Signal light query

Edmokh

Hi guys,

Chk wif you ar... Does signalling before filtering into the lane gives the driver the right of way, even though the lane he/she is gonna filter into has a car coming along from behind?

I understand signal has to be at least 3s before filtering but whether is it the right of way, I'm not sure... [confused]

signalling??? what is that??? is that some new technique??? really ah......cham liao...i need to install into my car....hahahahahahaha

bro, here in sg....signal lights for christmas oni...but to answer your Qn, yes, you have to, BUT in this place, signalling, lets the #$^$^$# behind to speed up so you CANNOT move in....

In sg you have to find your own empty space to filter, whether you signal or not, up to you. If you do as you say, you are considered cutting into someone else's path, dun be surprised if you get horned, flashed and middle fingered. Do not expect giving from other drivers. There, go figure.

Signalling only give others your intention of your actions but NEVER the right of way.. If its the right of way, basically it mean you do not need to check for traffic and just change lane cos you signal already.

Signalling DOES NOT give you the right of way.

Signalling is a form of communications between you and other fellow motorists although this is usually forgotten once people graduate from driving school. When you signal, you are telling other motorists, "I want to filter/turn left/right. Kindly give way if possible." Then it is up to the other parties to decide if it's safe to do so. In Singapore, sad to say, most would just speed up.

Just to give a crude example. Does telling your spouse (In driving: signalling) that you want to make love to them (In driving: filter/turn) give you the right to do so? No, the act of telling does not mean you have the right to do it. Your spouse needs to say yes. Otherwise it is considered raping. (In driving: If you are lucky, you get high-beamed or horned at. If not, you get banged. Then you better pray that it is not a trailer that you are cutting into.)

TS, from the responses so far I am sure you know by now that signaling only shows intent and not automatically gives you right of way. It is a very true fact there are a lot of drivers out there who will not give way to you and instead speed up to close the gap. But fret not, a good number will let you through. Have faith not all drivers here are assh""les.

Thank you for all the replies. Yes, it seems to be so. Not the right of way, so in the eyes of law it is so too la.

Recently had a minor accident cos the freaking driver after signal just filter into my lane. Basically he wanted to go from my right to my left cos he wana exit out. After rubbing "shoulders", can still say " I want to exit wat... your car small can overtake me, you should give way to me"

My goodness, you might as well have the TP to escort you, then whatever way you drive or filter, you dun even have to signal!!!

*DUH*

In the end, report lor but my concern is if I will lose the case which i doubt so...

Pardon me if the story seems quite vague cos I dun wana jeopardize the whole case. This is my first time so I gues it pays to be over-cautious abit...

Thanks...

Paise. just needed a venue to vent some steam out.

If the guy signaled and filter in, I dun mind letting him do it. But after filtering in, at least move faster lah. Some after filtering in move so slow that in the end, it's holding me up and I have to change to the next lane to overtake him.

Thank you for all the replies. Yes, it seems to be so. Not the right of way, so in the eyes of law it is so too la.

Recently had a minor accident cos the freaking driver after signal just filter into my lane. Basically he wanted to go from my right to my left cos he wana exit out. After rubbing "shoulders", can still say " I want to exit wat... your car small can overtake me, you should give way to me"

My goodness, you might as well have the TP to escort you, then whatever way you drive or filter, you dun even have to signal!!!

*DUH*

In the end, report lor but my concern is if I will lose the case which i doubt so...

Pardon me if the story seems quite vague cos I dun wana jeopardize the whole case. This is my first time so I gues it pays to be over-cautious abit...

Thanks...

Paise. just needed a venue to vent some steam out.

Oh you talking abt these last minute exit jokers. LOL...too many of these morons on our roads. I just encountered one yday on the slip road into PIE from ECP near the airport. It was 11.30 am, traffic was relatively light...So I choose to keep left since I know I would be exiting soon. This civic ont eh scond lane cut abruptly inot the slip road just ahead of me....no signal ..ntg ...I am not sure what thrill he derives outta this stunt but I just let him be. Accident avoidance is my motto now. Trying to be cool....

I am sorry you got into a pickle coz of a moron dude. Now...I really should get my arse moving on installing that camera!

Signalling is the fundamentals of driving everywhere. It shows your intentions and also a form of courtesy not to mention safety.

Dont knw y, but i am especially nice to ppl who signal. Of cos there are b**tards who would do wat some of u said, like speed up to block u and stuff, but sometimes it can make life easier.

For eg, i want to filter into an expressway but another car is somewhere at my blindspot and his speed is the same as mine. After awhile, i realised that he wanna come in cos the 2nd lane is free but he still stick to the 1st lane. So i signalled right and he followed by signalling left and we jus exchanged places. Really, sometimes it clears alot of doubt by signalling so pls do...

Signalling DOES NOT give you the right of way.

Signalling is a form of communications between you and other fellow motorists although this is usually forgotten once people graduate from driving school. When you signal, you are telling other motorists, "I want to filter/turn left/right. Kindly give way if possible." Then it is up to the other parties to decide if it's safe to do so. In Singapore, sad to say, most would just speed up.

Fully agreed. Sadly, most local drivers do not do so.

some idiots simply speed up to prevent you from changing lanes after seeing the indicators blink. right of way? try telling the S500s, A8s and S80s etc.

Cannot be help la those ppl. they own both the road and petrol companies. They pay more taxes and burn more petrol so they have the 'right of way'

^_^^_^

Not signalling is actually an offence, although TP are quite lax in enforcing it.

Sad to say, in SG, we have to learn the art of "cutting". Want to go, just go. (After check everything lah)

Being nice gets you nowhere.

Not signalling is actually an offence, although TP are quite lax in enforcing it.

Sad to say, in SG, we have to learn the art of "cutting". Want to go, just go. (After check everything lah)

Being nice gets you nowhere.

Generally, Asian countries (perhaps beside Japan) don't take signalling seriously. Just like my driving instructor told me ages ago that, never never expect other drivers to give way to you just because you turn on your signal lamp. So if not happy that someone cut in without signaling, just do what you need to do [laugh].

Regards,

A cab on my right today near my office nearly slammed into me. I was just side by side with him and once he saw a gal flagging him down, he immediately signalled and swerved right at once. Luckily I saw the gal flagging and anticipated the cab to do the stunt.

Managed to jammed brake and gave him a long and loud horn. Think next time will accelerate quickly and try not to be beside a cab. [furious]