Caught Driving into Bus lanes?

Dezouk

so what's your point?

maybe they so rich that they take the fine as a priority queue special pass lor.

lol

They are in a rush, so need to pay a "premium" :D

And they can afford jolly well :)

Drive into bus lane will kena demerit points or not?

No DP. But can kena prison. In theory. Like that'll ever happen to the Porsche driver. [rolleyes]

The full day (red) bus lane OK to use on Sundays - for some reason I didn't know that until I looked it up just now. But try it on Orchard Rd on a Sunday - the buses likely will ram you! And what to do when you are at the B green light, not allowed to move off obviously but the bus behind you will be very annoyed...

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/traffic_management/full_day_bus_lanes.html

Please correct me if I'm misinterpreting this.

You're not. Full day bus lanes are active on Saturday. Sundays are the only off days. I don't ever take the risk of entering the red bus lanes - they're bad news. You won't save much time anyway, since the red bus lanes are likely crowded with buses even on Sundays, with the attendant risks of ramming, etc.

Most motorists seem to be so conditioned to not entering the normal (yellow) bus lanes that they don't even dare to risk it when it's legal to do so. I used to be like that. Now, I check the time, and when it's legal, zoom past the congested traffic on the bus lane. :D

But there is a 24-hr deterrent, which is the condition of the bus lanes. Maybe because of the expected weight/road, they seem to make the bus lanes of much less forgiving material and going on them can be hell for the suspension.

No DP. But can kena prison. In theory. Like that'll ever happen to the Porsche driver. [rolleyes]

You're not. Full day bus lanes are active on Saturday. Sundays are the only off days. I don't ever take the risk of entering the red bus lanes - they're bad news. You won't save much time anyway, since the red bus lanes are likely crowded with buses even on Sundays, with the attendant risks of ramming, etc.

Good point about bus lanes. I am also scared, so dare not use.

These are the rules.

Normal bus lane

Monday to Friday (7:30am to 9:30am; 5pm to 8pm)

Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays - Not applicable

Full Day bus lane

Monday to Friday (7:30am to 8pm)

Saturdays (7:30am to 8pm)

Sundays and public holidays - Not applicable

Source

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/traffic_management/full_day_bus_lanes.html

I just drove into the bus lane along Queensway heading towards the AYE. I listened to my GPS telling me to keep left without realising that I was in the bus lane. When I noticed it, I looked in my rear view and side mirror but there was no LTA person in sight (or at least I think). What are the chances of getting caught there assuming I was there just after 5pm? Don't think it's a hot spot there right?

By the way, if kena fine, can pay using AXS?

Edited by Whiteberry

Depends at which part u kept left ... that area full of snipers during peak hrs. I think i saw a sniper taking photo ard that hr in that area ... he was smiling.

I just drove into the bus lane along Queensway heading towards the AYE. I listened to my GPS telling me to keep left without realising that I was in the bus lane. When I noticed it, I looked in my rear view and side mirror but there was no LTA person in sight (or at least I think). What are the chances of getting caught there assuming I was there just after 5pm? Don't think it's a hot spot there right?

Depends at which part u kept left ... that area full of snipers during peak hrs. I think i saw a sniper taking photo ard that hr in that area ... he was smiling.

post-88938-0-34747600-1429016256_thumb.jpg

I think it was somewhere here where I entered the bus lane after I missed the u turn and the GPS rerouted itself. I realised something wasn't right when I passed the bus stop further down. But I didn't see any LTA personal there (or at least I think). Fingers crossed. This may be wishful thinking on my part but I don't think the officer will station himself on a slope right?

If no one take photo...then bo tai chi lor...why worry so much..this kinda offence van be settleD by paying fine..no Demerit point...so an lah

Ya that is if no one take photo. But that one I cannot confirm. This kinda of thing no flash will come out.

I know its my fault but I'm hoping I don't have to pay the 130 fine. Hole in pocket leh.

What car is urs ? Color ?

Ya that is if no one take photo. But that one I cannot confirm. This kinda of thing no flash will come out.

I know its my fault but I'm hoping I don't have to pay the 130 fine. Hole in pocket leh.

Nowadays, all public buses also equip with cameras, looking out not only for warden but also if there are any buses following you behind! [knife]

What's the use of worrying? give it a few weeks...iif you don't receive letter then everything is ok lor. .

attachicon.gifUntitled-2.jpg

I think it was somewhere here where I entered the bus lane after I missed the u turn and the GPS rerouted itself. I realised something wasn't right when I passed the bus stop further down. But I didn't see any LTA personal there (or at least I think). Fingers crossed. This may be wishful thinking on my part but I don't think the officer will station himself on a slope right?

Noticed there is a camera at the fence pointing at the bus lane.. keep your fingers crossed its a dummy.

But there is a 24-hr deterrent, which is the condition of the bus lanes. Maybe because of the expected weight/road, they seem to make the bus lanes of much less forgiving material and going on them can be hell for the suspension.

Not that I've noticed leh. I've been doing this in my current car, that has to basically craaaaaawl across speed strips (not even humps, mind you) mainly because of my chronic back and neck problems. Bus lanes are still silky smooth, no suspension issues.

EDIT: just noticed this post, notifications not working all the time, sorry for late reply.

got one question. i turn left into a main road with bus lane at a junction, following the traffic rules and lane discipline, i have to turn into the first lane on the left of the road. However, traffic is heavy, i got stuck in that lane and in front is bus lane which is in operation. so i just stopped there, not wanting to drive into the bus lane, then signal right to show my intention to filter right but the traffic is not moving yet. a bus comes behind me and keep honking at me. am i right to stop in such situation? i'm not suppose to drive into bus lane, and when i was turning into the road, the bus is not in sight. so i just let the bus driver honk and wait till i got chance to filter right. am i doing the right thing as the bus driver honking is making me look like i violate some traffic rules? please advise.

You're violating a traffic rule either way. The law is broken (by which I mean the system is flawed).

Things would work better if Singaporeans gave way more often, but if we observed such courtesies we wouldn't be Singapore, would we?

The only real solution here is to delay your filtering till a gap opens up in the other lane, and be garang (but not overtly unsafe) in your manoeuvre. Failing this, and if you're already in the bus lane, continue moving with your signal on and hope nothing comes of it. If it does, be prepared to appeal.