps! I didn't realise that drink-driving is not covered by insurance. So what should we do if suay suay kena one drink-driver and police is involved?

Will claiming from our own insurance cost us more when our insurance is up for renewal?

I think the insurance company will charge us like mad.....

One thing i still cant figure out is, since we the insured has no right to order the insurance co to pay or not, if caught in an accident & fault dun lie with us but the Insurance company go Pay the claim & later increase the premium then we also suck thumb rite????

damn this insurance thing!!!! [furious]

I think the insurance company will charge us like mad.....

One thing i still cant figure out is, since we the insured has no right to order the insurance co to pay or not, if caught in an accident & fault dun lie with us but the Insurance company go Pay the claim & later increase the premium then we also suck thumb rite????

damn this insurance thing!!!! [furious]

I have always said there are proper legal avenues to pursue your claim for damages or whatever after the facts of the case is fully established.

I feel that this forum have a lot of low lifes giving all sorts of crap advices.... probably they are also craps in life as well.

What you can claim in monetary damages in any cases of compensation, are subjected to you yourself bringing the issues to the proper avenue to be properly addressed.

If you do not use the proper means and measure to handle any of these claimages then don't say I didn't give you more than enough adivce as to what you need to do.

I feel that this forum have a lot of low lifes giving all sorts of crap advices.... probably they are also craps in life as well.

LOL, hope you kenna accident with a drunk driver then come here to beg for low life crap advices [laugh]

Edited by Dunno

Best is dont't report lor. This is one situation we lose lose if report to police. Cannot claim his insurance. Just ask the drunkard to pay and F..off.

Better take cash immediately rather to claim self insurance and nowadays insurance companies are out to "carrot cake" drivers like us. Sure kanna load big time.

[shakehead]

settle wt him in pvt if not no claims from the insurance..no police involved for sure if not ur own pocket gonna burnt...lets say if the mangkuk driver has his own workshop...u just ask him the address n let him foot the bill but dunt forget black n white n let him sign it..cheers...from my xperience

if any1 ever encounter in an accident wt their ride which other veh bang at the rear..n damage,u can call me up for a replacement car n settle everything for u from the other party..thanks

I have always said there are proper legal avenues to pursue your claim for damages or whatever after the facts of the case is fully established.

What you can claim in monetary damages in any cases of compensation, are subjected to you yourself bringing the issues to the proper avenue to be properly addressed.

If you do not use the proper means and measure to handle any of these claimages then don't say I didn't give you more than enough adivce as to what you need to do.

Though u have always said that but that's not the pt. Why is there a need to pursue other avenues to claim for damages if in the 1st place the correct claim mechanism is in place?

Insurance dun really cover anything at all these days...It's a big money scam...

The claim mechanism has effectively collapse....

A drunk bang u , even worse....

You get here, someone else pay there until it's your turn to pay...

So do all yourselves a favour and straight away report all inflated claims especially those verified by "appointed" surveyors to CPIB for investigation...

No use talking,talk is cheap...

We need to put an end to this scam and save our pockets...

The only legal avenue is to "whistle blow" the insurance companies and their surveyors......

[bounce1] [bounce1] [bounce1]

Edited by DarkSide

this is tricky situation becos there is a clause that does not cover driving while under the influence of drugs.

Medication is a general group of drugs

Wah.... alot like to play black & white huh ? [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

Hmm... very tricky if the driver is sick then take panadol (classified as drug) but that is non-drowsy... then never state properly leh...

these insurance co. really sucking $$ dry dry... don't pay this and that, bonus fat fat ah !!

Accident involving drink driving, if there is injury then better report because insurance company will compensate for the injury and recover back from the driver. However, this does not apply to repair of the vehicle.

The injury claim can be much much higher than the property claim.

Just want to add the discussion:

Last week I was hit in the early morning by a drunk driver. My car stopped at a red light, and he just smashed into the back of my car.

I got knocked, and hit my head and shin. Got out of the car in pain, talked to the other party, smelled alcohol in his breath. As I was in pain, I called the ambulance, and the police came as well. At that point in time, I did not know about the drunk driver insurance situation.

Ambulance came, CD checked me out, checked the other guy out and found him drunk, detained him until TP came,then send me to hospital. When I came out of hospital, TP inform me that the other party will be charged for drunk driving in court next month.

Here is the FU*K-UP part: I now have to claim against my own insurance, pay excess amount, rent a car out of my own pocket because my insurance co, workshop all REFUSE to attempt any third party claim. According to them, it is 100% confirmed that the other insurance co will not pay a single cent. So if I want my car repaired quickly, I must claim own damage.

The estimated repair (told to me bythe workshop) is about $12000. Now I have to look for a lawyer myself to sue this guy for damages. All my insurance co is interested in is to convince me to claim own damage so that they can settle the case quickly. They refuse to get involve in the legal aspect of this and told me that I have to hire my own lawyer.

In short: The insurance co is simply NOT INTERESTED in helping their customer, all they do is to look after their own interest

Moral of the story: If you get hit by a drunk driver, do not call the police. You stand to gain nothing.

Edited by Yuhsuan

Last week I was hit in the early morning by a drunk driver. My car stopped at a red light, and he just smashed into the back of my car.

I got knocked, and hit my head and shin. Got out of the car in pain, talked to the other party, smelled alcohol in his breath. As I was in pain, I called the ambulance, and the police came as well. At that point in time, I did not know about the drunk driver insurance situation.

Ambulance came, CD checked me out, checked the other guy out and found him drunk, detained him until TP came,then send me to hospital. When I came out of hospital, TP inform me that the other party will be charged for drunk driving in court next month.

Here is the FU*K-UP part: I now have to claim against my own insurance, pay excess amount, rent a car out of my own pocket because my insurance co, workshop all REFUSE to attempt any third party claim. According to them, it is 100% confirmed that the other insurance co will not pay a single cent. So if I want my car repaired quickly, I must claim own damage.

The estimated repair (told to me bythe workshop) is about $12000. Now I have to look for a lawyer myself to sue this guy for damages. All my insurance co is interested in is to convince me to claim own damage so that they can settle the case quickly. They refuse to get involve in the legal aspect of this and told me that I have to hire my own lawyer.

In short: The insurance co is simply NOT INTERESTED in helping their customer, all they do is to look after their own interest

Moral of the story: If you get hit by a drunk driver, do not call the police. You stand to gain nothing.

You should go to CASE as well as the forum page in the straits times with the insurance company name in BOLD too.. It would help.. [thumbsup]

You put up such a BIG... long story and still end with a paragraph...'Moral of your story.'.

So what is 'your moral' of the story you are trying to tell the rest of the ppl here?

What is your problem that you can't initiate a civil suit on the other party for claims?

Unless you are just like the rest of the bunch of Sinkies, that just like to comprain?

Disappointing!

Because insurance companies do not cover driver under the influence of alcohol.

That means that YOUR insurance company pay first, and try to recover money from him as the at fault driver