Sleepy-T 1st Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 Maybe they have yet to find the fix. Recall back then what? they have identified the root cause, they are sending out letters to affected owners to arranged for them to come in and replaced the affected part ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 14, 2010 Share November 14, 2010 there iz no fix for it thatz y they nv recall, needa wait for ur turn for the mechatronics unit to blow than go there to replace the whole unit VW will be producing some of its line-up in Malaysia come 2011. We suppose spare parts should be more easily available and perhaps problem can't be fixed at a lower cost with MY agent . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RHC Neutral Newbie November 15, 2010 Share November 15, 2010 Just wanna side track abit since cant post new topic due to newbie status; I am currently considering buying either the Scirocco R or Renault Megane RS. From a logical day to day driving PoV; the auto DSG of the VW seems like a better idea but the back is really cramp and I do have to pick family members from time to time (even though this will be a second car for the family; first car is already 4 door). I kinda like the fact that the RS is manual, back seats having better leg room for passengers and have read very good reviews of the car. And then there is the concern of reliability with the DSG... I would just like some opinion (not car bashing comments pls) especially if you own or driven either of these 2 cars before. TIA. PS: The plan is to occasionally take the car to track for some spirited driving as well hence the consideration for either of these cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archon 2nd Gear November 16, 2010 Share November 16, 2010 (edited) VW is problem car. i own a VW beetle lah. I do agree beetle is a problematic car. Not sure because it is manufacture in Latin America but I heard cases that ex-AD bring in the wrong spec kit for local road. Nonetheless, I still love my german and Itailian make. Some say love is blind. Edited November 16, 2010 by Archon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 16, 2010 Share November 16, 2010 I do agree beetle is a problematic car. Not sure because it is manufacture in Latin America but I heard cases that ex-AD bring in the wrong spec kit for local road. Nonetheless, I still love my german and Itailian make. Some say love is blind. Are we expecting equivalent issues from made in Malaysia VW versus those from Latin America? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Conservative Neutral Newbie February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Golf is the "Altis" of Europe .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Golf is the "Altis" of Europe .... I was told Skoda Octy is the "Altis" of Eastern Europe.... Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Le_Stig Neutral Newbie February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 So Alfa Romeo is not the most unreliable anymore after having this household title for decades? I am surprised! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Golf is the "Altis" of Europe .... Its a insult to golf. More like a Civic bah?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koko 4th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Just FYI the new dry clutch DSG for the 1.4 sirrocco has complete gearbox failure issues. So far if u go in with gearbox issues, they will not bat an eyelid and just replace for you. Its a common problem supposedly. Golf GTI gearbox is 16k, sirrocco dry one i dunno. Please beware when buying 2nd hand without warranty My bro-in-law driving this car model. VW know this issue soon after my bro-in-law bought this car for 9-10 months. the VW contact my bro-in-law for one new gearbox to be change for free of charge and plus extended warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismo22 Neutral Newbie February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 german cars are considered much more reliable compared to french / italian makes, the french and italian makes are the ones that will give constant maintanence problem , their parts just arent built to last . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karnaugh Neutral Newbie February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Its a insult to golf. More like a Civic bah?? LOL what difference does it make? Funny thing is you can go ask your FT China friends or colleagues what do they think about VW. They will tell you its common and cheap in their country as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 LOL what difference does it make? Funny thing is you can go ask your FT China friends or colleagues what do they think about VW. They will tell you its common and cheap in their country as well. cause their VW is make in china with lousier build. tell them to see the different between a VW in china and here. they will be impress with the quality of finishing. anyway VW not cheap in china too. Jetta about the price of a mazda 6. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 VW is super common in China lor. Audi as well...in Beijing or Shanghai, throw a coin n most likely u will hit a VW car. They sell it as the people's car over there for many many years. China folks find it easy to label Sporeans stupid for willing to pay so much for a common car....but that was b4 their new system of lottery for the right to buy a car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky_vinz Clutched February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 What about the gearbox for Golf 1.4tsi? Heard last batch affected is May 2010 or so. The batch till now, so far so good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 What about the gearbox for Golf 1.4tsi? Heard last batch affected is May 2010 or so. The batch till now, so far so good? My Golf 1.4 TSI since June 2009, no problems whatsoever with the gearbox and 3 of my friends with the same car have also problem free ownership. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 Just wanna side track abit since cant post new topic due to newbie status; I am currently considering buying either the Scirocco R or Renault Megane RS. From a logical day to day driving PoV; the auto DSG of the VW seems like a better idea but the back is really cramp and I do have to pick family members from time to time (even though this will be a second car for the family; first car is already 4 door). I kinda like the fact that the RS is manual, back seats having better leg room for passengers and have read very good reviews of the car. And then there is the concern of reliability with the DSG... I would just like some opinion (not car bashing comments pls) especially if you own or driven either of these 2 cars before. TIA. PS: The plan is to occasionally take the car to track for some spirited driving as well hence the consideration for either of these cars. I have the Renault Megane RS for 5 years. The car is good except for the ocassional failure of the ignition coil. Other than that , it is a superb car with good road holding and power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear February 2, 2011 Share February 2, 2011 VW is super common in China lor. Audi as well...in Beijing or Shanghai, throw a coin n most likely u will hit a VW car. They sell it as the people's car over there for many many years. China folks find it easy to label Sporeans stupid for willing to pay so much for a common car....but that was b4 their new system of lottery for the right to buy a car... Now VW also going to manufacture passat, A4 and A6 in malaysia right? Next time bolehlanders also come and call us stoopid. Mext time we better stick "made in germany" decal big big on our VW and audis to differentiate ourselves from the boleh cars... Don't laugh, i know some die die also want face singkies who will do that ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...