Richard2461 Neutral Newbie October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 on 21/10/2009 i went to jb.the custom stop me and check my car booth.i have afew foc.item from my company.cable,battery etc....they want me to pay rm$20 with receipt.but i refuse to pay,then the higher rank step in.and ask me go to the office.i told him this is foc.item and i not selling in your country.i ask him can i leave the things here or throw everything away.but this time he give me 2 option either pay rm$60 or make a u-turn.so i was angry i choose u-turn.after coming back to sin.the custom over here also say that there's afew of cars got these problem that day.so just a reminder in future go there empty your booth. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholasl Neutral Newbie October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 $20/$60 tax for battery/cables? How many you brought in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 no wonder suddenly i see got bigger shots checking boot.. and suddenly all or most SG cars ganna checked. normally they dun check mine as v small car... yest oso ganna check open up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 (edited) on 21/10/2009 i went to jb.the custom stop me and check my car booth.i have afew foc.item from my company.cable,battery etc....they want me to pay rm$20 with receipt.but i refuse to pay,then the higher rank step in.and ask me go to the office.i told him this is foc.item and i not selling in your country.i ask him can i leave the things here or throw everything away.but this time he give me 2 option either pay rm$60 or make a u-turn.so i was angry i choose u-turn.after coming back to sin.the custom over here also say that there's afew of cars got these problem that day.so just a reminder in future go there empty your booth. RM20 only? How much in $S? You mean your time not worth the RM20? Sure frustrating, no harm just pay and forget lah. Wait they don't give you a chance and strip you upside down and detain you for a day. What for? It is their country, they do what they deem fit. We don't tell them how they should run their rules right? Regards, Edited October 22, 2009 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 no wonder suddenly i see got bigger shots checking boot.. and suddenly all or most SG cars ganna checked. normally they dun check mine as v small car... yest oso ganna check open up. Random one lah. If feel insecure, don't put anything in boot. Put them underneath the front seats. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Went in my friend's car yesterday at about 5pm but was not checked and simply waved us thru'. Even the 2 cars in front of us were waved thru as well. The cars are just 2 Civics and Latio. So probably they are looking for those big cars..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 ahhaha my boot normally empty , cos for the folding roof. and under seats. mine no space. so... unless behind the front seats... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 RM20 only? How much in $S? You mean your time not worth the RM20? Sure frustrating, no harm just pay and forget lah. Wait they don't give you a chance and strip you upside down and detain you for a day. What for? It is their country, they do what they deem fit. We don't tell them how they should run their rules right? Regards, Paying is feeding them and will not solve things. If everyone have the same thinking of paying to save time, they will try to milk every sg cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 I take second link to malaysia, got ten pack of pet food left in my car boot, when checking, the malaysia side say this one muz pay tax, he let me this time but warn me next time dun bring anything in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Paying is feeding them and will not solve things. If everyone have the same thinking of paying to save time, they will try to milk every sg cars. We can't expect every country out there to be like Singapore. We can't apply Singapore way of doing things in other developing countries especially when come to doing business too. Just take it as paying extra toll loh. Too much to be benefited from there already, such as half price petrol, low green fees, cheaper food and drink, low cost bungalow with guarded compound and etc. What is more to ask for? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 (edited) Paying is feeding them and will not solve things. If everyone have the same thinking of paying to save time, they will try to milk every sg cars. think the paying over here is not considered as saving time. paying for volating a custom rule will be more appropriate in this case. true enough it might be foc item but when you bring things into a foreign country, you will be subjected to their laws and regulations. though to jb is just a drive away but same rules will apply. so they have all the reasons to make you pay. you could have taken the things out since they are not of use anyway but you didnt. they want you to pay cos they want to send the message across - dont take the rules for granted. yea we can all say TS might be the suay one cos others might have gotten away with such minor issues but well when such things also bo pians right. no way to argue through one la. just blame on luck lor. Edited October 22, 2009 by To_be_advised Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 We can't expect every country out there to be like Singapore. We can't apply Singapore way of doing things in other developing countries especially when come to doing business too. Just take it as paying extra toll loh. Too much to be benefited from there already, such as half price petrol, low green fees, cheaper food and drink, low cost bungalow with guarded compound and etc. What is more to ask for? Regards, not a very pro malaysia guy but i guess you might be referring to singapore no such things like pay money get you away thing. cos singapore style will be will slap you with the fine first, no question asked. no need pay on the spot but must settled within 7 days. want to appeal then write in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 they want you to pay cos they want to send the message across - dont take the rules for granted. I like this one . Anyway, it is their rule not Singapore rule. Don't use Singapore rule to impose on Malaysia custom rule . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
To_be_advised Neutral Newbie October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 I like this one . Anyway, it is their rule not Singapore rule. Don't use Singapore rule to impose on Malaysia custom rule . Regards, lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 I like this one . Anyway, it is their rule not Singapore rule. Don't use Singapore rule to impose on Malaysia custom rule . Regards, as much as TS is not happy, MY custom has every right to do wat they deem right. Ignorance is no xcuse. IF i were him, i will gladly pay up as it was my mistake in e 1st pl. Don play punk or hero, its not worth it..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Code01 Clutched October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 As the say "Lu Xiang Sui shu" i left my springs in my car before and was stopped. But the guy gave me a warning say it is a taxable item n let me thru. I guess depends on ur luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 If you talk politely and humbly to them I am sure they will let you go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longhorn 2nd Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 (edited) hi. wots your point? 1. that malaysian laws should not apply to you? 2. that whatever u say, malaysian custom officers must believe? 3. that you are angry with yourself for not clearing your boot? 4. that rm60 is too much..should be less? 5. all of the above? Edited October 22, 2009 by Longhorn ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...