RadX Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 For certain cars you put it close to the steering wheel n start. Using contact method ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSoap 1st Gear May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 That is only if the battery still has a hint of life. If it's dead it doesn't work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 My car will scold me if key fob battery is low. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 My car will scold me if key fob battery is low.Ya lo If one has to wait until DOA for such things better not drive liao Cannot imagine how procrastinative ppl can be... sheesh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 i still prefer something with a hole and put in and draw out, feel more secure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 IMO the keyless system is bad. 1. I have no idea how to turn ignition on without turning on the engine. 2. I have to change my key battery every 6 months to a year. 3. You cannot start your car if the battery is dead. The physical key only opens the door. There was once even my physical key could not open the door. Nowadays very difficult to find a car without keyless, people might find it very troublesome need to press on the physical key remote to open and close car door, and turn on the engine with a key. If your car now dont have keyless, it seems like you are driving an old technology car. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 i still prefer something with a hole and put in and draw out, feel more secure We hv to wait for ppl like you to pass thru the rites of mandai before we see any real acceptance of this tech.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 My car will scold me if key fob battery is low. What your car scold you ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 What your car scold you ah?His cars a nag like him Mini is charbo wat Haaaaa 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 His cars a nag like him Mini is charbo wat Haaaaa KNNCCB Mini is chiobu. Not aunty lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 KNNCCB Mini is chiobu. Not aunty lah. Haaaaaa Lau kway bu? Lollll Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 I think you just don't like reading car manuals. IMO the keyless system is bad. 1. I have no idea how to turn ignition on without turning on the engine. - just press the start/stop button without stepping on the brake 2. I have to change my key battery every 6 months to a year. - my key battery only change after 3-5 yrs on average 3. You cannot start your car if the battery is dead. The physical key only opens the door. - when the key fob battery is dead, different manufacturer has their own failsafe: Lexus, you just put the lexus logo of the keyfob touch or hold close to the button and press Mercedes, you pull out the start/stop button and insert the key and turn. There was once even my physical key could not open the door. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 I think you just don't like reading car manuals. Lol I also say RTFM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryansg 1st Gear May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 Keyless cars are convenient, but can lead to a deadly error http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/transport/keyless-cars-are-convenient-but-can-lead-to-a-deadly-error I'm more surprised people don't see this as a garage design flaw or the need to install smoke or CO detectors. I'm sure my car will auto cut off the engine when I step out of the car. Happened when I got to the boot to get some stuff, and key fob is with me, in my pocket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 WRONG. The detection system works by RFID with the car being the sensor sending out signal to the RFID chip embedded in the keyfob. Having battery in the keyfob just amplify this signal only. With a totally dead keyfob, just have to bring it close to there the sensor of the car is. Alot of misinformation in this thread. That is only if the battery still has a hint of life. If it's dead it doesn't work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 WRONG. The detection system works by RFID with the car being the sensor sending out signal to the RFID chip embedded in the keyfob. Having battery in the keyfob just amplify this signal only. With a totally dead keyfob, just have to bring it close to there the sensor of the car is. Alot of misinformation in this thread. Lol U bother ... respect ! I gave up after start stop resistance on the other side Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 i was parking and reversing half way when my oc got off with my key fob. The dashboard alerted me of the missing key fob but i am still able to finish reversing my car into the lot. So could i drive off even without the key fob? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
boonhat_91 6th Gear May 15, 2018 Share May 15, 2018 WRONG. The detection system works by RFID with the car being the sensor sending out signal to the RFID chip embedded in the keyfob. Having battery in the keyfob just amplify this signal only. With a totally dead keyfob, just have to bring it close to there the sensor of the car is. Alot of misinformation in this thread. I probably could have done better to read the manual (assuming what to do when the batt dies is given) but then, the whole point of the convenience it brings is that you wouldn't really think about such a thing happening until the day it does. One con for keyless though, I have to get into the car to start it after baking in the sun whereas I can just open the door and turn the ignition with a physical key method. 1st world problem lah this one haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...